RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 15 of 39«1213141516173839»
Forum » SpaceEngine » News and Announcements » SpaceEngine FAQ (Ask your SpaceEngine questions here!)
SpaceEngine FAQ
cyBerrDate: Sunday, 20.04.2014, 12:53 | Message # 211
Observer
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 16
Status: Offline
Hi, what are these canal-like features? (I searched canals, viaducts, double lines, tracks with no luck)

I assume that the are supposed to be from natural causes so what is the geological process that causes them?

Or are they actually a fictional feature?

As you may know they are fairly common - possibly 1 in 20 planets/moons have them.




Attachments: 4116446.jpg(333Kb) · 0523286.jpg(297Kb)





Acer Aspire V3 laptop
Intel 17 2.4GHz
4Gb RAM
nVidia GT 640M @Gb VRAM
(Using LOD2 - load time <1min)
 
apenpaapDate: Sunday, 20.04.2014, 13:15 | Message # 212
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Ancient alien highways.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
BlackeyeDate: Sunday, 20.04.2014, 15:16 | Message # 213
Astronaut
Group: Users
Germany
Messages: 49
Status: Offline
800 left :P
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 20.04.2014, 17:19 | Message # 214
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote cyBerr ()
Hi, what are these canal-like features?

They're "ice cracks"; in reality they're called lineae.

Quote Blackeye ()
800 left :P

This is not the correct thread to make that post.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Billy_MayesDate: Sunday, 20.04.2014, 22:21 | Message # 215
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
Is this graphics card compatible with SE? http://pcpartpicker.com/part/club-3d-video-card-cgaxr9276
It certainly has enough memory.





AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen
 
anonymousgamerDate: Sunday, 20.04.2014, 22:23 | Message # 216
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Yes, it is.




Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
Billy_MayesDate: Sunday, 20.04.2014, 22:24 | Message # 217
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
Quote anonymousgamer ()
Yes, it is.


Thanks, I'll be using it in my new build.





AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen
 
FrostwindDate: Thursday, 24.04.2014, 00:38 | Message # 218
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 7
Status: Offline
I'm not sure if this is the right thread to post this question but I couldn't find any place it was answered;

I know the space piloting system is in a somewhat early state, but I can't seem to understand how hyperjump works. Establishing orbits and all is no big deal to me, I enjoyed messing with Orbiter and other simulations like that. However when I do a hyperjump the ship ends up going at some insane speed like 150 km/s when it exits the jump, causing me to either fly right past the planet or crash right into it. Am I doing something wrong? Is there some special way you are supposed to execute a hyperjump? Or is the only way to do an extremely long retrograde engine burn in the current state of this feature?
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 24.04.2014, 01:49 | Message # 219
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Frostwind ()
However when I do a hyperjump the ship ends up going at some insane speed like 150 km/s when it exits the jump

Hyperjump will take you to the object, but your absolute velocity is unaffected. This means that the speed and direction you were traveling before jumping is the same as after the jump. Depending on where your departure and arrival points, this can lead to huge velocities relative to the object you're jumping towards. This is representative of the planned hyperflight physics for the SE game. So, though you can get from one world to another in a very short time, you still need to eliminate the difference in velocity and establish an orbit the old fashioned way.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
FrostwindDate: Thursday, 24.04.2014, 02:03 | Message # 220
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 7
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
This means that the speed and direction you were traveling before jumping is the same as after the jump.

Thanks for the response. I see I was actually getting slightly confused and misreading the objects velocity as my own. With that in mind I do know how to better plan my jumps velocity and direction wise based on the target. smile
 
Storm026Date: Wednesday, 21.05.2014, 20:26 | Message # 221
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 14
Status: Offline
Any idea on when the next update will be released? thanks
 
RockoRocksDate: Wednesday, 21.05.2014, 20:29 | Message # 222
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 673
Status: Offline
Quote Storm026 ()
Any idea on when the next update will be released? thanks

This has been explicitly mentioned many times, there is no set release date. The next update will be released when it's done.





I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM


Edited by RockoRocks - Thursday, 22.05.2014, 14:25
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 21.05.2014, 21:53 | Message # 223
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
RockoRocks, there is no need tor such a forceful response here. This is not the work progress thread, and that question is not already covered here. Please be more thoughtful when posting.

Storm026, there are never any set release dates. It will be done when it's done.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
sanDate: Saturday, 24.05.2014, 18:34 | Message # 224
Observer
Group: Newbies
India
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
I am on OSx Maverick . I was so disappointed that this cool software Space Engine is only available for windows. Do you have plans to come up with a OSx version ?
 
PreliatorDate: Saturday, 24.05.2014, 18:39 | Message # 225
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 20
Status: Offline
It will but not now.

Watch here: http://en.spaceengine.org/index/funding_and_donations/0-26





Asus P7P55D, I7-860, Corsair 8Gb ram (4x2Gb), 2x WD 500Gb + Barracuda 1,5Tb, old but gold Radeon HD5870, Thermaltake 750w modular, Windows 7 64bit, Motu Audio Express, Asus 24" @1080p + LG 17", Logitech Z4 + G110 + G500, Sennheiser HD-25 II
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » News and Announcements » SpaceEngine FAQ (Ask your SpaceEngine questions here!)
Page 15 of 39«1213141516173839»
Search: