Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 2 of 3«123»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » New exo-planets addOn. (Creating script for new exoplanets.)
New exo-planets addOn.
n0b0dyDate: Saturday, 17.01.2015, 13:27 | Message # 16
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
Quote pzampella ()
New version releases! Please check and report for bugs! smile


Code

Planet    "HATS-6"    <-----Should be given a letter so that its name differs from parrent star, else SE console brings an error message
{
     ParentBody     "HATS-6"
     Mass     3.190000e-01
     Radius     6.977118e+04
     DiscDate     "2014"
     Updated        "11/08/2014"
     Orbit
     {
         Epoch          2452899.6
         Period         9.103950e-03
         SemiMajorAxis         3.623000e-02
         Inclination         8.821000e+01
     }
}


This is located in file ''newexoplanets.sc''

I named it ''HATS-6 a''

Just for clarification:
''ExoplanetStar1.sc'' goes into YourSEfolder\Catalogs\Stars (or inside yourSEfoldr\Catalogs\CatalogSE.PAK\Stars
''ExoplanetStar2.sc'' and ''newexoplanets.sc'' goes into YourSEfolder\Catalogs\planets\ or \CatalogsSE.pak\planets

and corresponding entries in universe.cfg located un config folder smile
 
FastFourierTransformDate: Saturday, 17.01.2015, 19:53 | Message # 17
Pioneer
Group: Local Moderators
Spain
Messages: 540
Status: Offline
Quote pzampella ()
New version releases! Please check and report for bugs!


Gracias de nuevo!!! biggrin

Only one thing, The recently discovered Kepler 438b and Kepler 442b appear like scorched lava deserts but in reality they are probably the most earth-like planets we have encountered.

Buen trabajo!
Ya han salido 9 planetas nuevos esta semana jajajaja no paramos de descubrir verdad?
 
pzampellaDate: Tuesday, 03.02.2015, 00:38 | Message # 18
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Venezuela
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
Quote
pzampella, you should probably include some installation instructions so that users who aren't familiar with the catalog system can install it.

'Readme' file added!

n0b0dy, about HATS-6, it appears without the 'b' on http://exoplanet.eu/ for some reason, but I will fix it.
Also, I changed the addOn a little bit, so we can just put it in the catalog folder and edit the universe script.

FastFourierTransform, De nada y si, esos los agregaré para la próxima versión.
Also, I think they appear as warm deserts because the star data in the catalog is unaccurate. However, if that data is fixed by the next update, it could appear as a terra!

Added (02.02.2015, 23:38)
---------------------------------------------
I just did a little update so we I can add the Kepler-444 system.

Edited by pzampella - Wednesday, 21.01.2015, 02:32
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 03.02.2015, 15:27 | Message # 19
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
I am working on a full update of SE catalog, using data form exoplanet.eu and NASA exoplanet archive. Both indeed have many errors in planets and stars names (NASA archive a bit better).




 
pzampellaDate: Tuesday, 03.02.2015, 16:01 | Message # 20
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Venezuela
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
SpaceEngineer, Nice! I've been using only the exoplanet.eu catalog because of the discrepancies with NASA's. However, each error I find it's been fixed.
I hope you can use the script to help you to update SE's catalog.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 03.02.2015, 22:15 | Message # 21
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
NASA catalog is more accurate. I made a software which combines both catalogs (tries to fill the missing data in one catalog with the data from another, takes missing planets from both, etc). But the huge amount of work is needed to fix errors like different/incomplete planet or star name, missing star coordinates/magnitude data, etc. And in the end, some multiple stars are already hand-made by me for previous versions of SE, and I must accurately copy them into the new catalog.




 
webberadamnDate: Wednesday, 04.02.2015, 07:06 | Message # 22
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
So,
I'm a total newb with mods here. I'd love to have the new exoplanets. I've read through the stickies and I've tried several different ways of putting these files in the pak, putting them in a unique pak, or just putting them in an unpacked archive and I still can't seem to get any of these new planets to appear.
I hate to do this because I can usually find things out on my own, but is there any chance someone can explain what I'm doing wrong, what I need to do right, or just where I need to look to find the answer?
Thanks a bunch.
 
BambusmanDate: Wednesday, 04.02.2015, 11:48 | Message # 23
Pioneer
Group: SE team
Germany
Messages: 408
Status: Offline
Quote webberadamn ()
I still can't seem to get any of these new planets to appear.

Did you added them in the universe.cfg?
 
webberadamnDate: Wednesday, 04.02.2015, 14:11 | Message # 24
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
Quote webberadamn ()
Did you added them in the universe.cfg?

Oh, dur. I'm a dork.
Thank you. I'll try this out after work.
 
DeeKayDate: Tuesday, 17.02.2015, 01:17 | Message # 25
Observer
Group: Newbies
Germany
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Small problem here, but managed to install them due to the explanation wink

You have mentioned 'ExoplanetStar1.sc'', ''ExoplanetStar2.sc'' and ''newexoplanets.sc ?

I am confused. I do have newexoplanets.sc, ExoplanetStar.sc and ExoplanetBarycenter.sc here, from the archive.
Also the barycenter file gives ERRORs at type and spectrum, at the position of for example "Kepler-443 Barycenter" there is no object.

Some suggestions ? smile
 
pzampellaDate: Tuesday, 17.02.2015, 21:51 | Message # 26
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Venezuela
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
DeeKay, Yeah, sorry! I forgot to add the 'Readme' file. I changed the script's names to make it more intuitive.
About Kepler-443 b, it is in the script and can see th object.
In any case, I want to fix some errors this week, so if you still have issues, PM me so you can help me!
 
DeeKayDate: Thursday, 26.02.2015, 12:43 | Message # 27
Observer
Group: Newbies
Germany
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Well, no - problem still unsolved sad

I downloaded this http://en.spaceengine.org/_fr/23/NewExoplanets3..zip, put the files to the correct directories and added them to universe.cfg.

Result: Errors as described. And i don't have ExoplanetStar1.sc and ExoplanetStar2.sc and no readme wacko
 
pzampellaDate: Thursday, 26.02.2015, 14:35 | Message # 28
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Venezuela
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
Sorry DeeKay, I've been a little busy.
I just added the ReadMe file again (I forgot to add it on version 3.1).
The problem was that I changed the name of the files, but they are the same! I hope this will help you smile
 
DeeKayDate: Thursday, 26.02.2015, 15:38 | Message # 29
Observer
Group: Newbies
Germany
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Hi again.

I have redone the installation process: dl the zip, renamed folders an files lower/uppercase and put these infos in the universe.cfg.

Prolem solved, all works fine now smile Thank you.
 
IkeDate: Friday, 27.02.2015, 23:25 | Message # 30
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
Mod looks great, dowloaded without a hitch.

However--and this is a nooby question--i cant seem to search for any 3-letter Kepler planet, like Kepler-438b. Space Engine only recognized two letters. Is it something in the nomenclature?


Edited by Ike - Friday, 27.02.2015, 23:25
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » New exo-planets addOn. (Creating script for new exoplanets.)
Page 2 of 3«123»
Search: