How to prevent stars from becoming binaries? - Forum
RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » How to prevent stars from becoming binaries?
How to prevent stars from becoming binaries?
arbelrocksDate: Thursday, 17.11.2016, 12:09 | Message # 1
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 24
Status: Offline
I made a Wolf-Rayet star and now there's a much brighter O star orbiting with it. I tried making a barycenter but now the catalog entry is duplicated. Any suggestions?
 
JackDoleDate: Thursday, 17.11.2016, 14:10 | Message # 2
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
arbelrocks,
You must give the 'StarBarycenter' a different name.

For example:
Code

StarBarycenter "MyStar System"
{
    RA      xx xx xx
    Dec     xx xx xx
    Dist    xxxx
}


Code

Star "MyStar"
{
    ParentBody  "MyStar System"
    
    ....
    ....
    
}


And you need two scripts!

The script for the 'StarBarycenter' belongs in the folder 'addons\catalogs\stars' and the script for the 'Star' belongs in the folder 'addons\catalogs\planets'





Don't forget to look here.

 
arbelrocksDate: Friday, 18.11.2016, 01:52 | Message # 3
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 24
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
arbelrocks,
You must give the 'StarBarycenter' a different name.

For example:
Code

StarBarycenter "MyStar System"
{
    RA      xx xx xx
    Dec     xx xx xx
    Dist    xxxx
}

Code

Star "MyStar"
{
    ParentBody  "MyStar System"
    
    ....
    ....
    
}

And you need two scripts!

The script for the 'StarBarycenter' belongs in the folder 'addons\catalogs\stars' and the script for the 'Star' belongs in the folder 'addons\catalogs\planets'


Yes, but what should I call it? I am making an entry for a star that exists in real life.
 
JackDoleDate: Friday, 18.11.2016, 15:55 | Message # 4
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
Quote arbelrocks ()
Yes, but what should I call it? I am making an entry for a star that exists in real life.

Okay, here's an example.

The 'StarBarycenter':
Code

// Name: R136a2_BC.sc
// https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R136a2

// Put this file in 'addons\catalogs\stars'

//------------------------------------------------------------------------------
StarBarycenter    "R136a2 barycenter"
{
    RA          05 38 42.40
    Dec         -69 06 02.88
    Dist        50000
}

//------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The 'Star':
Code

// Name: R136a2.sc
// https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R136a2

// Put this file in 'addons\catalogs\planets'
//------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Star    "R136a2/MH 511/RMC 136a2/HSH95 5/BAT99 109/CHH92 2"
{
    ParentBody "R136a2 barycenter"
    Class       "WN5"       //"WN5h"
    
    MassSol     195
    RadSol      23.4
    
    AppMagn     12.34
    Luminosity  4266000
    
    Temperature 53000
    
    Age         0.0003
}

//------------------------------------------------------------------------------


The data for the star I have from Wikipedia. R136a2





Don't forget to look here.

 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » How to prevent stars from becoming binaries?
Page 1 of 11
Search: