RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 14 of 18«1212131415161718»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » MOD - Creating a planet 0.980 (How to make your own planets)
MOD - Creating a planet 0.980
quarior14Date: Wednesday, 14.09.2016, 21:14 | Message # 196
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 646
Status: Offline
I think it a mistake
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
MassSol - mass in the Sun's masses (1 Earth mass = 1.98892·1030 kg).

It is rather :
MassSol - mass in the Sun's masses (1 Sun mass = 1.98892·1030 kg).
And precise the luminosity it is in Sun's luminosity in the spoiler of the first post.





Quarior
 
steeljaw354Date: Wednesday, 14.09.2016, 22:00 | Message # 197
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 862
Status: Offline
Ok. I have added other Planets, Moons, asteroids, etc and I have an issue with the barycenter. I changed the orbital period of Mynoa. After this is fixed I will add 2 asteroid belts and a few other things and the addon will be released.

Attachments: 0028680.jpg(268Kb) · 3348976.sc(34Kb)


Edited by steeljaw354 - Wednesday, 14.09.2016, 22:02
 
OstariskDate: Wednesday, 14.09.2016, 22:10 | Message # 198
Pioneer
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 447
Status: Offline
Quote steeljaw354 ()
I changed the orbital period of Mynoa.

You're not supposed to change the period, because it will change the position within the binary system, And the two bodies are meant to be always opposite each other, as so in any other binary system.






My mods
 
steeljaw354Date: Wednesday, 14.09.2016, 22:13 | Message # 199
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 862
Status: Offline
Is a 17 hour orbital period realistic? Because when I read the book it had something like a 4-5 day orbital period. At a distance of about 180,000 miles.
 
OstariskDate: Wednesday, 14.09.2016, 23:09 | Message # 200
Pioneer
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 447
Status: Offline
Quote steeljaw354 ()
Is a 17 hour orbital period realistic? Because when I read the book it had something like a 4-5 day orbital period. At a distance of about 180,000 miles.


In a binary system, the periods should be same for both. Also, orbital period also depends on mass.

I used this algortihm to calculate the period.
Quote

https://upload.wikimedia.org/math....dc7.png
Or, in more useful units (mass - in solar masses, a - in AU, P - in years),
P = sqrt(a3/(M1 + M2))
here a is a mutual semi-major axis (ie a1 + a2)






My mods


Edited by Ostarisk - Wednesday, 14.09.2016, 23:10
 
steeljaw354Date: Wednesday, 14.09.2016, 23:26 | Message # 201
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 862
Status: Offline
I reverted the Orbital Period, it is fixed now. I tried to make it like it was in the book, but I guess the book had a few things wrong.
 
JackDoleDate: Thursday, 15.09.2016, 10:36 | Message # 202
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
I think the book is right:

I have as a result of the orbital period 0.01476623608138427346 years, or 5.39325240220687485753 days.

I use the same formula as Ostarisk:
Code
OrbitalPeriod = sqrt (DistAU ^ 3 / (MassSolA + MassSolB))





Don't forget to look here.

 
steeljaw354Date: Thursday, 15.09.2016, 10:42 | Message # 203
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 862
Status: Offline
I guess I was right on the 17 hours was wrong, I'll update it, would it be stable in the place of the Earth and moon?

Edited by steeljaw354 - Thursday, 15.09.2016, 10:51
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 15.09.2016, 13:39 | Message # 204
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote quarior14 ()
And precise the luminosity it is in Sun's luminosity in the spoiler of the first post.

What do you mean?





 
quarior14Date: Thursday, 15.09.2016, 14:21 | Message # 205
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 646
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, I spoke of this section but it seems to me that you edited, unless I had frowned :
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Lum or Luminosity - luminosity of a star in solar units.





Quarior
 
steeljaw354Date: Thursday, 15.09.2016, 19:29 | Message # 206
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 862
Status: Offline
Next up: I'm going to make Anillo and Noom.
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Sunday, 18.09.2016, 23:23 | Message # 207
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
I was reading up on the moment of inertia on Wikipedia, and I realized that for my custom planet Belle Hades, I did define a specific characteristic of her molten guts, describing the core as having a relative core radius to planet ratio of being 10% larger than the Earth's core radius relative to Earth's radius. However Belle Hades is smaller with a smaller mass. Do I need to input a different InertiaMoment for Belle Hades than what SpaceEngine generates?

The values I use are:

Radius: 5469.6462
Mass: 0.605434

The InertiaMoment SE generates upon export is 0.331279.





Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Sunday, 18.09.2016, 23:28
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 19.09.2016, 17:59 | Message # 208
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
PlutonianEmpire, you don't need to input ALL parameters to the script. The InertiaMoment is used to compute the initial rotation period of the planet and it's increase caused by tidal interactions with other bodies. You don't need it if you specified the rotation period in your script.




 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Monday, 19.09.2016, 18:02 | Message # 209
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
Nice, good to know. Thank you, SpaceEngineer! smile




Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
MatsoftwareDate: Wednesday, 21.09.2016, 11:00 | Message # 210
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Hungary
Messages: 81
Status: Offline
Hello, Community, I created an own solar system that has 4 planets, 3 moons, and 1 star[DOT]
Please PM me what do you think about my solar system[DOT]
Download here[DOT]
Images:












My mods
If I'm not replying to a PM, my account is hacked!


Edited by Matsoftware - Friday, 14.10.2016, 11:31
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » MOD - Creating a planet 0.980 (How to make your own planets)
Page 14 of 18«1212131415161718»
Search: