RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Having trouble with a single map
Having trouble with a single map
Fireinthehole-Date: Saturday, 18.01.2014, 14:15 | Message # 1
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 365
Status: Offline
I'm having quite a trouble with this map of the Moon. It is a single .dds map of the lunar surface. This is how i looks when I'm too close to it (less than about 50,000 km).


However, if I remove the map with the Moon texture (that has both bump and surcafe textures), this single .dds texture works pretty well. Unfortunately, the bump map gives the Moon a very realistic effect of height.

Any way to fix this? I will attach my Moon texture line in solarsys.sc.
Code
  Surface
  {
   DiffMap        "Moon16K.dds"
   DiffTileSize    514
   DiffTileBorder  1
   BumpMap        "Moon/Bump"
   BumpTileSize    514
   BumpTileBorder  1
   BumpHeight      19.851
   BumpOffset      9.058
   Exposure  5.0
   Lommel          1.0
  }





Love Space Engine!
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 18.01.2014, 15:26 | Message # 2
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
You cannot use a cube mapped bump map with a cylindrical diff map. If you want to use that moon map, you'll have to cube map it first.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Fireinthehole-Date: Saturday, 18.01.2014, 16:15 | Message # 3
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 365
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
You cannot use a cube mapped bump map with a cylindrical diff map. If you want to use that moon map, you'll have to cube map it first.

How could that be done? Why does it work as seen from far away, but not from near?





Love Space Engine!
 
VoekoevakaDate: Saturday, 18.01.2014, 17:41 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
No, SE is unable to use a both cylindrical map and a cubemap. You have to cubemapize your moon16k.dds.




Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 18.01.2014, 17:52 | Message # 5
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Fireinthehole ()
Why does it work as seen from far away, but not from near?

Because far away SE uses cylindrical base maps.

Look a the sticky threads, you'll find instructions on how to make a cube map version. Though it looks like that texture is the same as the default texture from old versions of SE, so you might just want to download one of those and take the texture from there...





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Fireinthehole-Date: Saturday, 18.01.2014, 19:18 | Message # 6
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 365
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Though it looks like that texture is the same as the default texture from old versions of SE, so you might just want to download one of those and take the texture from there...

You are correct! I downloaded the 0.95 version and it's exactly the same texture. Thank you smile





Love Space Engine!
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Having trouble with a single map
Page 1 of 11
Search: