Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 6 of 17«12456781617»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Planet palettes
Planet palettes
Bluejay0013Date: Monday, 13.01.2014, 00:58 | Message # 76
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 53
Status: Offline
I tried to edit the palettes with some new ones, and they didn't work. so I deleted every other palette for gas giants and made one of my own, basically a red gas planet, but I go to find one and the first gas planet I see is blue. can someone help me with a tutorial plz biggrin . BTW I did also edit the style ranges




AMD3+ 8350 @ 4.00 ghz processor, a PNY Geforce 650 Ti @ 2 Gb graphics card, 2 4Gb DDR3 1600 sticks of ram, and a 500Gb HDD
 
VoekoevakaDate: Monday, 13.01.2014, 01:02 | Message # 77
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
Maybe the atmosphere was blus, and the clouds red, but as the atmosphere was dense, you only see the blue.




Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

 
Joey_PenguinDate: Monday, 13.01.2014, 01:29 | Message # 78
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 311
Status: Offline
Option 1: Move your palette to the top and set its StyleRange to (0.00, 1.00). It will override all the others, so every gas giant will have your palette.

Option 2: Go into the planet editor and adjust its SurfStype slider to within your designated StyleRange.





Careful. The PLATT Collective has spurs.
 
apenpaapDate: Monday, 13.01.2014, 02:59 | Message # 79
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Quote Bluejay0013 ()
I tried to edit the palettes with some new ones, and they didn't work. so I deleted every other palette for gas giants and made one of my own, basically a red gas planet, but I go to find one and the first gas planet I see is blue. can someone help me with a tutorial plz biggrin . BTW I did also edit the style ranges


Did you only put in a StyleRange for your new palette or did you also change the existing ones to exclude that part of the range? If you didn't edit their StyleRanges, it'll still pick them if you put your new gas giant in the file after them.

Also, as mentioned before, light and atmosphere can make your planets look different. The Neptune atmosphere especially. If you post your palette file I can check whether you actually made a mistake.





I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
Bluejay0013Date: Monday, 13.01.2014, 05:48 | Message # 80
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 53
Status: Offline
no see I deleted all other gas palettes to be sure and left the red one and also messed around with the style in the planet editor but it still came up blue
Quote apenpaap ()
If you post your palette file I can check whether you actually made a mistake.

I did this as a one time thing seeing how my computer specs suck right now, I just wanted to check out color palettes. anyway what im saying is I don't have .971 anymore since it dosent run that well on my computer, but .97 works better
dry





AMD3+ 8350 @ 4.00 ghz processor, a PNY Geforce 650 Ti @ 2 Gb graphics card, 2 4Gb DDR3 1600 sticks of ram, and a 500Gb HDD
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 13.01.2014, 08:49 | Message # 81
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Quote Bluejay0013 ()
basically a red gas planet

Make sure you are familiar with theoretical gas giants appearance and will not make unrealistic color palette.





 
Bluejay0013Date: Monday, 13.01.2014, 19:17 | Message # 82
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 53
Status: Offline
I'm just trying to make a Yavin planet system with the fourth moon of the gas giant as a fully blown terra. Like in Star Wars, so yeah it's made up but it would look very nice




AMD3+ 8350 @ 4.00 ghz processor, a PNY Geforce 650 Ti @ 2 Gb graphics card, 2 4Gb DDR3 1600 sticks of ram, and a 500Gb HDD
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Tuesday, 14.01.2014, 08:18 | Message # 83
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Make sure you are familiar with theoretical gas giants appearance and will not make unrealistic color palette.


This gave me an idea to start a project on reworking the palette.

I have used some of the nicer ones from this thread and combined them with some of the nicer default ones. I also tweaked some of the default colors and tweaked some of the shared ones in this thread to give them a bit more of a blended lower contrast look.

The main adjustments so far are to gas giants, ice giants, and selenas. There are also some minor changes to terras, deserts, and ice worlds.

This is still a big work in progress and I would love to have others contribute to it.

Here are some example screenshots.


I have attached my current palette to this post.

I plan to start working on the desert tones next and then move onto titans.




Removed old palette





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
johnson_linDate: Tuesday, 14.01.2014, 15:18 | Message # 84
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Taiwan
Messages: 20
Status: Offline
Hey, to BlueJay,

Actually after applying the palette in this thread I happened to have run into the same situation with you. All giants seemed to be turned up blue -- while shutting off atmosphere I found out they are all grey.

After a long bug hunting in my planet_palette.cfg, I simply found out that it's a very simple syntax error --

I have one non-matching curly-brace. ( "}" )

You probably have the same syntax error. Likely you misplaced some { } or ( ) or // or "", etc. Or "Palette" tag becomes "Palettee" or something. Must be something very subtle and since we don't get parsing error or warnings right away, it's really hard to tell.







Edited by johnson_lin - Tuesday, 14.01.2014, 15:20
 
apenpaapDate: Tuesday, 14.01.2014, 15:55 | Message # 85
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Yeah, a tiny syntax error can cause a lot of trouble in just about any file.

DoctorOfSpace, nice idea. Might save SpaceEngineer some work for next version.





I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
neutronium76Date: Tuesday, 14.01.2014, 21:05 | Message # 86
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
I have attached my current palette to this post


Thanks Doc! I very much appreciate your contribution on this! smile





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
ZatSoloDate: Tuesday, 14.01.2014, 23:54 | Message # 87
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 111
Status: Offline
Quote neutronium76 ()
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
I have attached my current palette to this pos
t


Thanks Doc! I very much appreciate your contribution on this!


Indeed very beautiful your palette! Thanks also on my part! smile
Keep us informed of any updates!
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 15.01.2014, 02:52 | Message # 88
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
For the past few hours I have been reworking Desert world palettes. These are still a work in progress so no palette info yet but I think they're coming out nicely.

I wanted the colder desert worlds to be more Mars like but have a range of varying colors between all desert worlds while still having a mix of dirt, clay, iron, and sand.

Screens of various desert worlds


I won't be doing titan worlds for now as HarbingerDawn said he will be taking care of those. I will be finishing up the deserts and then returning to fixing some gas giant and ice giant issues. After I finish gas and ice giants I plan to do an overhaul to the terra worlds.




Update, palette is now attached to this post

I have finished Gas Giants for the most part and expanded the amount of variety you can find. Ice Giants have been adjusted, also fixed up the Neptune like ice giant from the previous page to be closer to reality, increased variety in deserts, and a few minor tweaks to selenas. I have also done some very minor tweaks to ice worlds and fixed some of the ranges.

Images


Just remember this is still a work in progress and I still have quite a bit left to do. If anyone wants to contribute just post about it and let me know what you want to help with.

Asteroids/Titans/Oceanias have not been touched yet. A very minor Terra edit is in there but I have to revise it.



PALETTE REMOVED, NEW VERSION IS AVAILABLE





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
neutronium76Date: Wednesday, 15.01.2014, 08:30 | Message # 89
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
That is all very nice Doc! Just a word of caution, or constructive criticism I'd rather say:
Although it is important to keep in mind how the solar system planets look like and have them as a basic template for the palettes, we should also leave some room for some exotic or unusual looks for the procedural planets in order not to make them too solsystem look alike. Don't get me wrong: I know you are already putting a great effort on maintaining a nice balance and it is a very difficult task no doubt. It is just that your desert screenies look too Mars-like IMHO. (I would probably have done the same no doubt as I am biased more towards scientific reality rather than artistic look anyway so don't take it personally ok wink )



Also I wonder if there is something similar to the theoretical gas giant appearance for the remaining planet classes (terras, desert, selenas, asteroids, etc..) as this would be very helpful for the planet palette configuration
unsure





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2


Edited by neutronium76 - Wednesday, 15.01.2014, 08:37
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 15.01.2014, 09:05 | Message # 90
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote neutronium76 ()
It is just that your desert screenies look too Mars-like IMHO.


To varying degrees perhaps. Some deserts no doubt would look exactly like Mars. Plus sand, clay, dirt, and iron oxides would roughly be the same color everywhere. There are some more yellow tinted deserts in the scorched to temperate zones. To me it just seems like no matter where you go desert worlds would be just that, a desert with a bunch of dirt, rocks, and sand.

Quote neutronium76 ()
(terras, desert, selenas, asteroids, etc..) as this would be very helpful for the planet palette configuration


Terras will take me a while because I plan to expand the current palettes to a couple more. I want to give some unique looks to terras. I don't know when I will finish that.

I really want to get some natural looking worlds that are all over the spectrum.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Planet palettes
Page 6 of 17«12456781617»
Search: