Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » [WIP]Kerbol System for Space Engine (State: having some problems)
[WIP]Kerbol System for Space Engine
SolarLinerDate: Saturday, 23.03.2013, 22:55 | Message # 1
Explorer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 267
Status: Offline
Hi !
I am making for Space Engine the Kerbol System of Kerbal Space Program.


The (new) problem is there is a sort of "square" around Kerbin when viewed from far, and as we approach, it looks even more strange:
Far


Close:


Enjoy and happy discovers !
Follow the thread in the KSP forum: http://forum.kerbalspaceprogram.com/showthr....-Engine





custom landing page to share: http://bit.ly/spaceengine

Edited by SolarLiner - Monday, 25.03.2013, 19:32
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 23.03.2013, 22:57 | Message # 2
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
I was also working on adding the Kerbol system a long time ago, but I ran into a bunch of problems with never being able to get all the parameters to work properly, so I gave up sad




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SolarLinerDate: Saturday, 23.03.2013, 23:03 | Message # 3
Explorer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 267
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
I was also working on adding the Kerbol system a long time ago

How far did you go ?

Quote (HarbingerDawn)
I ran into a bunch of problems with never being able to get all the parameters to work properly, so I gave up

But this one is more than strange. Tried with the built-in editor, and playing with the "period" cursor didn't change the speed at all. Tried with orbiting the barycenter, same issue. What if I comment all the atmosphere section ?





custom landing page to share: http://bit.ly/spaceengine
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 23.03.2013, 23:06 | Message # 4
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (SolarLiner)
How far did you go ?

Added Kerbol (and barycenter) and Kerbin. Quit after I couldn't get that working properly (usually it was problems with the properties of Kerbol).

As for your problems, I'll try messing around with it in a bit and see what I can discover.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SolarLinerDate: Sunday, 24.03.2013, 17:24 | Message # 5
Explorer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 267
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
I'll try messing around with it in a bit and see what I can discover.

Thanks.

I added Duna, everything was fine, until I add the Atmosphere data and let Space Engine generate clouds. It seems that these are the problem.

Added (24.03.2013, 20:24)
---------------------------------------------
Found the bug !
Apprarently in the Orbit section, ArgOfPericenter, AscNodePreces and ArgOfPeriPreces makes SE going crazy, al least in my case. Commented in and everything is fine again.




custom landing page to share: http://bit.ly/spaceengine
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 24.03.2013, 18:22 | Message # 6
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Well there's not really any need for the precession parameters since those are non-existent for the KSP worlds as far as I know. So naturally you should omit those. The only one that you really should have from those is LongOfPericen since getting the orbit oriented correctly is very important.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DisasterpieceDate: Sunday, 24.03.2013, 21:53 | Message # 7
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 640
Status: Offline
Can't wait.




I play teh spase engien
 
NovaSiliskoDate: Sunday, 24.03.2013, 22:13 | Message # 8
Explorer
Group: SE team
United States
Messages: 288
Status: Offline
I attempted doing this a while ago, but I don't think I have the files anymore sadly.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 25.03.2013, 12:13 | Message # 9
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
If I remember correctly, Kerbin is just 600 km in diameter. It can't be a terra with atmosphere and water, it even smaller than Ceres. You couldn't make it in SE, because it is unrealistic, and engine will change some parameters at its discretion. Only if you multiple all sizes by 20...




 
Billy_MayesDate: Monday, 25.03.2013, 13:02 | Message # 10
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Only if you multiple all sizes by 20...

I think thats what he is doing.





AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen
 
SolarLinerDate: Monday, 25.03.2013, 18:16 | Message # 11
Explorer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 267
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
You couldn't make it in SE, because it is unrealistic, and engine will change some parameters at its discretion. Only if you multiple all sizes by 20...

Everything is fine now, the only thing is that I have to put the exposure like 0.2 and the albedo extremly high (like 0.95) to have the right illuminations and temperatures Engine don't seem to change anything.

Now other problem: I wan to make Jool green, but I don't know witch is witch in a Color4 (float, float, float, float) to have it set up properly.





custom landing page to share: http://bit.ly/spaceengine
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 25.03.2013, 18:20 | Message # 12
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (SolarLiner)
I wan to make Jool green

Give it a green atmosphere, that will take care of most of it, especially if you have the updated gas giant shaders. I used to know which colors controlled the clouds but I forgot. You might be able to find a colorful gas giant, export its script, and see which colors go with which parameters.

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
You couldn't make it in SE, because it is unrealistic, and engine will change some parameters at its discretion.

Yes you can, I made Kerbin before with its actual parameters and SE didn't change anything...





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SolarLinerDate: Thursday, 25.04.2013, 11:36 | Message # 13
Explorer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 267
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
You might be able to find a colorful gas giant, export its script, and see which colors go with which parameters.

Hunting started ! loony

Added a simple top view of the system.

Added (25.03.2013, 22:26)
---------------------------------------------
And another bug for Kerbin. I'll beat Space Engine ! angry tongue

Added (25.04.2013, 14:36)
---------------------------------------------
News: Kerbin is even better now. It does not reflect ANY light. I mean, you have Kerbol behind you, Kerbin in front, and you see a disk eclipsing the distant stars. RAH ! I think I'm gonna do what SpaceEngineer said: Scale everything by 20.




custom landing page to share: http://bit.ly/spaceengine
 
Gondor2222Date: Wednesday, 10.07.2013, 22:12 | Message # 14
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 92
Status: Offline
During the downtime I got bored and made my own version of the system.

There are notable changes from KSP's system:
1: All surfaces are procedurally generated except for Jool, which uses a recolored and smudged texture of Saturn's surface.
2: The dwarf moons Gilly, Bop, and Pol are now full asteroids, with high oblateness and heavily cratered surfaces.
3: Other bodies are also slightly oblate, usually as oblate as their solar-system analogues.
4: All radii have been multiplied by two. In the original KSP system, both the masses and radii are extremely small, but radii are awkwardly small for the bodies' masses, giving densities like 58.484791 g/cm^3 for Kerbin, or 5x the density of lead. Multiplying radii by two gives a new (1/8) density of about 7.310598875 g/cm^3 for Kerbin, or only 1.3x the density of the Earth.
5: Kerbol is procedurally generated as a K5V star, as its radius in KSP is consistent with a mid MV, its temperature consistent with a KV, its luminosity consistent with a late MV and its mass consistent with a sub-brown dwarf. Allowing SE to procedurally generate its properties allowed me to create a more realistic Kerbol.
6: Since Kerbol is now several times more luminous, all semimajor axes, including those of the moons and dwarf moons, have been multiplied by 5.4x.
7: Most of the planets now have a non-zero axial tilt consistent with either their climate (ice caps on Kerbin and Duna) or in the case of a lack of climate tend to resemble the magnitude of the axial tilt of their solar system analogues. Duna and Ike share an axial tilt and orbit around a common barycenter at an inclination of 25 degrees, while the barycenter itself orbits with the inclination of Duna's orbit in KSP.
8: Despite KSP giving a visual temperature of Kerbol of about 4800K, the planets have noticeable chemical features (e.g. water, water ice) that remain at the color they would under the light of a mid GV star. In this addon, Kerbol's planets now appear to be bathed in a faint orange light compared to Earth lighting conditions.

I have taken creative liberty in the following areas from not-quite-canon aspects of KSP:
1: Eve's atmosphere is composed mainly of Methane, Ethane, and Propane, giving an anti-greenhouse effect of -50K, similar to how Titan's surface is about -10K cooler due to hydrocarbon haze, because the developers once joked that Eve's large lakes were composed of rocket fuel. The lakes themselves are probably made primarily of propane and butane.
2: I have upped Laythe's greenhouse effect significantly due to developer plans that Laythe will be in a particularly strong area of Jool's radiation belt, increasing its temperature, as well as their plans that Laythe will be highly volcanic. Interestingly enough, Laythe's large oceans probably provide continual replenishment of Laythe's atmosphere via the decomposition of water vapor into O2 and H2. Most of the H2 would escape Laythe, leaving Laythe with an atmosphere composed almost entirely of O2.
3: Eeloo has cracks like its KSP base, but the cracks are only a few tens of meters deep and are not enough to expose the rock under its thick ice sheet. I was unable to find a way to allow these cracks to expose the rock, as reducing the ice sheet thickness didn't work and increasing crack magnitude led to crack ridges about 10x more elevated than the surrounding ice.

Attachments: kerboladdon.zip(4Kb)


Edited by Gondor2222 - Wednesday, 10.07.2013, 22:17
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » [WIP]Kerbol System for Space Engine (State: having some problems)
Page 1 of 11
Search: