RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 2 of 5«12345»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » COMMUNITY ADDON - Catalog Fixes for SE (Fixing errors in the star catalog)
COMMUNITY ADDON - Catalog Fixes for SE
JackDoleDate: Friday, 08.04.2016, 15:29 | Message # 16
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote Mosfet ()
Jackdole, your post wasn't there before

I was wondering ... biggrin





Don't forget to look here.

 
JackDoleDate: Friday, 08.04.2016, 16:49 | Message # 17
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
Alnitak duplicate entry in SE 0.974 RC2

Okay, I got it! biggrin

The trick is to use a separate script for 'RemoveStar'

Code
//RemoveStar "Alnitak"

RemoveStar "Alnitak"

This script must be older than the script for the new star!

Code
// Alnitak

StarBarycenter "Alnitak"
{
    RA      05 40 45.52666
    Dec     -01 56 34.2649
    Dist     368.7 //387
}

So save first 'RemoveAlnitak.sc', then 'AlnitakBC.sc'. Both files belong in 'addons\catalogs\stars'.

Or use the .pak file. It belongs in 'addons'.

No changes necessary on any other files!

Attachments: Alnitak.pak(1Kb)





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Friday, 08.04.2016, 17:17
 
MosfetDate: Friday, 08.04.2016, 17:24 | Message # 18
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 729
Status: Offline
Similarly, even Mintaka was a bit off, as previously noted by someone else.

the entry in Stars-bin-2.sc should be changed in decimal form, from:
Code
RemoveStar "HIP 25930"

StarBarycenter "Mintaka/DEL Ori/34 Ori"
{
    RA      05 32 00.4
    Dec     -00 17 57
    Dist    211.6564
}

to:
Code
RemoveStar "HIP 25930"

StarBarycenter "Mintaka/DEL Ori/34 Ori"
{
    RA      5.53344444
    Dec     -0.29916667
    Dist    211.6564
}


because it seems, at least in my case, that the negative value of declination was ignored.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
JackDoleDate: Friday, 08.04.2016, 18:42 | Message # 19
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Mosfet,
I'd say that's a bug. And it relates to at least 107 stars. Here's a list.

Attachments: StarsWithDec-0.txt(7Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
MosfetDate: Friday, 08.04.2016, 19:00 | Message # 20
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 729
Status: Offline
JackDole,
using your Alnitak.pak placed under addons/ didn't changed my stars... I'm very confused at this point. my se.log states:
Quote
[MT] Merging duplicate stars
[MT] "addons/Alnitak.pak/catalogs/stars/RemoveAlnitak.sc" line 3: Removing star "Alnitak/ZET Ori/50 Ori/HD 37742" ("data/catalogs/Catalogs0974.pak/stars/Stars.sc" line 530)
[MT] "addons/Alnitak.pak/catalogs/stars/AlnitakBC.sc" line 3: Merging stars "Alnitak" + "Alnitak" ("addons/Alnitak.pak/catalogs/stars/RemoveAlnitak.sc" line 3) = "Alnitak"


it's not merging with the right catalogue it seems.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
JackDoleDate: Friday, 08.04.2016, 19:38 | Message # 21
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Mosfet,
these messages I also have. But I do not know why that should be a problem. The purpose of the scripts was for me to remove the duplicate entry of Alnitak. That's the case for me.


Attachments: 7613873.jpg(237Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
MosfetDate: Friday, 08.04.2016, 20:08 | Message # 22
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 729
Status: Offline
yes, mine too, but my declination didn't changed, it's still 6 degrees off from where it should be.




"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
JackDoleDate: Friday, 08.04.2016, 20:21 | Message # 23
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Okay, that's another problem. I want to see if I can solve it. If not, then the method first described is perhaps the better! dry




Don't forget to look here.

 
Justinjah91Date: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 03:01 | Message # 24
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
There seems to be an error in the information for Gliese 667 C c. I have found several places online that list that this exoplanet has an Earth Similarity Index (ESI) of 0.85. In the program, it shows an ESI of 0.675.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 10.04.2016, 03:09 | Message # 25
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Justinjah91 ()
I have found several places online that list that this exoplanet has an Earth Similarity Index (ESI) of 0.85

It's impossible to know its ESI since we don't know its exact temperature. I bet those ESI predictions assume no greenhouse effect.

ESI is not a catalog parameter, it is a function of catalog parameters. To see if there's actually a problem, compare its mass, radius, etc. to known values. NOT ESI.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
JackDoleDate: Monday, 11.04.2016, 18:12 | Message # 26
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
For all stars affected by the 'Dec -0' error, I have the degree replaced by the decimal value.

Put the files in the 'data\catalogs\stars' folder. NOT in the 'addons' directory!

Attachments: NullDecDez.zip(202Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
n0b0dyDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 05:49 | Message # 27
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
Quote JackDole ()
Put the files in the 'data\catalogs\stars' folder. NOT in the 'addons' directory!


Hi. Any chance you can make it work by putting it in the addons directory?
 
JackDoleDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 07:15 | Message # 28
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Quote n0b0dy ()
Any chance you can make it work by putting it in the addons directory?

I tried it, it should work if you put the files in 'addons\catalogs\stars'.
The problem is, one of the files - 'Stars-bin-2.sc' - must be changed to correct the incorrect position of Alnitak.
For some reason, this only works if the file is in 'data\catalogs\stars'.





Don't forget to look here.

 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 12.04.2016, 13:19 | Message # 29
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote Mosfet ()
JackDole,
using your Alnitak.pak placed under addons/ didn't changed my stars... I'm very confused at this point. my se.log states:

This is a new logging system for catalogs. To change it's behaviour, add this to the beginning of the catalog file:

Code

// Star solver log level:
// 0 - do not log
// 1 - log errors and warnings only
// 2 - log everything
LogLevel    1


Choose whatever value for LogLevel what you want. Also, universe.cfg have a global parameter CatalogLogLevel, which can override the LogLevel values in a catalog files.

By the way, look at the log:
Code

[MT] Merging duplicate stars
[MT] "addons/Alnitak.pak/catalogs/stars/RemoveAlnitak.sc" line 3:    Removing star    "Alnitak/ZET Ori/50 Ori/HD 37742" ("data/catalogs/Catalogs0974.pak/stars/Stars.sc" line 530)
[MT] "addons/Alnitak.pak/catalogs/stars/AlnitakBC.sc" line 3:    Merging stars    "Alnitak" + "Alnitak" ("addons/Alnitak.pak/catalogs/stars/RemoveAlnitak.sc" line 3) = "Alnitak"


It's obvious what SE now miss all alternate names for Alnitak: ZET Ori, 50 Ori and HD 37742. This is becasue JackDole removed Alnitak with RemoveStar and added a barycenter with the only one name "Alnitak". Take this into account in future! Don't forgot to add all alternate names to the newly added Star or StarBarycenter!

Quote n0b0dy ()
Quote JackDole ()
Put the files in the 'data\catalogs\stars' folder. NOT in the 'addons' directory!
Hi. Any chance you can make it work by putting it in the addons directory?

It's correct to put them into data directory, becasue this is not the addon, but the patch of the current SE catalog.

Ok, I fixed all catalogs errors found in RC2 (Did I forgot something? Please point out):
- Removed duplicate of the Alnitak and fixed it's position
- Fixed position of Mintaka and other stars with RA and Dec between -1 and 0 (fixed the SE code, so no changes in the catalogs needed)
- Fixed invisible Capella (again fix in the SE code)
- Fixed Homunculus Nebula
- Fixed NGC 6872 galaxy radius
- Fixed bug with stars generation in IC 3094 and other small galaxies (fix in the SE code)
- Removed duplicate of the Sagittarius dSph galaxy (Sag DEG which was displayed in SE as Sag °)
- Disabled luminosity calculation from IR apparent magnitude for catalog red dwarfs, which leads to unrealistically small radius (like for SDSS 00160-00430)





 
MosfetDate: Wednesday, 13.04.2016, 08:08 | Message # 30
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 729
Status: Offline
Thanks SpaceEngineer, now I'm starting to grasp the tools workings.
I compiled an addon that merge Messier numbers to catalog objects where they were missing, if it helps.
It's here.

Edit: wait, there are negative RAs?





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram


Edited by Mosfet - Wednesday, 13.04.2016, 08:18
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » COMMUNITY ADDON - Catalog Fixes for SE (Fixing errors in the star catalog)
Page 2 of 5«12345»
Search: