Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 4 of 8«12345678»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » COMMUNITY ADDON - Double/Multiple Asteroids fixes for SE (Catalog fixes for multiple asteroids)
COMMUNITY ADDON - Double/Multiple Asteroids fixes for SE
MosfetDate: Sunday, 22.05.2016, 00:03 | Message # 46
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 719
Status: Offline
Quote Silicon ()
Also the systems Litva, Balam, and Hermes need to have all of their components changed from "DwarfMoon" to "Asteroid"

I'm sorry again, why is that?





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
MosfetDate: Sunday, 22.05.2016, 00:23 | Message # 47
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 719
Status: Offline
oh, yes thanks, I'll make the changes later today. it's 2.30 in the morning and I can't sleep, but my eyes are really asking for a pause. smile




"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
MosfetDate: Sunday, 22.05.2016, 00:38 | Message # 48
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 719
Status: Offline
ummm, since I made a spreadsheet to input the values and prepare the ouput, probably it's a simple copy-paste. In those cases usually I remove the barycenter.




"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
JackDoleDate: Sunday, 22.05.2016, 16:52 | Message # 49
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
There is a problem with the asteroid Hermes.
If the Avatar version is used, which has been posted by SpaceEngineer here. then there is a name conflict, as there is a planet named Hermes in this system.

I would recommend to take "(69230) Hermes". as 'ParentBody' for the asteroid components

I would recommend always to use the name with the number, because it can easily lead to such name conflicts otherwise.

I did it for the asteroids that are in the script in the opening post.

Attachments: Aster-bin-ed-.sc(69Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
JackDoleDate: Sunday, 22.05.2016, 19:33 | Message # 50
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote Silicon ()
The Avatar system is an addon.

And in this addon is a planet called Hermes.
So if the name 'Hermes' is used as 'Parentbody', the asteroids not appear at the barycenter of the asteroids but at the planet Hermes in Alpha Centauri.

This can always happen when different objects have the same name. Therefore objects should always have unique 'Parentbody' names.





Don't forget to look here.

 
MosfetDate: Sunday, 22.05.2016, 20:16 | Message # 51
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 719
Status: Offline
I understand your concern but there's no conflict whatsoever. There is plenty of asteroids that share the same name with minor satellites, and they live happily together in SE search box. Some examples: Europa, Leda, Galatea, Io, Dione, Bianca, (...drumroll...) Pandora...
Then I don't see problems arising from Hermes neither because one is a barycenter with Parentbody Sol, the other a planet with Parentbody Toliman B... different objects, different places, no conflict. The only difference is when I search for "hermes" and I hit enter without checking even for an instant the searchbox, so SE takes me to the planet in my SE version, a non-issue.

Edit: I see, the problem is it's a barycenter.

@Silicon, changing a name of a planet even in a fictional addon could not be so simple for the fact that the name could be canon. Now, it's as if I could hear your objection "real objects have priority" (sorry I'm joking wink )

Even if it's not canon, there's a possibility of other similar issues.
For example if one of those asteroids I mentioned is found as a binary with a significant barycenter, the issue will be the same, this time involving two real objects.

So I'm afraid smile JackDole has a point here.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram


Edited by Mosfet - Sunday, 22.05.2016, 20:43
 
JackDoleDate: Sunday, 22.05.2016, 20:49 | Message # 52
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote Silicon ()
Then change the name of the objects in the fictional Avatar system. This is a list of real objects with their real names.

It's not my addon, so I can not change the name. It's SpaceEngineer's addon.

Furthermore, should especially official files with real objects be as foolproof as possible and take into account future addons, especially if it is as simple as in this case.





Don't forget to look here.

 
SiliconDate: Sunday, 22.05.2016, 20:58 | Message # 53
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 51
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
Furthermore, should especially official files with real objects be as foolproof as possible and take into account future addons, especially if it is as simple as in this case.

It is the responsibility of the mod developer to ensure that their mod is compatible with the game. Not the other way round.
 
JackDoleDate: Sunday, 22.05.2016, 21:15 | Message # 54
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote Silicon ()
Not the other way round.

I think it is the other way round!

A software developer who wishes that his program is enhanced by future addons must consider that addon developers make mistakes, as far as possible. Above all, as I said, if it is as easy as in this case.

Of course, not every problem can be seen ahead.


Quote Silicon ()
It is the responsibility of the mod developer to ensure that their mod is compatible with the game.

Of course this is also true! wink





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Sunday, 22.05.2016, 21:34
 
MosfetDate: Sunday, 22.05.2016, 21:35 | Message # 55
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 719
Status: Offline
Quote Silicon ()
If you enable Dwarf Moons in the System Browser it will list the Barycenters of those objects. This is a way to fix it until SpaceEngineer fixes it.


Attention please:

I've just realized I'm changing a DwarfMoon in Asteroid because of an issue that SpaceEngineer said it is fixed, just not yet published, that I had previously changed from Asteroid to DwarfMoon because of an issue of "scorched asteroid bug" that I don't remember has been said it is fixed yet but yeah... So....

From now on expect me I will not change anything in the catalog if it's a workaround for a fixed issue, albeit not published yet, that is evidently causing only minor issues in the overall behavior of SpaceEngine.
In short: If SE crashes because of an issue, and only then, I'll change it. :D

Obviously if data are wrong or there are new or better informations, as French friends say, "ça va sans dire"...

Anyway thanks again four your help, much appreciated. Please continue your support as always.

Edit:
I think I've been clear enough regarding the barycenter issue, if not please ask for a clarification. Usually I spend quite some time to write a post to be sure there's no misunderstanding.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram


Edited by Mosfet - Sunday, 22.05.2016, 21:54
 
MosfetDate: Sunday, 22.05.2016, 21:47 | Message # 56
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 719
Status: Offline
no no, biggrin please point anyway everything you find, because obviously there's the need of evaluating if it's an issue that can be deferred or solved, or somehow safely ignored because of that. We need to think that this catalog will be used in some form from now on, not only for few versions.

And now I think I'll get some sleep. o/





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram


Edited by Mosfet - Sunday, 22.05.2016, 21:49
 
SiliconDate: Friday, 27.05.2016, 21:44 | Message # 57
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 51
Status: Offline
(55637) 2002 UX25, (119979) 2002 WC19, (208996) 2003 AZ84, (79360) Sila
Code
Asteroid "2002 UX25/(55637) 2002 UX25"
{
    ParentBody  "Sol"
    Class       "IceWorld"
    Radius      332.5
    Mass  2.093E-5
    RotationPeriod  14.382

    Orbit
    {
        Epoch            2457400.5
        SemiMajorAxis    42.785
  Period    279.859
        Eccentricity     0.144846
        Inclination      19.438
        AscendingNode    204.64
        ArgOfPericenter  276.83
        MeanAnomaly      293.896
        RefPlane       "Ecliptic"
    }
}

DwarfMoon "S2005 (55637) 1"
{
    ParentBody  "2002 UX25"
    Class       "Asteroid"
    Radius      105

    Orbit
    {
        Epoch            2457400.5
        SemiMajorAxis    3.189E-5
  Period    0.022749
        Eccentricity     0.17
        Inclination      0
        RefPlane       "Equator"
    }
}

Asteroid "2002 WC19/(119979) 2002 WC19"
{
    ParentBody  "Sol"
    Class       "IceWorld"
    Radius      220
    Mass  1.289E-5

    Orbit
    {
        Epoch            2457400.5
        SemiMajorAxis    48.182
  Period    334.45
        Eccentricity     0.26549
        Inclination      9.1674
        AscendingNode    109.78
        ArgOfPericenter  43.545
        MeanAnomaly      314.89
        RefPlane       "Ecliptic"
    }
}

DwarfMoon "S2006 (119979) 1"
{
    ParentBody  "2002 WC19"
    Class       "Asteroid"
    Radius      69.5

    Orbit
    {
        Epoch            2457400.5
        SemiMajorAxis    2.734E-5
  Period    0.023007
        Eccentricity     0.2
        Inclination      0
        RefPlane       "Equator"
    }
}

Asteroid "2003 AZ84/(208996) 2003 AZ84"
{
    ParentBody  "Sol"
    Class       "IceWorld"
    Radius      361.5
    RotationPeriod  13.44

    Orbit
    {
        Epoch            2457400.5
        SemiMajorAxis    39.6805
  Period    249.962
        Eccentricity     0.17444
        Inclination      13.548
        AscendingNode    251.95
        ArgOfPericenter  14
        MeanAnomaly      226.66
        RefPlane       "Ecliptic"
    }
}

DwarfMoon "S2005 (208996) 1"
{
    ParentBody  "2003 AZ84"
    Class       "Asteroid"
    Radius      36

    Orbit
    {
        Epoch            2457400.5
        SemiMajorAxis    4.813E-5
  Period    0.032855
        Eccentricity     0
        Inclination      0
        RefPlane       "Equator"
    }
}

Barycenter "Sila–Nunam"
{
    ParentBody "Sol"

    Orbit
    {
  Epoch   2457400.5
  SemiMajorAxis    44.133
  Period   293.192
  Eccentricity    0.015946
  Inclination  2.23732
  AscendingNode    304.32
  ArgOfPericenter    214.91
  MeanAnomaly  337.33
  RefPlane  "Ecliptic"
    }
}

Asteroid "Sila/79360 Sila"
{
    ParentBody  "Sila–Nunam"
    Class       "Asteroid"
    Radius      124.5
    Mass  9.7632E-7
    RotationPeriod  300.2388
    Obliquity       103.51
    EqAscendNode    140.76

    Orbit
    {
  SemiMajorAxis    8.538E-6 // separation 2777 km
  Period   0.034251
  Eccentricity    0.018
  Inclination  103.51
  ArgOfPericenter    326
  MeanAnomaly  16.3
        AscendingNode   140.76
  RefPlane  "Equator"
    }
}

DwarfMoon "Nunam/Sila I Nunam"
{
    ParentBody  "Sila–Nunam"
    Class       "Asteroid"
    Radius      118
    Mass  8.3168E-7

    Orbit
    {
  SemiMajorAxis    1.002E-5 // separation 2777 km
  Period   0.034251
  Eccentricity    0.018
  Inclination  103.51
  ArgOfPericenter    146
  MeanAnomaly  16.3
        AscendingNode   140.76
  RefPlane  "Equator"
    }
}
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 30.05.2016, 20:47 | Message # 58
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
I verified the catalog, made some fixes:

  • Moons of asteroids should also be asteroids, not dwarf moons. Making them dwarf moons broke the chart mode: for example, Ilmare is displayed there by default, because it a large dwarf moon, but it's parent Varda do not, because it is asteroid, and displaying of asteroids is switched off by default (scorched asteroid satellite bug is fixed in SE code).
  • Name like "79360 Sila" is incorrect, asteroid number should be in parentheses: "(79360) Sila". I fixed this and changed barycenter names to "XXX system" or "XXX-YYY" (if both asteroid and satellite have pronounceable names).
  • Instead of using Remove "xxx" commands, I deleted duplicates from other asteroid catalogs.
  • Added barycenters for Ocrus-Vanth and Echidna-Typhon, Lundia and some other systems.
  • Fixed rotation axis and orbital plane orientation of some asteroids and satellites.
  • Fixed code formatting and some mistakes.

    PS: 120347 Salacia - another TNO with large satellite, should be added.
    Attachments: 9100294.sc(70Kb)





  •  
    MosfetDate: Monday, 30.05.2016, 22:25 | Message # 59
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    Italy
    Messages: 719
    Status: Offline
    Thanks SpaceEngineer, uploaded fixed catalog file in OP.




    "Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
    Douglas N. Adams
    My mods
    Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
     
    MosfetDate: Monday, 30.05.2016, 23:44 | Message # 60
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    Italy
    Messages: 719
    Status: Offline
    Quote SpaceEngineer ()
    Instead of using Remove "xxx" commands, I deleted duplicates from other asteroid catalogs.


    This means that we also have to delete duplicates found so far from other asteroid catalogs in Catalogs0974.pak, namely:
    (174567) 2003 MW12 from KuiperBelt.sc;
    (88611) Teharonhiawako, 2002 VT130, 2002 XH91 from KuiperBelt-small.sc;

    Or place a small script to remove these four duplicates in data/catalogs/planets/ folder with the updated Asteroids-bin.sc.
    The script is attached. Once we'll have an updated Catalogs Pak the removing script will be useless.

    Attachments: Asteroids-Remov.sc(0Kb)





    "Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
    Douglas N. Adams
    My mods
    Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram


    Edited by Mosfet - Monday, 30.05.2016, 23:48
     
    Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » COMMUNITY ADDON - Double/Multiple Asteroids fixes for SE (Catalog fixes for multiple asteroids)
    Page 4 of 8«12345678»
    Search: