Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 5 of 10«1234567910»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » MOD - Creating galaxies, nebulae and star clusters 0.980 (How to add your own galaxies)
MOD - Creating galaxies, nebulae and star clusters 0.980
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 19:11 | Message # 61
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
Quote (smjjames)
It's selecting and isolating the dust that I can't figure out.

There's not always an easy way to do that. You may have to draw the dust by hand or something. I'm not sure, I've never worked on that model obviously.

Obviously you'll want to work on a separate layer.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 19:14 | Message # 62
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Quote (smjjames)
It's selecting and isolating the dust that I can't figure out.

There's not always an easy way to do that. You may have to draw the dust by hand or something. I'm not sure, I've never worked on that model obviously.

Obviously you'll want to work on a separate layer.


Yeah, I may have to do that for NGC 7742, but I'm using the M51 galaxy atm to try and figure it out.

Or maybe I can use some kind of elimination proccess.....







Edited by smjjames - Thursday, 15.11.2012, 19:15
 
astronikiDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 19:31 | Message # 63
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
Poland
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
Here's a nice way to separate dust from the galaxy in photoshop.
-duplicate the image in to two layers
-use gaussian blur on the bottom layer so dust features get blurred out
-invert the top layer
-set the top layer to color burn or linear burn.





Check out my astrophotography:
http://www.astroniki.fbl.pl
http://www.facebook.com/AstroNiki1
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 19:54 | Message # 64
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (astroniki)
Here's a nice way to separate dust from the galaxy in photoshop.
-duplicate the image in to two layers
-use gaussian blur on the bottom layer so dust features get blurred out
-invert the top layer
-set the top layer to color burn or linear burn.


And then what, merge the two layers? I'm a complete newb with the layers, sorry if I'm giving you guys a hard time about it (which I don't mean to).

And I'm using GIMP.







Edited by smjjames - Thursday, 15.11.2012, 19:54
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 19:58 | Message # 65
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
Quote (astroniki)
Here's a nice way to separate dust from the galaxy in photoshop.

Those same techniques are also usable in GIMP under the same names (with the exception of the last part, where GIMP only has "Burn")

I just tested it and it's pretty effective, especially for isolating the spiral arms.

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
And then what, merge the two layers?

Yes





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Thursday, 15.11.2012, 19:59
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 20:05 | Message # 66
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Here's an attempt using that method for M51, or maybe the inverted version of that would work. I'll have to experiment around with gaussiab blur levels to see what works best.

Edit: Wait, or maybe increase contrast? If the background is supposed to be black that is.

Edit2: I'm definetly getting the idea, and it looks very close to the example for M51, however, now I need to figure out how to transfer the thing on top of a white background layer.


Attachments: 8789862.jpg(25Kb)







Edited by smjjames - Thursday, 15.11.2012, 20:22
 
astronikiDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 20:24 | Message # 67
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
Poland
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)

Edit: Wait, or maybe increase contrast? If the background is supposed to be black that is.


You can experiment with the levels or curves.

Quote
Edit2: I'm definetly getting the idea, and it looks very close to the example for M51, however, now I need to figure out how to transfer the thing on top of a white background layer.


You mean flatten the image?





Check out my astrophotography:
http://www.astroniki.fbl.pl
http://www.facebook.com/AstroNiki1


Edited by astroniki - Thursday, 15.11.2012, 20:26
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 20:30 | Message # 68
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (astroniki)
Quote
Edit2: I'm definetly getting the idea, and it looks very close to the example for M51, however, now I need to figure out how to transfer the thing on top of a white background layer.

You mean flatten the image?


I was looking at the M51 example and I wasn't sure if I needed to put a white layer under it or something. Will check out the color curves.

Thanks for the help guys.

Edit: Well, I get the idea, but the one I have atm doesn't have the fine details of the example. I'll have to do more experimenting.....







Edited by smjjames - Thursday, 15.11.2012, 20:35
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 20:32 | Message # 69
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
Quote (smjjames)
now I need to figure out how to transfer the thing on top of a white background layer.

Why do you need to transfer anything? Don't you just need to implement that as the alpha channel for the base galaxy image? For that just create a layer mask for the base image, click on the mask to make sure it's active (layer should be outlined in green instead of the normal yellow) and make sure it's the top layer. Then click on the layer with that dust info, select all, copy, paste. Then right click on the pasted layer in the layer tab and click Merge Down. That should move it into the layer mask. Then you just apply the layer mask and you're done. You've got your alpha channel.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 20:38 | Message # 70
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Quote (smjjames)
now I need to figure out how to transfer the thing on top of a white background layer.

Why do you need to transfer anything? Don't you just need to implement that as the alpha channel for the base galaxy image? For that just create a layer mask for the base image, click on the mask to make sure it's active (layer should be outlined in green instead of the normal yellow) and make sure it's the top layer. Then click on the layer with that dust info, select all, copy, paste. Then right click on the pasted layer in the layer tab and click Merge Down. That should move it into the layer mask. Then you just apply the layer mask and you're done. You've got your alpha channel.


I simply got a bit confused with the way the M51 example was set up layer wise.888o around the galaxy.2

Edit: NVM, I fooled myself, the background was just what got put up as a new page.







Edited by smjjames - Thursday, 15.11.2012, 21:11
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 22:17 | Message # 71
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Any tips on getting this to look better. I'm getting it CLOSE to the example, but not quite. Not sure if it's because of the image I'm using (the RGB one on the first page without lettering on it) or if I'm missing some trick here.

I know I need to remove the core, but one problem at a time. I'm aware of the halo around the galaxy there, but I'm not going to be using that for an alpha anyway.


Attachments: 0782324.jpg(40Kb)







Edited by smjjames - Thursday, 15.11.2012, 22:19
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 22:22 | Message # 72
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Online
Quote (smjjames)
Any tips on getting this to look better.

Get rid of that glow around the perimeter. Otherwise I think it looks pretty nice.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
smjjamesDate: Friday, 16.11.2012, 00:15 | Message # 73
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Anybody have a 2048x2048 image of M51 with the same resolution as the sys image? I'm trying to calibrate the color curves in GIMP so that I can see what good color settings look like.

Unless theres a better way to do it than using the color curves.







Edited by smjjames - Friday, 16.11.2012, 00:17
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 16.11.2012, 00:23 | Message # 74
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
Anybody have a 2048x2048 image of M51 with the same resolution as the sys image?


SpaceEngine/data/textures/galaxies/M51.png smile

To convert to tga, launch SE and type console:

SaveTGA data/textures/galaxies/M51.png





 
smjjamesDate: Friday, 16.11.2012, 00:33 | Message # 75
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Quote (smjjames)
Anybody have a 2048x2048 image of M51 with the same resolution as the sys image?

SpaceEngine/data/textures/galaxies/M51.png smile

To convert to tga, launch SE and type console:

SaveTGA data/textures/galaxies/M51.png


I mean a full color image, not the dust sprite.







Edited by smjjames - Friday, 16.11.2012, 00:49
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » MOD - Creating galaxies, nebulae and star clusters 0.980 (How to add your own galaxies)
Page 5 of 10«1234567910»
Search: