Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 19 of 28«1217181920212728»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Addon Development Thread (Discuss new addons you're developing)
Addon Development Thread
neutronium76Date: Thursday, 11.07.2013, 17:14 | Message # 271
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Could somebody tell me if this:

is worth trying to implement?

I think if star can be assigned a huge comet trail like in evaporating plannets but even biger (about the size of the heliopause) then it would be quite easy to add wink .





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
Crashman1390Date: Thursday, 11.07.2013, 18:03 | Message # 272
Explorer
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 229
Status: Offline
Quote
WIP Mars cloud map

YES, FINALLY! THE PROPHECY HAS BEEN FULFILLED!





[b]I was wrong, this forum still has a horrible community.[/b]
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 11.07.2013, 21:07 | Message # 273
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
Quote (neutronium76)
is worth trying to implement?

No. This isn't something that would be remotely visible to the naked eye or a decent camera, similar to a lot of other features in the sky which "exist" but are so diffuse or insubstantial that they're invisible. Things like this have already been discussed before and shot down.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
HmudaDate: Friday, 12.07.2013, 00:12 | Message # 274
Observer
Group: Users
Hungary
Messages: 16
Status: Offline
Can anyone help me how to remove the greenery from Earth?

I tried to set the life slider to zero in the editor, but that gave me a bugged pitch black planet. Did the same in the config file, it loaded fine, but didn't change anything over all.

Then I tried to look at the surface textures, but every one of them only show a black and white image, with barely any texture data on them. There are sometimes a bit of lighter areas in the seas for shallower areas as well as an occasional brown patch on land, but no green to remove.



There are several pos and neg folders, all of them are the same.

Checked other planets, they seem to have normal textures. Mars' folder is full of rust colored images, the Moon is all grey, etc.


Edited by Hmuda - Friday, 12.07.2013, 00:19
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 12.07.2013, 00:23 | Message # 275
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
Quote (Hmuda)
Can anyone help me how to remove the greenery from Earth?

Editing the textures would be a hopeless cause (there are thousands of tiles). However you can have the engine generate a procedural lifeless surface based on Earth's height map. All you will need to do is remove the DiffMap parameters from the script, add an Ocean tag and give it Height 0.01 (or something similar), and then develop it in the same way you would any procedural planet surface (see the planet tutorial for more on that).





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
EnkiDate: Friday, 12.07.2013, 01:39 | Message # 276
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 67
Status: Offline
What do you guys think:
Add Nibiru as a gas giant(I'm not sure I don't want it to be a superearth) with four moons,
Turn Pluto back into a planet and add speculative features such as rings and a thin icy atmosphere?





"If you arrive at a contradiction, check your premises. You will find that one of them is wrong." - Ayn Rand
"It may be that our purpose on Earth is not to find God, but to create him." - Arthur C. Clarke
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 12.07.2013, 03:23 | Message # 277
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
Quote (Enki)
Turn Pluto back into a planet

It's not, and for good reasons, and even if you did, changing the classification would not alter the world in any way.

Quote (Enki)
thin icy atmosphere?

It already has this by default...

Quote (Enki)
Add Nibiru as a gas giant(I'm not sure I don't want it to be a superearth) with four moons,

You can make it if you want, but I don't see what it would add to the engine for most people.

This thread should be for discussing ideas related to addons that you plan to develop or are developing for public release, and should normally be ones that are more substantial than adding or changing one planet.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
HmudaDate: Friday, 12.07.2013, 09:30 | Message # 278
Observer
Group: Users
Hungary
Messages: 16
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Editing the textures would be a hopeless cause (there are thousands of tiles). However you can have the engine generate a procedural lifeless surface based on Earth's height map. All you will need to do is remove the DiffMap parameters from the script, add an Ocean tag and give it Height 0.01 (or something similar), and then develop it in the same way you would any procedural planet surface (see the planet tutorial for more on that).

Thanks, I suspected I'd have to generate a new texture. I'll get on it. smile
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 12.07.2013, 13:11 | Message # 279
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Hmuda, you may be interested in this thread: http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/17-973-1




 
EnkiDate: Saturday, 13.07.2013, 03:04 | Message # 280
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 67
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Quote (Enki)
Add Nibiru as a gas giant(I'm not sure I don't want it to be a superearth) with four moons,

You can make it if you want, but I don't see what it would add to the engine for most people.

This thread should be for discussing ideas related to addons that you plan to develop or are developing for public release, and should normally be ones that are more substantial than adding or changing one planet.


That's true. It's not that big of a thing. I was very excited to contribute something is all.

But how about this. I recently found that the Gliese 581 system had the unconfirmed planets removed in .97. They were there in .96.2. So I started on that, and then I added detail to the other planets, then I moved on to Gliese 667 and I currently have a bevy of nearby potentially habitable systems open on Wikipedia and I thought it would be cool to put them all together because there are quite a few of them now and make sure the most likely planets in each system are set to true for life. Of course, I'll also be upgrading the info on the planets already in the catalog as well.

EDIT: I also gave each system its own .sc files (I know that may sound like a lot of files, but I'm only doing systems with terra planets in the habitable zone, a few gas giants in the habitable for habitable moons, and I may do a few systems that are famous and/or interesting.) and each file has links to resources if the person who downloads it wants to add even more detail although I try to add comments with information on certain areas of planets, but not always specific details. What I mean by that is I upgraded the planet's parameters with all the orbital information, mass, radius, and whether or it has life and beyond that only went a far as telling the user what else has been speculated about the planets. This is a necessity for me because I am a scifi writer and I cannot just give everyone my version of the systems.

So I see this more as a creative tool where I've laid a backbone for people who want systems as detailed as our own, so they can jump right into designing what they want the surfaces to look like and adding moons, comets, and asteroids.





"If you arrive at a contradiction, check your premises. You will find that one of them is wrong." - Ayn Rand
"It may be that our purpose on Earth is not to find God, but to create him." - Arthur C. Clarke


Edited by Enki - Sunday, 14.07.2013, 18:17
 
RetsofDate: Monday, 15.07.2013, 02:51 | Message # 281
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 56
Status: Offline
... I think I broke something. So, I found where the nebula sprites are, and tried to change it:
Old:


New:


Result?!:


On a similar note, how would I go about leaving the original sprites, but just changeing which sprite it uses?

Attachments: 8353679.png(149Kb) · 8581978.png(184Kb) · 9734051.jpg(114Kb)
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 15.07.2013, 14:42 | Message # 282
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote (Retsof)
I think I broke something. So, I found where the nebula sprites are, and tried to change it:

Image must by 8-bit grayscale, no alpha.

Quote (Retsof)
On a similar note, how would I go about leaving the original sprites, but just changeing which sprite it uses?

I don't understand.





 
EnkiDate: Monday, 15.07.2013, 14:57 | Message # 283
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 67
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
I don't understand.

I think he wants to have a backup of the original, which I just rename the original file with -orig at the end, but I think he wants to find the file that sets the location of the sprite so he can change the name of the sprite it directs to.





"If you arrive at a contradiction, check your premises. You will find that one of them is wrong." - Ayn Rand
"It may be that our purpose on Earth is not to find God, but to create him." - Arthur C. Clarke


Edited by Enki - Monday, 15.07.2013, 14:58
 
Crashman1390Date: Monday, 15.07.2013, 20:50 | Message # 284
Explorer
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 229
Status: Offline
Remember that galaxy retexture I was babbling about... I screwed up... here are the textures if anyone would try to fix it. sad . Also, the core is not oriented to the center...


Download

Attachments: 9752217.jpg(90Kb)





[b]I was wrong, this forum still has a horrible community.[/b]

Edited by Crashman1390 - Monday, 15.07.2013, 20:51
 
neutronium76Date: Monday, 15.07.2013, 22:17 | Message # 285
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Modified Galaxy models parameters for our Local Group: The Milky Way, Andromeda, Triangulum, LMC & SMC. Just save the .txt file below on your desktop, open it with notepad and copy the parameter lines to your SEFolder\Models\Galaxies\models.cfg

The goal was to reduce the excessive brightness of these galaxies without reducing the nebulas brightness as is the case with ''F7'' menu wink

Recommended add-on: Solaris's new galaxy dust sprites

Screenshot of the Milky Way from Earth: Image Dump

Attachments: Modified_Galaxy.txt(7Kb)





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Addon Development Thread (Discuss new addons you're developing)
Page 19 of 28«1217181920212728»
Search: