RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 7 of 28«12567892728»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Addon Development Thread (Discuss new addons you're developing)
Addon Development Thread
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 24.10.2012, 20:57 | Message # 91
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Looks good. That Death Star model looks like one I was porting, may I ask which model you used?




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
ShnoogDate: Thursday, 25.10.2012, 18:00 | Message # 92
Observer
Group: Newbies
Australia
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
It was just a free model from http://gfx-3d-model.com
 
AmwhereDate: Friday, 26.10.2012, 04:46 | Message # 93
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 62
Status: Offline
So, I've continued working on my system parser - it's much cleaner now. I've been having fun looking for habitable planets... and I haven't found any. smile
Anyway, all the systems I've looked at so far are here: http://amwhre.comeze.com/ - maybe 0.97 could export out a nice html like these? smile
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 26.10.2012, 04:52 | Message # 94
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote (Amwhere)
Anyway, all the systems I've looked at so far are here: http://amwhre.comeze.com/ - maybe 0.97 could export out a nice html like these?

Cool, this strongly reminds me StarGen. But how did you obtain atmospheric composition and other stuff that SE doesn't export?





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 26.10.2012, 05:08 | Message # 95
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (Amwhere)
So, I've continued working on my system parser - it's much cleaner now.

Very impressive, I love those html tables! smile





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
AmwhereDate: Friday, 26.10.2012, 05:49 | Message # 96
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 62
Status: Offline
Temperature - I actually simulate the system's orbits. For single star systems, temperatures matches up pretty much perfectly with SE. For multiple star systems, things don't match up.
For the atmosphere, I tried to come up with something that would make reasonable output.

(I could send you the code, SE, although it's, like me, scatterbrained.)

Edit: Wow. I need to reread my posts before I post them!
Any other questions?


Edited by Amwhere - Friday, 26.10.2012, 23:12
 
AmwhereDate: Sunday, 28.10.2012, 01:48 | Message # 97
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 62
Status: Offline
Here's an example of the difference between my calculated temps and SEs.
Take this system and planet:
RS 8403-173-8-12031331-316 3
In SE, the planet ranges between 265 and 290K - which, if you think about it, doesn't make much sense. Both stars of the system combined output less energy than the Sun, and the planet is at about 1.4 AU... yet it is hotter than the Earth.

My calculation says it should be between 167 and 186 - http://amwhre.comeze.com/special....90.html

Not sure if it's me or SE. smile
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 28.10.2012, 02:06 | Message # 98
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
The function used in SE to calculate average temperature on the planet (and temperature of its exosphere):

Code

float   TSolarSystem::CalcBodyTemperature(TSpaceBody &CBody, double time)
{
      vec3d  bodyPos = GetBodyBarycentricPos(&CBody, time);
      float  Temperature = 0.0f;
      float  TempExo = 0.0f;

      for (int i=0; i<NSunsBarys; ++i)
      {
          TSpaceBody &CSun = Body[i];
          if (CSun.Type != PT_SUN) continue;
          double sunDist = (GetBodyBarycentricPos(&CSun, time) - bodyPos).length() / km;
          double solAngRad = CSun.Surface.Radius / sunDist;
          if (solAngRad >= 1.0) solAngRad = 1.0;
          Temperature += CSun.StarData.GetTemperature() * sqrt(0.5 * asin(solAngRad));
          TempExo += 1500.0f * pow(sqrt(CSun.StarData.GetLuminosityUV() / 0.072f) / float(sunDist*km/AU), 0.21f);
      }

      // For slowly rotating planets
      //if (CBody.Surface.RotPeriod > 10.0f) Temperature *= 1.189207115f;

      Temperature = Temperature * pow(1.0f - CBody.Albedo, 0.25f) + PlanetMinTemperature;
      if (CBody.Atmosphere.Greenhouse != NO_DATA)
          Temperature += CBody.Atmosphere.Greenhouse;

      CBody.Atmosphere.TempExo = max2f(TempExo + PlanetMinTemperature, Temperature);
      CBody.Temperature = Temperature;

      return CBody.Temperature;
}


Cycle through all suns in the system.
GetBodyBarycentricPos() fucntion returns barycentric coordinates of the body at any given time (in parsecs).
CSun.StarData.GetTemperature() function returns tempearture of sun's photoshpere.
CSun.StarData.GetLuminosityUV() function returns fraction of sun's radiation emitted in ultraviolet band (table and interpolation used).
PlanetMinTemperature = 2.722 for now, in future it will depend on system's position in the galaxy.
km = 3.240776488385780515715e-14 - constant to convert kilometers to parsecs.
AU = 4.848136811095359935899e-6 - constant to convert AUs to parsecs.





 
AmwhereDate: Sunday, 28.10.2012, 02:29 | Message # 99
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 62
Status: Offline
Hmmm. As I said, my code works fine for a one star system.

Code

         /*Calculates a Stars total output
          */
         public static double getStarFlux(Star s)
         {
             double fluxM = Math.Pow(s.temperature, 4) * (Helper.sigma); //sigma = 5.6704E-008;
             double area = 4 * Math.PI * Math.Pow(s.radius * 1000, 2);
             return fluxM * area;

         }
         /*Gets a stars output at a given distance
          */
         public static double getStellarConstant(double starFlux, double distance)
         {
             double area = 4 * Math.PI * (distance * distance);
             return starFlux / area;

         }

         public static double getPlanetTemp(double starConstant, double abledo, double greenhouse)
         {
             double fluxAbsorbed = (starConstant / 4) * (1 - abledo);

             return Math.Pow((fluxAbsorbed / Helper.sigma), .25) + greenhouse + Helper.CMB; //CMB = 2.725
         }


As I said, if you want me to send you the whole thing, I will.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Sunday, 28.10.2012, 04:28 | Message # 100
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote (Amwhere)
Hmmm. As I said, my code works fine for a one star system.

So you need just make a cycle through all stars in the system.

Quote (Amwhere)
As I said, if you want me to send you the whole thing, I will.

Thanks, it's interesting to take a look, however I guess nothing complex there.





 
AmwhereDate: Sunday, 28.10.2012, 05:09 | Message # 101
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 62
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
So you need just make a cycle through all stars in the system

I do.
I sent the code to the email on the contact page. smile
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Tuesday, 06.11.2012, 04:43 | Message # 102
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
To fix the triangle problem in the Star Trek ships I removed BumpMap and DetailBumpMap. Not a big difference in how they look besides a bump but it smoothed them out and fixed the triangle issue.

Some images in different lighting



My favorite image





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
Destructor1701Date: Thursday, 08.11.2012, 19:33 | Message # 103
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
Friggin' beautiful images!

I've been porting some BSG models in my spare time, and yeah, the bump mapping seems be the culprit... I wonder what's going on there...







Edited by Destructor1701 - Thursday, 08.11.2012, 19:34
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Saturday, 10.11.2012, 17:52 | Message # 104
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Under request of Antza I have started watching Battlestar Galactica and working on a BSG addon pack.

Expect release sometime eventually in the future maybe cool

I thought it appropriate that the first ship I add is the main ship.


edit:

Pegasus next to Galactica with a WiP bump.


Edit:

Colonial One, Viper MKII, and MKVII


Edit:

Ringship Zephyr and Colonial Shuttle


Edit:

Colonial Mover





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB


Edited by DoctorOfSpace - Saturday, 10.11.2012, 20:59
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 10.11.2012, 21:12 | Message # 105
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
BSG ships will feel themselves good in their native Cyrannus system smile




 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Addon Development Thread (Discuss new addons you're developing)
Page 7 of 28«12567892728»
Search: