Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 212»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » MOD - Mass Effect Flares (New flares based on Mass Effect flars)
MOD - Mass Effect Flares
SalvoDate: Wednesday, 08.08.2012, 13:29 | Message # 1
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
New flares based on Mass Effect flars biggrin


Download link





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
anonymousgamerDate: Wednesday, 08.08.2012, 19:33 | Message # 2
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Why don't you re-make the lens ghosts?




Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
SalvoDate: Wednesday, 08.08.2012, 19:48 | Message # 3
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Yes, maybe I will do that too, however, I made another (better) flare, but I made it very similar to Mass Effect's flare, if you prefer this, you can download it wink


Download





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Tuesday, 04.09.2012, 08:19
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 08.08.2012, 19:50 | Message # 4
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (anonymousgamer)
Why don't you re-make the lens ghosts?

Indeed, the ghosts were the most distinctive thing about the ME flares.

Also, post some screenshots so that people can see what they're downloading before they do so smile





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
anonymousgamerDate: Wednesday, 08.08.2012, 19:54 | Message # 5
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Quote (Salvo)
if you prefer this, you can download it


I made my own flare mod. If you want, you can download the ghosts part of the mod and edit it as you wish.





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 08.08.2012, 19:59 | Message # 6
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Well, now I see that separate flare textures for bright sun and faint one is a good idea.




 
KvikiDate: Friday, 14.09.2012, 21:49 | Message # 7
Explorer
Group: SE team
Croatia
Messages: 289
Status: Offline
Great flare (the v2). Probably one of the best I've used so far in SE.
Spaceengineer, is it possible to cover the stars in SE in some kind of an overlay flare? Right now, no matter what flare you use, you will still see the sharp edges of the 3D star. It would make a smooth transition from the star to the flare. Here's a gif of the feature I'm trying to describe:


Perhaps a huge atmosphere around the star would be an option?

Attachments: 1947966.gif(38Kb)







Edited by Kviki - Friday, 14.09.2012, 21:54
 
Blu3smanDate: Friday, 14.09.2012, 22:07 | Message # 8
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Ukraine
Messages: 28
Status: Offline
Kviki, Increasing bloom level helps to get the desired effect.
 
KvikiDate: Friday, 14.09.2012, 22:16 | Message # 9
Explorer
Group: SE team
Croatia
Messages: 289
Status: Offline
While bloom does more or less fix it, it has more negatives than positives. It makes the planets look unnecessarily bright and blurry. If there was a blur for stars only that'd be great. I've never liked bloom and always disable it if it's possible in other games. smile




 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 14.09.2012, 22:27 | Message # 10
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (Kviki)
I've never liked bloom and always disable it if it's possible in other games.

Bloom is the key to making HDR graphics realistic. Why would you disable it entirely? Even real life has bloom. I presume you don't walk around with a blindfold?

(Sorry to sound critical, I'm just a little incredulous)





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Friday, 14.09.2012, 22:28
 
anonymousgamerDate: Friday, 14.09.2012, 22:44 | Message # 11
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Quote (Kviki)
It would make a smooth transition from the star to the flare


I tried increasing the glow from the Star Part file. It did nothing. Although, my flare I use is so bright it's hard to see the star, and it is impossible to see the white stars through my flare... but I see what you're getting at, and I think it would look nice.





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen


Edited by anonymousgamer - Friday, 14.09.2012, 22:44
 
KvikiDate: Friday, 14.09.2012, 22:58 | Message # 12
Explorer
Group: SE team
Croatia
Messages: 289
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)

Bloom is the key to making HDR graphics realistic. Why would you disable it entirely? Even real life has bloom. I presume you don't walk around with a blindfold?

(Sorry to sound critical, I'm just a little incredulous)


I don't mind good graphics and fancy effects, but I just don't feel the need to have additional brightness and ''shiny'' effects in games. In spaceengine all it does is blurs up the details and adds brightness. Bloom in SE doesn't really add much at lower levels, and at max it only makes the stars' flare look good and makes brighter planets look even additionally brighter.

Quote (anonymousgamer)
I tried increasing the glow from the Star Part file. It did nothing. Although, my flare I use is so bright it's hard to see the star, and it is impossible to see the white stars through my flare... but I see what you're getting at, and I think it would look nice.


I think the star part is for objects far away, eg. background stars. Changing it didn't really do much indeed.







Edited by Kviki - Friday, 14.09.2012, 23:01
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 15.09.2012, 06:38 | Message # 13
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Quote (Kviki)
Spaceengineer, is it possible to cover the stars in SE in some kind of an overlay flare? Right now, no matter what flare you use, you will still see the sharp edges of the 3D star. It would make a smooth transition from the star to the flare. Here's a gif of the feature I'm trying to describe: Perhaps a huge atmosphere around the star would be an option?


In reality the Sun has a sharp edge.





 
KvikiDate: Saturday, 15.09.2012, 11:30 | Message # 14
Explorer
Group: SE team
Croatia
Messages: 289
Status: Offline


You can still see the edge of the Sun, but it's more blurred up than



I'm not sure how to explain it anymore. In SE the stars are just a 3D ball with a flare snapped on. The thing is you can still see the perfectly round and sharply edged sphere of the star through the flare. Bloom does fix it, but it's not very appealing to have it on when looking at planets.





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 15.09.2012, 11:49 | Message # 15
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Proper edge anti-aliasing would make the sun edges look much better. I think the problem is not so much the edges being too sharp, since stars typically do have well-defined edges. The problem is that there is an abrupt change in brightness as the edge gives way to the flare. If the center part of the flare had some greater opacity, perhaps that would help make the transition seem smoother? Just some quick guesses and ideas.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » MOD - Mass Effect Flares (New flares based on Mass Effect flars)
Page 1 of 212»
Search: