Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » New Moon texture without relief shadows
New Moon texture without relief shadows
KludDate: Tuesday, 15.11.2016, 22:34 | Message # 1
Astronaut
Group: Users
Russian Federation
Messages: 71
Status: Offline
Since the Moon LRO WAC color mosaic without relief shadows and more accurate-looking for a long time is available, and after reading the forum http://forum.celestialmatters.org/viewtop....evious, I decided to make a texture for SE, and also to make a relief.
Relief is sldem2015_128(Selene/LRO Digital Elevation Model) and ldem_128 done, because it is more precise than just ldem_128.

Screenshots:

Left - old, right - new.


Main archive:
moon_new_main 300 Mb

High detail:

Relief
L5 moon_new_bump_L5 0.5Gb
L6 moon_new_bump_L6 1.9Gb

Surface
L6 moon_new_surf_L6 250Mb

Attachments: 1137379.jpg(166Kb) · 2532009.jpg(182Kb) · 7448561.jpg(147Kb) · 0555949.jpg(118Kb) · 7528642.jpg(108Kb)


Edited by Klud - Wednesday, 23.11.2016, 18:17
 
SalvoDate: Wednesday, 16.11.2016, 07:38 | Message # 2
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Hi Klud, do you have a few screenshots? My connection is awful so it would take a lot to download the high detail... but still I'm curious to see how it looks like!




The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
MosfetDate: Wednesday, 16.11.2016, 10:33 | Message # 3
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 711
Status: Offline
You read about the Groundhog's Day and you decided to upgrade Moon's textures? biggrin biggrin
I'm downloading right now.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
FastFourierTransformDate: Wednesday, 16.11.2016, 10:48 | Message # 4
Pioneer
Group: Local Moderators
Spain
Messages: 538
Status: Offline
Quote Salvo ()
Hi Klud, do you have a few screenshots?


Yes please if you don't mind. I would thank you a lot if I could see a comparison between SE's original moon, with SolarSystemUltra addon, and then with your addon.
 
MosfetDate: Wednesday, 16.11.2016, 13:10 | Message # 5
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 711
Status: Offline
Copernicus 1


Copernicus 2


Copernicus 3


Old and new images are with SolarSystemUltra addon in place.

Attachments: 2739539.jpg(270Kb) · 6702392.jpg(285Kb) · 7803545.jpg(232Kb) · 8017835.jpg(204Kb) · 1069394.jpg(262Kb) · 9297384.jpg(271Kb)





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram


Edited by Mosfet - Wednesday, 16.11.2016, 13:15
 
KludDate: Wednesday, 16.11.2016, 17:32 | Message # 6
Astronaut
Group: Users
Russian Federation
Messages: 71
Status: Offline
A little more screenshots:
Left - old, right - new. Surface level 7 is not used, because it affects slightly.

Attachments: 5380669.jpg(166Kb) · 9382646.jpg(182Kb) · 6918274.jpg(153Kb) · 4772051.jpg(147Kb) · 2297296.jpg(118Kb) · 1790293.jpg(108Kb)


Edited by Klud - Wednesday, 16.11.2016, 17:48
 
n0b0dyDate: Wednesday, 16.11.2016, 19:41 | Message # 7
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
Ok you convinced me and am downloading right now. So Do I need to delete the default SolarsystemHD and SolarsystemUltra moon paks from the addon folders or does it work in parallel and improves intelligently where necessary??
 
MosfetDate: Wednesday, 16.11.2016, 21:08 | Message # 8
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 711
Status: Offline
Quote n0b0dy ()
Do I need to delete the default SolarsystemHD and SolarsystemUltra moon paks from the addon folders

No no, leave them as they are. Just put the paks into addons/ directory.
I created a subfolder named KludsTextures under addons to put everything there, it works just the same.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
HornblowerDate: Wednesday, 16.11.2016, 21:34 | Message # 9
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 701
Status: Offline
Could you make a detailed texture of curiosity's path?
Here's a good website for the data!
 
n0b0dyDate: Wednesday, 16.11.2016, 22:14 | Message # 10
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
OMG Klud! From certain distance it looks as if it is procedural:


Great work! smile
 
KludDate: Thursday, 17.11.2016, 15:25 | Message # 11
Astronaut
Group: Users
Russian Federation
Messages: 71
Status: Offline
Thanks.

Global data for higher resolution texture the surface of the moon is no, therefore, increase the detail is not possible.
The higher resolution data for relief there, but the next level of bump map will have a volume of about 7.5 Gb,
so it makes little sense to do.

Quote Hornblower ()
Could you make a detailed texture of curiosity's path?


Yes, it's a good idea, I think about it.
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 18.11.2016, 00:29 | Message # 12
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3590
Status: Offline
Another great addon Klud smile




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
MosfetDate: Monday, 21.11.2016, 14:07 | Message # 13
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 711
Status: Offline
I can't stop to look at the Moon, now, really.




"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » New Moon texture without relief shadows
Page 1 of 11
Search: