RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Modding Dunes
Modding Dunes
Bells_TheoremDate: Wednesday, 28.10.2015, 16:36 | Message # 1
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
Question for the modders out there, is there a way to restrict dunes from forming in mountainous regions. I'm also interested in making them a little less regular like below. Thoughts?

 
Thomas988Date: Wednesday, 28.10.2015, 18:13 | Message # 2
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 125
Status: Offline
Very nice! Can you provide any more pictures? I'd like to see this from a few more angles. smile




All you need in life are space games and typhlosions.
 
FireintheholeDate: Wednesday, 28.10.2015, 19:42 | Message # 3
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 356
Status: Offline
Quote Thomas988 ()
Very nice! Can you provide any more pictures? I'd like to see this from a few more angles.

I think that's his goal, not what he has created.





Love SpaceEngine!
 
Bells_TheoremDate: Wednesday, 28.10.2015, 20:50 | Message # 4
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
If I had rendered that image in SE, I wouldn't be asking for advice on how to mod dunes biggrin
 
Thomas988Date: Thursday, 29.10.2015, 02:39 | Message # 5
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 125
Status: Offline
Quote Bells_Theorem ()
I think that's his goal, not what he has created.


Ooooohhh. Pfffft, my bad. XD





All you need in life are space games and typhlosions.
 
niseminoshiroDate: Saturday, 31.10.2015, 21:27 | Message # 6
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
For the time being I edited Rodrigo's shaders' terrain shader to just remove them altogether.
Attachments: tg_terra_height.glsl(9Kb)
 
KludDate: Saturday, 31.10.2015, 21:44 | Message # 7
Astronaut
Group: Users
Russian Federation
Messages: 72
Status: Offline
Quote Bells_Theorem ()
Question for the modders out there, is there a way to restrict dunes from forming in mountainous regions. I'm also interested in making them a little less regular like below. Thoughts?


While this question is not to answer - experiments are needed.
 
Bells_TheoremDate: Tuesday, 03.11.2015, 02:43 | Message # 8
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
Quote niseminoshiro ()
For the time being I edited Rodrigo's shaders' terrain shader to just remove them altogether.


I'll give that mod a go, but I would really like to see them improved.

My wishlist:
1: Applied more sparingly. Add some noise to their distribution.
2: Restricted to flat terrain (no mountain creep) and to the centers of craters.
3: More complexity and variation to their pattern. Not so regular and linear.
 
niseminoshiroDate: Tuesday, 03.11.2015, 23:27 | Message # 9
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
Quote Bells_Theorem ()
My wishlist:
1: Applied more sparingly. Add some noise to their distribution.
2: Restricted to flat terrain (no mountain creep) and to the centers of craters.
3: More complexity and variation to their pattern. Not so regular and linear.


I'm a total noob at coding so this is way beyond my capabilities. Right now dunes seem to be applied as concentric rings around a central point somewhere on the planet, like a giant fingerprint. From what I can make out, their shape and ring structure is defined in tg_common.glsl and location in tg_terra_height.glsl .
Code

    if (biome < dunesFraction)
    {
        // Dunes
        noiseOctaves = 2.0;
        dist = dunesFreq + Fbm(p * 1.21);
        height = max(Fbm(p * dist * 0.3) + 0.7, 0.0);
        height = biomeScale * dunesMagn * (height + DunesNoise(point, 3));
    }
    else if (biome < hillsFraction)
    {
        // "Eroded" hills
        noiseOctaves = 10.0;
        noiseH       = 1.0;
        noiseOffset  = 1.0;
        height = biomeScale * hillsMagn * (0.05 - (0.4 * RidgedMultifractal(point * hillsFreq + Randomize, 2.0)) + 0.3* RidgedMultifractalErodedDetail(point *  montesFreq + Randomize, 2.0, 1.1 * erosion, biomeScale));
    }
    else if (biome < hills2Fraction)
    {
        // "Eroded" hills 2
        noiseOctaves = 10.0;
        noiseLacunarity = 2.0;
        height = 0.4 * biomeScale * hillsMagn * JordanTurbulence(point * hillsFreq + Randomize, 0.8, 0.5, 0.6, 0.35, 1.0, 0.8, 1.0);
    }
    else if (biome < canyonsFraction)
    {
        // Canyons
        noiseOctaves = 5.0;
        noiseH       = 0.9;
        noiseLacunarity = 4.0;
        noiseOffset  = montesSpiky;
        height = -canyonsMagn * montRage * RidgedMultifractalErodedDetail(point * 4.0 * canyonsFreq * inv2montesSpiky + Randomize, 2.0, erosion, montBiomeScale);

        //if (terrace < terraceProb)
        {
            terraceLayers *= 5.0;
            float h = height * terraceLayers;
            height = (floor(h) + smoothstep(0.1, 0.9, fract(h))) / terraceLayers;
        }
    }
    else
    {
        // Mountains
        noiseOctaves = 10.0;
        noiseH       = 1.0;
        noiseLacunarity = 2.3;
        noiseOffset  = montesSpiky;
        height = 0.75 *montesMagn * montRage * RidgedMultifractalErodedDetail(point * (0.9 * montesFreq) * inv2montesSpiky + Randomize, 4.0, 1.2 *erosion , montBiomeScale);

        if (terrace < terraceProb)
        {
            float h = height * 0.75 *terraceLayers;
            height = (floor(h) + smoothstep(0.1, 0.9, fract(h))) / terraceLayers;
        }

    }


I can't figure out how to get dunes to only appear in their own biome without screwing everything else up
 
Bells_TheoremDate: Wednesday, 04.11.2015, 01:12 | Message # 10
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
I've noticed the ring structure before on some of the more heavily duned planets. It makes sense as the most efficient way to apply them without causing distortions. It looks a little odd though if they are applied at the focal point where the dunes all converge on a tiny dune ring.
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Thursday, 05.11.2015, 05:14 | Message # 11
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
I found one such ring during my travels earlier this weekend. This is in Patch 7.



Code
Place    "Radiating Dunes"
{
    Ver  974
    Body    "RS 8409-1353-9-94747384-268 2"
    Parent    "RS 8409-1353-9-94747384-268"
    Date    "2015.10.31 20:45:03.24"
    Pos  (+00000000000000008B654C93221A44A2 +0000000000000002415BF5A44CC212D6 +0000000000000002BC00501B6A4EFD55)
    Rot  (-0.1117319277284893 0.8493253577906345 0.30974480794591 -0.4125779525016309)
    Vel  7.6322553e-013
    Mode    2
}


(I have custom galaxies & globulars lying around, so the planet might not be there in your installation, I think. The planet is in the MW; "RS 8409..." seems default for the MW.)

Attachments: 2854524.jpg(402Kb)





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Thursday, 05.11.2015, 05:17
 
KludDate: Friday, 13.11.2015, 00:12 | Message # 12
Astronaut
Group: Users
Russian Federation
Messages: 72
Status: Offline
While it turned out:





For try: Link

It works in 0.974 patches 6 and 7.

Attachments: 2977120.jpg(128Kb) · 5105770.jpg(102Kb)
 
Bells_TheoremDate: Friday, 13.11.2015, 01:38 | Message # 13
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 188
Status: Offline
Wow. That looks so much more natural. Nicely done.

I'll give it a run tonight.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Modding Dunes
Page 1 of 11
Search: