RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Looking for a mod
Looking for a mod
JimHatfield1776Date: Thursday, 30.04.2015, 03:29 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
There was a mod out awhile back where you could export data about a system and it would generate fun things like habitability, what the atmosphere was made out of, which moons were the best to mine, etc.

It was a separate program that ran outside of your game. Does anyone know what this mod is and where I could find it?
 
GP300Date: Thursday, 30.04.2015, 09:19 | Message # 2
Observer
Group: Users
Sweden
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
Could it be this one perhaps?

http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/17-1882-1
 
Tangle10Date: Thursday, 30.04.2015, 23:55 | Message # 3
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 129
Status: Offline
Happy to report that that mod does in fact still work.
On a side note, it's very annoying! Sol=Cetentank. Earth apparently only has silicon as a viable resource and the atmo is 40 percent oxygen, arthropods formed 15 million years ago.





Tips for finding Earth-Like planets: Look for F, G, or K Class stars. M class habitables will almost always be tidelocked. Oceanias can, of course, also be habitable, they just have tiny amounts of land.
 
GP300Date: Friday, 01.05.2015, 08:38 | Message # 4
Observer
Group: Users
Sweden
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
I tried it with 0.973 and also with 0.971 but no matter what I do I just get the "NaN"-error and then the program crashes. It doesn't seem to like my computer very much. sad
 
Tangle10Date: Friday, 01.05.2015, 19:52 | Message # 5
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 129
Status: Offline
Quote GP300 ()
I tried it with 0.973 and also with 0.971 but no matter what I do I just get the "NaN"-error and then the program crashes. It doesn't seem to like my computer very much. sad

Make sure to use more than one system...





Tips for finding Earth-Like planets: Look for F, G, or K Class stars. M class habitables will almost always be tidelocked. Oceanias can, of course, also be habitable, they just have tiny amounts of land.
 
GP300Date: Saturday, 02.05.2015, 08:09 | Message # 6
Observer
Group: Users
Sweden
Messages: 15
Status: Offline
Thanks for the reply. smile

Using more than one system worked a "little better" (no freezing and CTD) but now gives me a different error message: "Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection". wacko

I'll give it a couple of more tries before I give up.

Too bad I'm complety useless when it comes to programming, otherwise I'd put something similar together myself.
 
JimHatfield1776Date: Sunday, 03.05.2015, 23:54 | Message # 7
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
This is it, thanks!
 
OrgymeyerDate: Monday, 04.05.2015, 05:33 | Message # 8
Observer
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 19
Status: Offline
Quote GP300 ()
Could it be this one perhaps?

http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/17-1882-1


Best reply ever, and thanks to OP for asking the question in the first place. It doesn't work perfectly, but when it does, WOW! This is the kind of thing I've been wanting in SpaceEngine since he added life to the simulation!

To be able to have atmospheric composition (on some worlds) and a full history of when and how life formed on this world, is really something else. I'm hoping this level of detail is eventually put into the game, either as a full embedded mod, or added natively to the code. For now, this is just great and is giving me new reason to go out and explore!
 
JimHatfield1776Date: Tuesday, 05.05.2015, 23:09 | Message # 9
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
So, I haven't been able to get it to work for some reason with the latest update, or at least I'm not aware of where the default file path for parsed systems goes.

When I go to parse a system, the program runs fine and closes, but I can't seem to find the html document of the system that it parsed anywhere. Does anyone know where the default file path is?
 
OrgymeyerDate: Sunday, 10.05.2015, 03:32 | Message # 10
Observer
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 19
Status: Offline
Quote JimHatfield1776 ()
Does anyone know where the default file path is?


I just extracted the archived file to the default directory and it seems to put the html documents in that same directory. I'm my case it's downloads/SystemReport041

I usually sort by date modified and my newest reports show up at the top. I could never seem to get it to do more than one system at a time, so now I'm just exporting systems one by one instead of trying to do a full list.
 
Thomas988Date: Sunday, 10.05.2015, 21:01 | Message # 11
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 125
Status: Offline
I'm trying this mod out with 0.9.7.4, but it's not working. I am downloading the mod, extracting the files into the Downloads folder, find and export a system in Space Engine, open the mod up and select the exported system. If the "All files in directory" is not selected, it crashes, while if it is selected then it just closes and nothing happens. What am I doing wrong?




All you need in life are space games and typhlosions.
 
Tangle10Date: Sunday, 10.05.2015, 21:59 | Message # 12
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 129
Status: Offline
Nothing wrong- I don't think the mod is compatible right now.




Tips for finding Earth-Like planets: Look for F, G, or K Class stars. M class habitables will almost always be tidelocked. Oceanias can, of course, also be habitable, they just have tiny amounts of land.
 
Thomas988Date: Sunday, 10.05.2015, 23:44 | Message # 13
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 125
Status: Offline
Quote Tangle10 ()
Nothing wrong- I don't think the mod is compatible right now.


That's a shame, this mod sounds really awesome.





All you need in life are space games and typhlosions.
 
JimHatfield1776Date: Tuesday, 12.05.2015, 03:43 | Message # 14
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
I can confirm that the mod appears to be broken with 0.9.7.4
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Looking for a mod
Page 1 of 11
Search: