Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 41234»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Ship Models
Ship Models
dontpanicDate: Friday, 06.07.2012, 12:29 | Message # 1
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
Hi! I'm new to Space Engine, but I love it. I have a question.
Yesterday I finished a nice little (simple) model of a space shuttle with 3dsmax, I wasn't making it for any game or mod, just for fun (I'm new to 3d modelling). I wanted to ask, is it possible to change one of the Space Engine ship models with mine? And if yes, how?
Would be nice to take a few screen shots of my model orbiting a planet)) cool
 
dontpanicDate: Friday, 06.07.2012, 13:24 | Message # 2
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
Sorry for the double post, I found the models of the ships in Space Engine. but they have an .SM extension, I've never seen it before... Will Space Engine recognize MAX files? Or do I need to convert my model?
I don't want to mess anything up, could anyone please tell me how to do it?
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 06.07.2012, 17:19 | Message # 3
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
SpaceEngine will accept .obj format, but in the catalog file you will still need to specify it as .sm; it will be converted upon loading.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
dontpanicDate: Friday, 06.07.2012, 17:42 | Message # 4
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
Ok, thanks!! If everything works well, I will post some screens biggrin
 
Hasforjs97Date: Friday, 06.07.2012, 18:36 | Message # 5
Space Pilot
Group: Translators
Spain
Messages: 107
Status: Offline
I was just wondering.. what program did you use to make the .ms models? Because I would like to make ships now that they aren't quite realistic because maybe later they will be harder to make, and I don't know wat software to use. I've seen lots of softwares out there but I don't know which one would be the best so I ask directly to you




My desktop:
Pentium G3260 @ 3.30GHz
8.0 GB DDR3
AMD Radeon HD 5570 1GB
 
dontpanicDate: Friday, 06.07.2012, 19:01 | Message # 6
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
For some reason, I can't see anything in game, not the original shuttle nor mine... Ideas? Maybe something more I need to change?
Also, do I need to change my model's extension to .sm or just specify so in spacecrafts.sc?


Edited by dontpanic - Friday, 06.07.2012, 19:14
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 06.07.2012, 19:27 | Message # 7
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
You should export your model in obj using triangles geometry, with normals and texture coordinates:



Here is a small tutorial, on Russian forum (use Google translator): http://spaceengine.org/forum/19-201-1
I will write an English version later.

*





 
Hasforjs97Date: Friday, 06.07.2012, 19:37 | Message # 8
Space Pilot
Group: Translators
Spain
Messages: 107
Status: Offline
Oh, I didn't find this post before http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/17-712-1 so I'm sorry. I will ask my questions there...




My desktop:
Pentium G3260 @ 3.30GHz
8.0 GB DDR3
AMD Radeon HD 5570 1GB
 
dontpanicDate: Friday, 06.07.2012, 20:39 | Message # 9
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
Now it crashes as soon as it tries to load the model (I guess...). I have a different window to export OBJ files, can you tell me what should i select here?



Also, can the model work without textures? Maybe I put the wrong textures in the wrong place and thats why it crashes? Or the model can be loaded without a texture?

P.S. And I have no new .SM file in the folder of my ship, so I guess it crashes when it tries to convert the .OBJ into .SM.

Attachments: 3846294.png(15Kb)


Edited by dontpanic - Friday, 06.07.2012, 20:45
 
TalynDate: Friday, 06.07.2012, 21:21 | Message # 10
Explorer
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 207
Status: Offline
My first try at modeling a fictional fighter just for kicks smile



I don't know why but it looks kind of like a semi-cloaked Romulam ship biggrin

For some reason the texture is not loading correctly

Attachments: 9653435.jpg(28Kb)





PC: Intel Core2Duo E6850 @ 3.00 GHz & 4GB DDR3 @ 1333 - NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS with 640 MB VRAM
Laptop: Intel Core2Duo T9400 @ 2.53 GHz & 4 GB DDR @ 1066 - NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT
 
dontpanicDate: Friday, 06.07.2012, 21:57 | Message # 11
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
YAY! Got it figured! It seems I made the model out of 6 separate objects, so I joined them and it works! Texture is low-res though for some reason... I'll work on it.
 
dontpanicDate: Friday, 06.07.2012, 23:06 | Message # 12
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
Ok, another problem... I made 2 texture maps, because all of the textures wouldn't fit on one, is it possible to use 2 diffmaps on one ship? If yes what do I write in the script?

Edited by dontpanic - Friday, 06.07.2012, 23:07
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 07.07.2012, 00:16 | Message # 13
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
No, ship should have one mesh and one texture.




 
dontpanicDate: Saturday, 07.07.2012, 01:37 | Message # 14
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
oh forget it looks awful... I've got a better idea though...
I will try some other models, might look good.
 
dontpanicDate: Saturday, 07.07.2012, 21:44 | Message # 15
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 113
Status: Offline
Decided to convert some Mass Effect models, and put them in Space Engine) Worked really nice too here are some screens:






Full list of ships:
Alliance Cruiser
Alliance Dreadnought
Alliance Dropship (Kodiak)
Alliance Fighter
Alliacne Frigate
Alliance Frigate 2
Asari Destiny Ascension
Geth Cruiser
Geth Transport
Normandy
Normandy 2
Sovereign Class Reaper
Turian Fighter
Turian Frigate
Turian Cruiser
Turian Dreadnought

I know I didn't make the models, but i'm a huge fan of Mass Effect so...

Tell me, if anybody is interested, and I will upload all of the ships, so that people who like Mass Effect can add them and enjoy))

P.S.Maybe I should make a separate topic?

Attachments: 3591451.jpg(563Kb) · 8651936.jpg(383Kb) · 9558470.jpg(449Kb) · 4339722.jpg(431Kb)


Edited by dontpanic - Saturday, 07.07.2012, 21:48
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Ship Models
Page 1 of 41234»
Search: