Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 8 of 28«126789102728»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Addon Development Thread (Discuss new addons you're developing)
Addon Development Thread
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Saturday, 10.11.2012, 21:25 | Message # 106
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
BSG ships will feel themselves good in their native Cyrannus system


Indeed I may be able to release today or tomorrow at this rate. These ships are porting extremely easily, just finished cloud 9.



Edit:

3 more BSG ships.

Botanical Cruiser, Astral Queen, and Mineralship





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB


Edited by DoctorOfSpace - Saturday, 10.11.2012, 21:47
 
BlackArkDate: Saturday, 10.11.2012, 21:29 | Message # 107
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 137
Status: Offline
hopefully We will be able to see inside the ships later on in SE I like next year or longer.
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Saturday, 10.11.2012, 22:13 | Message # 108
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
More BSG ships, expect a release soon

Raptor


Cylon Basestar





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 10.11.2012, 22:33 | Message # 109
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Cylon Basestar

That Basestar looks spectacular, maybe my favorite model yet





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Destructor1701Date: Monday, 12.11.2012, 00:35 | Message # 110
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
BSG ships will feel themselves good in their native Cyrannus system


I've been doing some test ports of BSG ships myself, and thought Cyrannus would be the perfect place to test them.

But I've found that ships are not rendering in that system. I know ships stop rendering at a certain distance from a star - could the distance from the Cyrannus system's baricentre be causing that?





 
SolarisDate: Tuesday, 13.11.2012, 05:30 | Message # 111
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
Indeed that basestar look cool.
Few new tests on nebulae using "CubeMap" Method (and using DoctorOfSpace/HarbingerDawn's M16 script biggrin )

Attachments: 4671664.png(361Kb)
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 13.11.2012, 18:44 | Message # 112
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Quote (Destructor1701)
But I've found that ships are not rendering in that system. I know ships stop rendering at a certain distance from a star - could the distance from the Cyrannus system's baricentre be causing that?

No, they stop rendering at edge of a system, which is determined as maximum apoapsis of each body (with their hierarchy).





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 13.11.2012, 19:19 | Message # 113
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
No, they stop rendering at edge of a system, which is determined as maximum apoapsis of each body (with their hierarchy).

Ah! That explains why I had a ship be rendered even dozens of parsecs from Sol when I was flying away from it. I have an object orbiting Sol at a distance of 97 pc smile





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
neutronium76Date: Tuesday, 13.11.2012, 20:35 | Message # 114
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
I think
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Quote (Destructor1701)
But I've found that ships are not rendering in that system. I know ships stop rendering at a certain distance from a star - could the distance from the Cyrannus system's baricentre be causing that?

No, they stop rendering at edge of a system, which is determined as maximum apoapsis of each body (with their hierarchy).


I think this bug is related with this: http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/4-705-10161-16-1346392434

Only strange thing is that this time the program recognizes that the ship is in interstellar and not in intergalactic space i.e. it recognizes that the ship is inside a galaxy but it doesn't recognize that it is inside a star system:



Planet is Caprica, ship is Galactica

Attachments: 0946368.jpg(538Kb)





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 13.11.2012, 21:02 | Message # 115
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
I just tested it, and it does appear that the ship will not become visible unless you bring it close enough to the system barycenter first.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 13.11.2012, 23:26 | Message # 116
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Ah! That explains why I had a ship be rendered even dozens of parsecs from Sol when I was flying away from it. I have an object orbiting Sol at a distance of 97 pc

blink It must reduce performance when you inside this sphere, because all Solar system's bodies still calculates their orbital motion and lighting relationships.

Quote (neutronium76)
I think this bug is related with this:

Probably. You may just move entire Cyrannus system to the edge of the Galaxy to avoid this bug. Anyway I don't know real coordinates of Cyrannus, and choose them randomly smile





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 14.11.2012, 00:19 | Message # 117
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
It must reduce performance when you inside this sphere, because all Solar system's bodies still calculates their orbital motion and lighting relationships.

It has no performance impact that I can observe, but then I don't often visit many other systems that close to Sol.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
neutronium76Date: Wednesday, 14.11.2012, 11:29 | Message # 118
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Ah! That explains why I had a ship be rendered even dozens of parsecs from Sol when I was flying away from it. I have an object orbiting Sol at a distance of 97 pc


But how can that be possible?? blink blink
I mean there are dozens of system in between sol and 95pc radius?

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Probably. You may just move entire Cyrannus system to the edge of the Galaxy to avoid this bug. Anyway I don't know real coordinates of Cyrannus, and choose them randomly


I don't understand. If I move Cyrannus to the edge of the galaxy SE will probably think that it is outside the galaxy and not render the ship at all unsure . I think the problem with the Cyrannus system may be the fact that it is a muiltiple star system with very large star orbits around the barycenter because Harb said that if you put the ship very close to barycenter, SE renders it. But I may be totally wrong. SE is very puzzling with this bug wacko .





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 14.11.2012, 12:16 | Message # 119
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (neutronium76)
But how can that be possible??

How can what be possible? If it's about the ship rendering, sometimes SE does things a little differently when the ship is in hyperdrive. Otherwise SpaceEngineer's explanation says it all.

As for the object, not only does it have a 97 pc orbit, but it orbits in only 1.5 seconds biggrin





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 14.11.2012, 12:35 | Message # 120
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Indeed, problem with Cyrannus was due to it's huge size. SE searches for planets only within 0.001 pc radius. I've fixed this bug.




 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Addon Development Thread (Discuss new addons you're developing)
Page 8 of 28«126789102728»
Search: