Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » OpenGL Analog to ENB Series? (Is there an OpenGL analog to ENB Series?)
OpenGL Analog to ENB Series?
form_d_kDate: Thursday, 23.10.2014, 23:34 | Message # 1
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 68
Status: Offline
So this is not completely technically accurate, but close enough: If you drop a DLL file into the same directory as an executable that requires it, I believe the dependencies are pulled from there rather than from a DLL in the GAC.

ENB Series does this & It is quite beautiful (if GPU-intensive). It provides for custom color correction, SSAO, & a lot of other graphical tweaks. It doesn't work for a lot of games & it's custom tailored for the games, but it does work for DirectX games that it wasn't specifically designed for.

Is there a similar way to modify graphics for OpenGL applications? I think it would be neat to implement these features in Space Engine.
 
RoflordDate: Sunday, 04.01.2015, 09:39 | Message # 2
Observer
Group: Newbies
Venezuela
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Late reply but can't leave this question without an answer
Found this after some searching: http://reshade.me/
Didn't test it, but the site claims it works with OpenGL
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 04.01.2015, 10:00 | Message # 3
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
ENB, FXAA, SweetFX, and any other program like it will not work with SE. SE is custom coded from the ground up so even if you have a working wrapper it will still crash the program or not initialize.

Quote Roflord ()
Late reply but can't leave this question without an answer
Found this after some searching: http://reshade.me/
Didn't test it, but the site claims it works with OpenGL


I have tested it before and the most you get is a black screen after it says it successfully hooked. I decided to try again in 0.9.7.2 and it was same black screen error followed by

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: SpaceEngine.exe
Application Version: 0.9.7.2
Application Timestamp: 549da900
Fault Module Name: OPENGL32.dll





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SalvoDate: Sunday, 04.01.2015, 14:40 | Message # 4
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
I have tested it before and the most you get is a black screen after it says it successfully hooked. I decided to try again in 0.9.7.2 and it was same black screen error followed by


Did you trying setting MipmapsMode to 1 or 0? (into main.cfg)

I'm actually interested in this.





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
anonymousgamerDate: Sunday, 04.01.2015, 19:30 | Message # 5
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
I just tried another wrapper, one I tested with Doc about a week ago. At first it crashed, I set mipmaps to 1 and got really bad artifacting close to planet surfaces. I then set it to 0 and everything was fine, no additional effects. Then I set it back to 2 and it didn't crash or anything, but it still had no additional effects. The SE.log says it reads the new .dll with no errors and the wrapper's own log has no errors. Gonna mess with this further.




Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 04.01.2015, 22:58 | Message # 6
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote Salvo ()

Did you trying setting MipmapsMode to 1 or 0?


Yep. Same thing as anonymousgamer. If you get the hook to load with the setting to 1 the program becomes highly unstable. 0 just doesn't load anything.

Quote anonymousgamer ()
the wrapper's own log has no errors


Thats because it didn't hook properly. I tried adjusting color settings and other settings in the injector but none of them loaded.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
fullmetaljackassDate: Friday, 13.02.2015, 15:27 | Message # 7
Observer
Group: Newbies
Austria
Messages: 8
Status: Offline
Hello,

I just wanted to inform everybody that the latest reshade release (reshade.me) with included sweetfx 2.0 preview, does work with space engine.

Download ReShade 0.14.0 Public Beta with SweetFX 2.0 Preview 2.7z extract it and run ReShade Setup.exe- Point Setup program to ...\SpaceEngine 0.972\system\SpaceEngine.exe and run.

Necessary files should be created in system folder. Now if you run spaceengine a welcome text should appear indicating that shaders have been succesfully hooked.

You can edit effects in ...\SpaceEngine 0.972\system\SweetFX.txt (you can edit them, while is SE running, it will compile once you save the txt file
Not all of them work, but a lot. Like e.g. this explosion effect http://imgur.com/T5zYRK4


Edited by fullmetaljackass - Friday, 13.02.2015, 15:28
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » OpenGL Analog to ENB Series? (Is there an OpenGL analog to ENB Series?)
Page 1 of 11
Search: