RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 12 of 28«1210111213142728»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Addon Development Thread (Discuss new addons you're developing)
Addon Development Thread
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 13.01.2013, 23:05 | Message # 166
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Jabberwockxeno6109, that thread was for models that you've made and finished. You did not make this model, and since it's unfinished it should go in this thread (assuming that you plan to release it when it is finished).




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 13.01.2013, 23:09 | Message # 167
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote (ogggrez)
That. Is. F***in. Amazing. Finally I can fulfill my dream of being a Space cowboy.

"You can't take the skies from me"


Well the model is just about done now. I redid the solar panels, added both shuttles, adjusted the grips on the shuttles, and did a few other tweaks. Shouldn't require much more editing, so come 97 it should be ready for release.






Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
Jabberwockxeno6109Date: Sunday, 13.01.2013, 23:49 | Message # 168
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 85
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Jabberwockxeno6109, that thread was for models that you've made and finished. You did not make this model, and since it's unfinished it should go in this thread (assuming that you plan to release it when it is finished).


Well, I didn't make it, true, but the with the amount of time i've spent trying to get the specular and reflection maps to work, I may as well have! tongue

Yes, I plan to release it.
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 14.01.2013, 12:31 | Message # 169
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
I found a very nice bridge for the TOS enterprise and a few others but the TOS enterprise came out best with least clipping. I will definitely do an update to the Star Trek stuff after 97 comes out but here is a WiP image



Bridges may or may not be visible from the outside, that all depends if I use a new model or decide to edit the current one. Over all they're just decorative more than serving a point, no lights and no walking around. Think of it as an easter egg of sorts happy





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SalvoDate: Monday, 14.01.2013, 13:36 | Message # 170
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
I found a very nice bridge for the TOS enterprise


Awesome! It would be even better with textures and AA smile

EDIT: It should be bigger or SE will cut some parts of the model biggrin


Attachments: 9380875.jpg(187Kb)





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Monday, 14.01.2013, 13:43
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 14.01.2013, 14:18 | Message # 171
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote (Salvo)
Awesome! It would be even better with textures and AA


It has texture properties but its multiple textures. I have to wait for 97 to get them in game.

I was messing with orientation and made my own little version where you are in the bridge and pilot the ship from there






Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
werdnaforeverDate: Wednesday, 23.01.2013, 07:12 | Message # 172
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 897
Status: Offline
I'm having trouble with my Ringworld (Niven style!)- first off, I'm pretty sure my mesh isn't proportioned properly.

Second, what's the maximum size for any ship in SE?

Third, I have the unit set to one. The diameter of the ringworld is 152887680000 meters. This is what I have the length set to. It's not resizing it properly. I'm pretty sure my units (at least lenghwise) are correct).



Help, I'm trapped on a ringworld! sad

Attachments: 0328946.png(360Kb)
 
TimDate: Wednesday, 23.01.2013, 12:29 | Message # 173
Explorer
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 296
Status: Offline
I think there actually isn't a maximum size for ships at this time... You could make it as big as a star system, or even a galaxy. There wouldn't be any sense to that though. The largest one in de ship packs is the Citadel, which is 44 km in lenght (HUGE!). Any larger ones, you'll have to mod yourself.

Edited by Tim - Wednesday, 23.01.2013, 12:30
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 23.01.2013, 14:03 | Message # 174
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
werdnaforever, do not use the Unit parameter if you want to get ships of a specific size, this is useful only when the mesh of the ship is already correctly sized. Remove Unit and just use Length.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
werdnaforeverDate: Wednesday, 23.01.2013, 14:18 | Message # 175
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 897
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
werdnaforever, do not use the Unit parameter if you want to get ships of a specific size, this is useful only when the mesh of the ship is already correctly sized. Remove Unit and just use Length.

This helped.

Now, there's another issue I'm having. When I get closer than the length of the ship, it turns invisible.

Slightly farther:


Slightly closer:


Also, Earth, and other planets near the ring do this:

Attachments: 2054213.png(499Kb) · 4692658.png(476Kb) · 4992765.jpg(286Kb)
 
dblackDate: Thursday, 24.01.2013, 22:25 | Message # 176
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 35
Status: Offline
What about the Trimaxion drone ship from the flight of the navigator? Such a beautiful ship but i never seen a model or reference to it in any blog or simulator. sad

Edited by dblack - Thursday, 24.01.2013, 22:31
 
KvikiDate: Tuesday, 29.01.2013, 03:33 | Message # 177
Explorer
Group: SE team
Croatia
Messages: 289
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Bridges may or may not be visible from the outside, that all depends if I use a new model or decide to edit the current one. Over all they're just decorative more than serving a point, no lights and no walking around. Think of it as an easter egg of sorts


Wait, so, is that bridge integrated into the ship model or just an individual component that you fly around?

I'd pull my heart out for Voyager.
One day..





 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Tuesday, 29.01.2013, 04:15 | Message # 178
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote (Kviki)
Wait, so, is that bridge integrated into the ship model or just an individual component that you fly around?


I put it into the ship, as in actually part of the ship.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 14.04.2013, 01:22 | Message # 179
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
A long time ago (at the beginning of this thread actually) I mentioned I was working on a new Mars map. I had to stop work on that for a variety of reasons, but I did manage to get another map done that is essentially a lower-resolution version of that one.

John Van Vliet had previously created a brilliant Mars map for Celestia using the same MGS mosaics I was working with. Most importantly, he had managed to remove the vast majority of the defects and faults with the original images, which is something that was beyond my capability. So I decided to use his map as a starting point instead.

The original map was grayscale, so it needed to be colorized. However, the most simple colorization methods only assign the same color to the whole image. Since Mars is not all one uniform color, I needed to use more advanced colorization techniques. Getting the colors right required a lot of trial and error, and I still never got it quite "right", but after about 20 attempts I decided that it was good enough and called it done.

So here is a preview of a new Mars map that should be available in the near future.









*Phobos map not included* wink





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Sunday, 28.04.2013, 18:20
 
apenpaapDate: Sunday, 14.04.2013, 03:02 | Message # 180
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Wow, it looks wonderful.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Addon Development Thread (Discuss new addons you're developing)
Page 12 of 28«1210111213142728»
Search: