Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 212»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Sprite Mods (Post any sprite modifications you make)
Sprite Mods
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 19:18 | Message # 1
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
This thread will be for any sprite mods that people make (star sprites, nebula sprites, etc.)



I'll start off with this pair of sprites. One is the star particle sprite, and one is the star flare sprite. They are pretty much the same image, just each configured for that specific role. They are much more realistic than the default sprites, especially the star_part one.

To install simply extract the archive (attached) to your SpaceEngine 0.97 directory and overwrite the existing files (backups of the original files are included).



(star scale increased to show sprites, at default levels it will look more normal)

Attachments: StarSprites.zip(156Kb)





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Fireinthehole-Date: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 20:04 | Message # 2
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 365
Status: Offline
Wow, looks great! Thanks a lot! wink




Love Space Engine!
 
n3xtDate: Wednesday, 01.05.2013, 23:58 | Message # 3
Explorer
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 184
Status: Offline
Yeah looks nice !

But could you be a little more specific where I have to place them ?

For example: Space Engine 0.97 --> textures --> common --> overwrite the original star_part ?

Just wanna be sure ^^ but they look great !

I'm already happy everything went Smooth during and most importantly after dowloading =DD
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 02.05.2013, 00:01 | Message # 4
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (n3xt)
But could you be a little more specific where I have to place them ?

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
To install simply extract the archive (attached) to your SpaceEngine 0.97 directory and overwrite the existing files (backups of the original files are included).

You don't need to place any individual files anywhere. Follow the instructions I gave and it will install correctly.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Jabberwockxeno6109Date: Friday, 03.05.2013, 00:15 | Message # 5
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 85
Status: Offline
Can you do a comparsion image with the default ones, maybe with other sprite mods?
 
SolarisDate: Thursday, 06.06.2013, 03:51 | Message # 6
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
I was bothered by some repetitive dust shapes, so I've edited and added new textures to the atlas. These sprites are softer than the originals, most likely less detailed but i found them more natural, and it work great with nebulae cool
Click for full res


Comparison in M51 :


Rename the new texture as "sprites_gal" and put it in folder "texture/common" , overwrite the old texture.
Download
 
LiveLife42Date: Thursday, 06.06.2013, 04:01 | Message # 7
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 272
Status: Offline
Looks great Solaris happy




PC: Intel Core i7-3770K o/c 4.6 Ghz Quad Core, 16GB DDR3 o/c 1866 Mhz, EVGA GeForce 980Ti with 6GB VRAM
 
Crashman1390Date: Thursday, 06.06.2013, 22:05 | Message # 8
Explorer
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 229
Status: Offline
Nice work, Solaris!

P.S. I do not care what my ranking is, just as long I am trying to help. No one can change what I do.





[b]I was wrong, this forum still has a horrible community.[/b]

Edited by Crashman1390 - Thursday, 06.06.2013, 22:06
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 30.06.2013, 18:00 | Message # 9
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
A texture from Kviki's Nostalgic flare mod happens to work extremely well as a star_flare/star_part texture, so I've optimized it for this and uploaded it here. No screenshots, but take my word for it, it's the best one out there so far.

Just download to your /textures/common folder in your SE directory and overwrite if asked. Back up the original files first if desired.

AND of course the site didn't preserve the file name. So just put this one file into that folder, copy it, and rename them to star_flare and star_part.

Attachments: 4632706.png(8Kb)





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Sunday, 30.06.2013, 18:01
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 01.07.2013, 11:14 | Message # 10
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Yes, indeed. Maybe make a listbox in the graphics menu to change this texture?




 
neutronium76Date: Monday, 01.07.2013, 16:28 | Message # 11
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Solaris nice mod! However when I compared your two shots of M51, I somehow found the old texture more fitting probably because it has more dark parts than yours. But that's me... Anyway if it doesn't cause much frame rate impact I may use it with skybox turned off and see how it shows smile

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
So just put this one file into that folder, copy it, and rename them to star_flare and star_part


So you mean to dublicate this file and rename one to star_flare and the other to star_part ? unsure

Hubble-Style star flare & star part:

Attachments: Hubble-Style_St.zip(149Kb)





PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2


Edited by neutronium76 - Thursday, 18.07.2013, 19:17
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 01.07.2013, 16:57 | Message # 12
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (neutronium76)
So you mean to dublicate this file and rename one to star_flare and the other to star_part ?

Yes.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
n0b0dyDate: Sunday, 26.10.2014, 08:11 | Message # 13
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
Having beeing heavily influenced by others (mainly Destructor1701's latest work and Astroniki's work) I present my tweaks for a better looking SE sky. This is *NOT* my work - it is a culmination of various experimentations and tweaks based on work by Destructor1701, Astroniki and of course Space Engineer - ''I am walking on the shoulders of giants'' - Albert Einstein:
Right Click --> show image for full res:

And the required settings from grahpics menu and magnitude menu:


The purpose of this was an effort to give current SE 0971 stars and sky a sense of more deapth of field (more 3D look without using 3D monitor/technology) without using excessively high magnitude limit values which adversaly affect performance. It is NOT an attempt to make 0.971 look like upcoming 0.972.
All Credits go to Destructor1701, Astroniki and Space Engineer. I claim *NO* credit to myself.
The archive is included below.

Attachments: 2185831.png(81Kb) · 1210289.png(37Kb) · StarfieldTweaks.rar(505Kb)


Edited by n0b0dy - Sunday, 26.10.2014, 08:22
 
Destructor1701Date: Sunday, 26.10.2014, 17:32 | Message # 14
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
Nice job! I hadn't realised this thread existed - thanks for the link through smile




 
DanLegereDate: Saturday, 15.11.2014, 12:57 | Message # 15
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
Been playing around with these all night. This has got me thinking, it would nice to be able to put a bunch of these in the folder with custom names for each, and then have drop down menus in the graphics menu so we can select which ones to within SE.

For example, have multiple star_flare_name, star_part_name in the textures>common folder, and have the drop down menus to select which one to use in game.

Beats replacing them and restarting SE every time. Sometimes I'd like to use more visually realistic ones like the default, and sometimes I'd like to use photo realistic ones like the hubble flare.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Sprite Mods (Post any sprite modifications you make)
Page 1 of 212»
Search: