Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 6 of 28«12456782728»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Addon Development Thread (Discuss new addons you're developing)
Addon Development Thread
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 24.09.2012, 22:41 | Message # 76
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Just the 3ds models, or do you have a way to convert cmod models as well?

Just the 3DS files. Makes it a bit easier and saves some time. Haven't tried messing with Cmod.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 24.09.2012, 22:41 | Message # 77
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Haven't tried messing with Cmod.

They made a 3ds to cmod converter, but I don't know of any program than can go the other direction.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 24.09.2012, 22:41 | Message # 78
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
I don't know of any program than can go the other direction.


I started looking into it. It is possible but I have yet to find the software to do it. sad

There are quite a few Celestia mods I would love to have in SE.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 27.09.2012, 04:05 | Message # 79
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
There are quite a few Celestia mods I would love to have in SE.

I hope you don't mind Doc, I moved this discussion to here, it seemed more appropriate. And I agree, there were some Celestia mods that would be great in SE.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 27.09.2012, 04:17 | Message # 80
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
I moved this discussion to here, it seemed more appropriate.


I don't mind I just wanted to share my images in the image dump thread rather than this thread.

Was going to actually recommend moving the discussion here anyways.

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
I agree, there were some Celestia mods that would be great in SE.


If I find a way I will start porting them. Just not sure how the planetary systems would translate.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 27.09.2012, 04:49 | Message # 81
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Just not sure how the planetary systems would translate.

The planetary systems addons for Celestia are largely obsolete for SE IMO, due to the texture maps. Procedural generation gives much higher detail with no file size attached. Celestia needed planet addons to have selection and diversity in its worlds, while SE does not. I have ported some of my own personal Celestia addons to SE though. Much of it can just be copied and pasted since many of the parameters are the same. The most incompatible thing would be atmospheres. It would be possible to write a program to convert one to the other, but all of the one's I've done have been converted by hand. The example of the direct conversion of one planet is below:

Celestia
Code
"Milford" "Epsilon Eridani"
{
  Texture "Milford.*"
  Radius    19826
  Color    [ 0.8 0.85 1.0 ]
  # Density 1.27 g/mL

  Atmosphere {
   Height 130
   Lower [ 0.75 0.85 1.0 ]
   Upper [ 0.5 0.8 0.9 ]
   Sky [ 0.6 0.7 0.7 ]

   Mie 0.0001
   MieAsymmetry -0.3
   Rayleigh [ 0.0003 0.002 0.006 ]
   MieScaleHeight 35
  }

  EllipticalOrbit {
   Period  95.45  
   SemiMajorAxis 19.6  
   Eccentricity 0.0316  
   Inclination 30.6  
   LongOfPericenter 188.95  
   MeanLongitude 276.16  
  }

  RotationPeriod  18.6  
  Obliquity  18.4  
  Albedo  0.48  

  Rings {
   Inner 32000  
   Outer 50000  
  Texture "uranus-rings.*"
  }

}


SpaceEngine
Code
Planet "Milford"
{
  ParentBody    "EPS Eri"
  Class  "IceGiant"

  Radius    19826
  Albedo    0.48
  RotationPeriod 18.6
  Obliquity    18.4
  Color  (0.8, 0.85, 1.0)
  Mass  6.93

  Surface {
   DiffMap    "Milford.*"
  }

  Rings {
   Texture         "Uranus-rings.*"
   InnerRadius     32000
   OuterRadius     50000
  }

  NoClouds true

  Atmosphere {
   Height   300  // km
   Model   "Earth"
   Bright   4.0
   Opacity  0.4
   SkyLight 0.002
   EclipseBright 10.0
   EclipseColor ( 1.000 0.600 0.200 )
}
  Orbit {
   Period  95.45  
   SemiMajorAxis 19.6  
   Eccentricity 0.0316  
   Inclination 30.6  
   LongOfPericenter 188.95  
   MeanLongitude 276.16
  }
}





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 27.09.2012, 05:47 | Message # 82
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Thats pretty cool and might be useful.

As for system addons.

I wanted to make a full Star Trek addon by adding in many of the systems but the only maps I have are from Star Trek Online or from books and none give true distances.

I took a look at many of the systems in Celestia but even I know those distances can't be correct. Sadly all I have to go off of in terms of maps with names is the STO sector chart


Just not sure how I would translate this into planets and systems for SE. I already started making planets like Vulcan, Bajor, and a few others using their wiki images but I haven't placed most of them in any sort of correct area.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 27.09.2012, 06:06 | Message # 83
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
I wanted to make a full Star Trek addon by adding in many of the systems but the only maps I have are from Star Trek Online or from books and none give true distances.

They took a lot of liberty when creating the Star Trek universe and many of the locations and regions are either nonsensical or fanciful. You may have to use some artistic license... If doing ST systems in SE, it would almost certainly be better to start from scratch than try to convert Celestia documents, though those may certainly still make good references if no other good ones exist.

The STO sector chart is definitely not the most accurate possible map. I've seen much better maps for this type of project, but of course now that I'm looking for one I find nothing. You'll just have to hunt around, I know one exists.

Some worlds orbit known stars; Vulcan for example is generally accepted to orbit 40 Eri A. This would be a good place to start since the location is already known. The locations of other worlds can be estimated. For example, the travel time to Bajor from Earth is stated at least once in DS9; by making a best guess as to the warp factor involved you can limit the range of distances from Sol that Bajor could be at. Also, it is near Cardassian space, so if any Cardassian worlds have known locations this allows for a reasonable approximation of the location of Bajor. And so on.

EDIT: Come to think of it, I actually tried to place the Bajoran system in Celestia one time myself. These are the coordinates from that attempt:

RA 120.62805
Dec -21.32790
Distance 65

Units are in decimal degrees and light years.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Thursday, 27.09.2012, 06:09
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 27.09.2012, 06:20 | Message # 84
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Vulcan for example is generally accepted to orbit 40 Eri A


Thats where I started actually.

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
For example, the travel time to Bajor from Earth is stated at least once in DS9; by making a best guess as to the warp factor involved you can limit the range of distances from Sol that Bajor could be at


Yeah I know about them mentioning it but they do not mention the warp factor. And I can tell you from lore that warp speed is a big factor in determining distance.

Check out the differences for yourself
http://lcarscom.net/warp01.htm

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
EDIT: Come to think of it, I actually tried to place the Bajoran system in Celestia one time myself. These are the coordinates from that attempt:

RA 120.62805
Dec -21.32790
Distance 65

Units are in decimal degrees and light years.


I guess that helps a bit with Bajor, Ill add that to the coordinates. Just hoping I can make stations have orbits.

Edit:

I wanted to put Spacedock in orbit around Earth and add in the ISS.

I'd love to add in the Bajoran wormhole but I am not sure how I would pull off the effect. Are miniature Nebula's possible?

Edit:

Found a website with distances from Earth
http://www.stdimension.org/int/Cartography/DistanceList.htm





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB


Edited by DoctorOfSpace - Thursday, 27.09.2012, 06:47
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 27.09.2012, 12:34 | Message # 85
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Yeah I know about them mentioning it but they do not mention the warp factor. And I can tell you from lore that warp speed is a big factor in determining distance.

I am very familiar with warp speeds. I know that none were mentioned, but they can often be inferred. For example, if there was a fleet traveling to assist DS9 against a Cardassian attack, then a speed of warp 8 is likely. Otherwise warp travel speeds are probably around 5 or 6. Not very precise, but good enough for ball park estimates.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 04.10.2012, 23:02 | Message # 86
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Star Trek mod is on hold for now. I think I am going to wait for a future release of SE with multiple diffmaps supported and maybe ship lights. Also need to figure out what I am going to do now that my 3DS Max has expired.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 05.10.2012, 08:53 | Message # 87
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Use Blender instead of 3ds max.




 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 05.10.2012, 20:21 | Message # 88
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
I used Blender for a while before I got the 3DS trial. Never got anything done with it as its UI is all over the place.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
Destructor1701Date: Wednesday, 10.10.2012, 17:43 | Message # 89
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
Hey guys, sorry for my absence (again!) I've been on holiday, and didn't have the time or the means to work with the Doc on these Star Trek ships. I should have said something before I went.

Feeling kind of daunted with the number of ships I have to sort through - but I don't want to go looking for permissions until we have them looking their best. I'll get going on this now.

Great progress, to all of you!





 
ShnoogDate: Wednesday, 24.10.2012, 10:48 | Message # 90
Observer
Group: Newbies
Australia
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
I'm going to start converting some ships to SE. I have quite a few ship models i can convert and want to slowly get through them all.

Quite a lot of them have a single texture mapped to them so converting takes no time at all while most of the larger ships use multiple textures.

Some have holes in the meshes and need UV mapping tweaks so that takes time.

Though with only one available mapped texture i will probably have to blend them all together like a few people have been doing.

The Death Star 2 still needs a lot of work. I have only mapped one of about 10 textures so it looks pretty bad. However you can get an idea of the scale of it compared to the ships at least.

















Edited by Shnoog - Wednesday, 24.10.2012, 16:05
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Addon Development Thread (Discuss new addons you're developing)
Page 6 of 28«12456782728»
Search: