Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 21 of 28«1219202122232728»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Addon Development Thread (Discuss new addons you're developing)
Addon Development Thread
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 22.09.2013, 00:48 | Message # 301
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Voekoevaka, you are awesome for doing this! I've been wanted to see proper models for Phoebe and Hyperion for a long time smile I'll help you look for a Hyperion model.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
RockoRocksDate: Sunday, 22.09.2013, 09:52 | Message # 302
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 673
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
I'll help you look for a Hyperion model.

Doesn't Celestia have a Hyperion model?
I'd also like to see proper 3D models for Asteroids like Ida or Eros, and I think Celestia has lots of asteroid meshes.

Added (22.09.2013, 12:52)
---------------------------------------------
I have started completing Toty's amazing Star Wars addon. I have already created the Endor and Dantooine systems :

Endor and it's forest moon AKA my new profile picture (small FOV screenshot)


Death Star II + Endor


Endor + moons

Dantooine





I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM


Edited by RockoRocks - Sunday, 22.09.2013, 09:52
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 22.09.2013, 10:02 | Message # 303
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (RockoRocks)
Doesn't Celestia have a Hyperion model?

All of Celestia's meshes were in Celestia's CMOD format, which we can't use. No software tools exist publicly for converting CMOD to other formats (as far as I know).

I have found tabular format shape model data for many objects, but again I have no way of working with that. Someone would have to come up with a way to convert that data into a mesh that we could use. We need more programmers around here sad





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
VoekoevakaDate: Sunday, 22.09.2013, 10:29 | Message # 304
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
I have found tabular format shape model data for many objects, but again I have no way of working with that.

How do they work ? Maybe I can do something with these.





Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

 
DukeDate: Sunday, 22.09.2013, 10:49 | Message # 305
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
Antarctica
Messages: 88
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
All of Celestia's meshes were in Celestia's CMOD format, which we can't use. No software tools exist publicly for converting CMOD to other formats (as far as I know).

As I know 3D Object Converter http://3doc.i3dconverter.com/index.html can open cmod and convert it to any format.
 
VoekoevakaDate: Sunday, 22.09.2013, 11:21 | Message # 306
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
I added the possibility to swap coordinates of the model, and the program now can directly read on .obj files. If you have a .3ds file, just convert it using anim8tor.

Download

The conversion can be very long.

There's also a small bug on the program, I don't know where it comes from : il creates black dots on white areas. With a little gimp-ing, the problem is solved.





Want some music of mine ? Please go here !



Edited by Voekoevaka - Sunday, 22.09.2013, 11:23
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 22.09.2013, 11:21 | Message # 307
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (Voekoevaka)
How do they work ? Maybe I can do something with these.

I don't know anything about it, but I can link you to some places that my research has taken me.

http://sbn.psi.edu/pds/archive/shape.html < This is a place where you can download shape models for many different Solar system objects

http://forum.celestialmatters.org/viewtopic.php?t=337 < A thread where Fridger Schrempp talks about a method he devised for converting these shape models directly into CMOD meshes for Celestia. Could be useful for understanding how they work.

https://isis.astrogeology.usgs.gov/IsisSupport/index.php?topic=3711.0 < A different thread where other people talk about making the data useful for a different purpose. Again, could be useful.

I'll keep looking into it also, hopefully one of us finds a way to turn these into either 3D models or height maps.

Quote (Duke)
As I know 3D Object Converter http://3doc.i3dconverter.com/index.html can open cmod and convert it to any format.

surprised That's amazing! I'll look at it immediately!



Success! I found a way to convert CMOD to 3DS using 3D Object Converter and 3D Exploration together.

Voekoevaka, try this model and see if you can make a map from it smile
http://yadi.sk/d/EDhP_nsR9gF2M





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
werdnaforeverDate: Sunday, 22.09.2013, 12:42 | Message # 308
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 897
Status: Offline
For converting meshes there's meshlab:
http://meshlab.sourceforge.net/
I don't think it will be of any use for CMOD files, but it should be more useful for SE addons.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 22.09.2013, 13:16 | Message # 309
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (werdnaforever)
For converting meshes there's meshlab:

Personally I find 3D Exploration more useful.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
VoekoevakaDate: Sunday, 22.09.2013, 13:32 | Message # 310
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline


Here's the bump map I obtain for Epimetheus. We can see some pixelated parts corresponding to the points of the mesh.
Note the black spot on the white side.
This is note the case here, but sometimes, there's a point with no purpose outside or inside the model in the obj file, and it makes small problems for calibration of the colors. Bit with the contrast tool of gimp, it dissapear.

I tried to execute it on the Toutatis model, but it crashes during the drawing, I am trying to discover why.

Attachments: 2847922.jpg(16Kb)





Want some music of mine ? Please go here !



Edited by Voekoevaka - Sunday, 22.09.2013, 13:34
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 22.09.2013, 14:14 | Message # 311
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (Voekoevaka)
I tried to execute it on the Toutatis model, but it crashes during the drawing, I am trying to discover why.

I was able to get the Toutatis model to work. The only problem I see is that the bump map's detail is much less than the detail of the mesh (I don't know if that can be corrected or not). Aside from that, the png that is generated is in RGBA format with 8-bit channels (which leads to stair-step artifacts in SE). It would be best if it was in grayscale without an alpha channel and in 16-bit (again, I don't know if you can do that or not). The biggest problem with 16-bit is that GIMP does not support it, at least natively.

It's a very cool program though, good work. I will try to work on getting some of those Celestia models into SE soon.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Sunday, 22.09.2013, 14:16
 
VoekoevakaDate: Sunday, 22.09.2013, 14:21 | Message # 312
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
The only problem I see is that the bump map's detail is much less than the detail of the mesh (I don't know if that can be corrected or not).

Try increasing the size of the image, or decreasing the size of spots.
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
It would be best if it was in grayscale without an alpha channel and in 16-bit (again, I don't know if you can do that or not).

This is what I'm working on.





Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 22.09.2013, 14:36 | Message # 313
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (Voekoevaka)
Try increasing the size of the image, or decreasing the size of spots.

I did both, no change.

Quote (Voekoevaka)
This is what I'm working on.

Cool smile





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
RockoRocksDate: Monday, 23.09.2013, 07:35 | Message # 314
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 673
Status: Offline
More Star Wars planets!! I'm now officially done creating all the other planet systems from the original saga. smile

Bespin

Dagobah

Corellia (still being worked on) + Gus Talon





I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM


Edited by RockoRocks - Monday, 23.09.2013, 07:47
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 23.09.2013, 10:48 | Message # 315
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
All of Celestia's meshes were in Celestia's CMOD format, which we can't use. No software tools exist publicly for converting CMOD to other formats (as far as I know).

cmod is a text format similar to obj, isn't it? And points there are just corresponds to points in a simple cylindrical texture. At least in old Celestia. Many years ago I made a simple program that converts a vertex data from cmod file to a 16-bit grayscale raw texture. The code is in attach, it can be useful.

Attachments: cmod2raw.cpp(3Kb)





 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Addon Development Thread (Discuss new addons you're developing)
Page 21 of 28«1219202122232728»
Search: