RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 5 of 17«12345671617»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Planet palettes
Planet palettes
apenpaapDate: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 20:46 | Message # 61
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
You can simply 'split up' a certain range. For example, if you set the standard type of grey gas giant from (0.00, 0.25) to (0.00, 0.15) and add Toty's gorgeous black-brown-red ones with StyleRange (0.15, 0.25), 60% of hot gas giants will be the standard ones and 40% will be the black-brown-red ones. You don't have to respect the boundaries between temperatures either: if you make a gas giant type have a StyleRange of (0.45, 0.55) it'll mean 20% of temperate gas giants and 20% of cool gas giants will have this style.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
neutronium76Date: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 21:27 | Message # 62
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Quote apenpaap ()
You can simply 'split up' a certain range


Yes but Space Engineer said we can only have 4 ranges in this version. 8 ranges will be available in next version right?





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 21:28 | Message # 63
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote neutronium76 ()
Yes but Space Engineer said we can only have 4 ranges in this version. 8 ranges will be available in next version right?

Wrong. You can have as many as you like.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
apenpaapDate: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 21:29 | Message # 64
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
No, there's 4 ranges by standard, but adding more is no problem; the place between 0 and 1 where you place these just affects at what temperatures they show up. I've got about 20 gas giant styles by now, trust me it works.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
Bluejay0013Date: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 21:40 | Message # 65
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 53
Status: Offline
T
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
They both have the same hardware requirements; if you were able to run 0.970, you should be able to run 0.971

I tried that and it just crashes my graphics driver and I remember you or spaceengineer saying it dosent work well on integrated graphics





AMD3+ 8350 @ 4.00 ghz processor, a PNY Geforce 650 Ti @ 2 Gb graphics card, 2 4Gb DDR3 1600 sticks of ram, and a 500Gb HDD
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 22:53 | Message # 66
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Bluejay0013 ()
it dosent work well on integrated graphics

Nor does any other version of SE as far as I know. If you've had good results with that then you're quite lucky.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Bluejay0013Date: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 23:23 | Message # 67
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 53
Status: Offline
Yeah .97 just crashes every other hour, but in order for to render a planet's surface very well, I have to sit in the same spot for several minutes, and be at 1 frame to get a good screenshot, lol.




AMD3+ 8350 @ 4.00 ghz processor, a PNY Geforce 650 Ti @ 2 Gb graphics card, 2 4Gb DDR3 1600 sticks of ram, and a 500Gb HDD
 
Joey_PenguinDate: Thursday, 09.01.2014, 00:14 | Message # 68
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 311
Status: Offline
I thought this would help with palette design. Here is a "cheat sheet" palette so you know which color goes where. It can be used for any planet class.
Code

// Color guide
Palette
{
   Class          "Desert"
   StyleRange     (0.00, 0.00)
   colorSea       (0.00, 0.00, 1.00, 0.00)
   colorShelf     (0.00, 1.00, 1.00, 0.00)
   colorBeach     (1.00, 0.00, 0.00, 0.00)
   colorDesert    (1.00, 0.00, 1.00, 0.00)
   colorLowland   (1.00, 1.00, 0.00, 0.00)
   colorUpland    (0.00, 1.00, 0.00, 0.00)
   colorRock      (0.50, 0.50, 0.50, 0.00)
   colorSnow      (1.00, 1.00, 1.00, 1.00)
}



EDIT: Will there be temperature ranges for deserts, terras, etc. like there are for gas giants?

Attachments: 1661548.jpg(145Kb) · 6022709.jpg(328Kb) · 5948949.jpg(261Kb)





Careful. The PLATT Collective has spurs.

Edited by Joey_Penguin - Thursday, 09.01.2014, 01:17
 
apenpaapDate: Thursday, 09.01.2014, 00:18 | Message # 69
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Great idea, that's very useful, especially for gas giants where the names of each feature correspond to completely unrelated things on the planet. Though I've built up a decent idea of which parts of the planet each tag means, it required a lot of trial and error.

Also, those pictures look like false-colour radar or infrared images.





I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
apenpaapDate: Thursday, 09.01.2014, 23:28 | Message # 70
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Temperate blue and white gas giant:


Green gas giant:


Orange gas giant:


Purple and white gas giant:


White gas giant:



And a dark terra:

Attachments: 0222226.jpg(294Kb) · 8817842.jpg(168Kb) · 8816627.jpg(186Kb) · 3389609.jpg(240Kb) · 2669908.jpg(229Kb) · 4724691.jpg(326Kb)





I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
DeathStarDate: Friday, 10.01.2014, 00:45 | Message # 71
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
I love the dark terra. The colors fit so well.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 10.01.2014, 15:53 | Message # 72
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote Joey_Penguin ()
I thought this would help with palette design. Here is a "cheat sheet" palette so you know which color goes where. It can be used for any planet class.

...or just open the planet editor and set Style to -0.1.





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 10.01.2014, 21:36 | Message # 73
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Quote neutronium76 ()
Does this mean that if I want to leave the default ranges unchanged and add new ranges for modified palettes that overlap with the default ones, SE will ignore the new ranges?

Yes.





 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Saturday, 11.01.2014, 04:14 | Message # 74
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Palette settings from my old Earth like Mars
Screens of Mars here
Will get a better screenshot later
Code
//Earth2
Palette
{
   Class          "Terra"
   StyleRange     (0.00, 0.00)
   colorBeach      (0.82, 0.73, 0.57, 0.00)
   colorDesert     (0.38, 0.32, 0.22, 0.00)
   colorLowland    (0.34, 0.29, 0.18, 0.00)
   colorUpland     (0.57, 0.54, 0.42, 0.00)
   colorRock       (0.10, 0.10, 0.10, 0.00)
   colorSnow       (1.00, 1.00, 1.00, 0.50)   
}


Tends to work best when used right after the primary Earth colors.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
giftDate: Saturday, 11.01.2014, 17:58 | Message # 75
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 108
Status: Offline
Quote
Tends to work best when used right after the primary Earth colors.


can you show me the picture?
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Planet palettes
Page 5 of 17«12345671617»
Search: