Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » 8K Tethys Surface Map (High resolution color surface texture for Tethys)
8K Tethys Surface Map
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 09.06.2012, 07:04 | Message # 1
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline


I have taken a NASA color map of Saturn's moon Tethys and converted it for use in SpaceEngine. I remember getting this map from a NASA website and downloading it to my hard drive, but it was a long time ago and I cannot find the website now so I can't provide a link. Don't let that stop you from enjoying it though smile

Screenshots:






Download link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/5cxsywrcmjdlfne/Tethys-8k.rar

It is easy to install, just extract into your SpaceEngine directory. No overwriting or file modifications necessary.

Also see apenpaap's Enceladus and Iapetus addon for more great textures for Saturn's moons smile

Attachments: 5667792.jpg(525Kb) · 3791701.jpg(133Kb) · 3193932.jpg(197Kb)





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
apenpaapDate: Saturday, 09.06.2012, 10:59 | Message # 2
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Thanks, for some reason I just couldn't get it to work as a proper texture. I've been using it on my computer as just the cyllindrical map image, but it takes longer to load and eats up memory. So now I'll use your addon instead.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 09.06.2012, 12:49 | Message # 3
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
apenpaap, I actually used a different Tethys map than the one you tried. This one has 2x the resolution but is darker. I found it a long time ago so I have no link for it, except that I'm pretty sure it came from a NASA website. The Steve Albers maps have their meridians offset by 180°, so you also need to swap the left and right halves of the maps before they will line up correctly in SpaceEngine.

Here is a comparison between the two maps:

Attachments: 2178983.jpg(579Kb)





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 09.06.2012, 14:42 | Message # 4
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Albers maps have their meridians offset by 180°, so you also need to swap the left and right halves of the maps before they will line up correctly in SpaceEngine.

The CubeMap tool has an option to fix such shift.

PS: Default SE textures for Tethys have a higher resolution (16k, 4 levels), Doesn't it?

PPS: When you create a texture, you should check the parameter DiffTileSize / BumpTileSize in the planet's script - it should match with the size of texture tile. Otherwhise you will see strange budging of textures...

*





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 09.06.2012, 15:22 | Message # 5
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
PS: Default SE textures for Tethys have a higher resolution (16k, 4 levels), Doesn't it?

The default Tethys texture has the same number of levels as this, but lower detail in most areas. I will post the same tile in the highest level of detail for both to compare. This addon's map is shifted by several degrees relative to the default.

Default:


This addon:


Both tiles are [pos_x , 2_1_1]

There is no level 3 for either map.

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
The CubeMap tool has an option to fix such shift.
Good feature, thank you for the info smile

Attachments: 9999442.jpg(53Kb) · 9792105.png(475Kb)





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Saturday, 09.06.2012, 15:28
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 09.06.2012, 17:53 | Message # 6
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
The default Tethys texture has the same number of levels as this, but lower detail in most areas.

Hmm, I have textures up to level 3. Probably I won't include them in release due to archive size limitations. These texture really are too blurry to have level 3.
Did you have a version of that texture with bigger resolution (16k)?

*





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 09.06.2012, 18:27 | Message # 7
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Did you have a version of that texture with bigger resolution (16k)?

No, the largest version of this Tethys texture I have is 8k, which is what I used for this release. I think the largest map released by NASA is about 11,000 pixels wide.

For the Mercury texture I made, there is a larger (~64k) resolution version of that which I could not work with because I do not have good enough software. When you work with very large texture files (32-64k), what software do you use to save/edit them?





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 09.06.2012, 19:21 | Message # 8
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Photoshop + 8 Gb RAM smile




 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 09.06.2012, 20:05 | Message # 9
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Photoshop + 8 Gb RAM

I have GIMP + 8 GB of RAM, but on very large textures (32k+ PNG) it will not load. I guess you get what you pay for sad haha





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Saturday, 09.06.2012, 20:05
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » 8K Tethys Surface Map (High resolution color surface texture for Tethys)
Page 1 of 11
Search: