Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 9 of 15«1278910111415»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Space Engine ship editor (Prototype spacecraft builder/editor for SE)
Space Engine ship editor
ExognosisDate: Friday, 28.03.2014, 18:58 | Message # 121
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Portugal
Messages: 39
Status: Offline
Shouldn't it be available in the Build menu?

The one time it worked was when the ship was invisible and had all its measurements at 0. I deleted it to see if it would fix it. But then it never got to appear in the Build menu. I've loaded the game with and without the .sss file in the spacecrafts folder, nothing.





http://exognosis.tumblr.com - Space travel logs by Captain Mirowe aboard the S. E. Exognosis.
 
PreliatorDate: Saturday, 17.05.2014, 17:45 | Message # 122
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 20
Status: Offline
Very beautiful! I am going to try something biggrin

Edit: here one (my first not finished) biggrin

Added (17.05.2014, 20:45)
---------------------------------------------
Im sorry for my last post. I have not seen in time the showcase topic of our work.

I have a problem importing one of my ship created with the editor. I downloaded the lazy version tongue and following the instruction but I can't go forward because I can't do some things.

1) I have 3 button for export my work: A- export spacecraft to SE ".sss"; B- export spacecraft to SE as a single model ".sm"; C- export spacecraft to Third-Party editor ".obj"; I choose C, the last one.
2) Put the file .obj in the install folder "C:\Games\SpaceEngine 0.971\models\spacecrafts\"
3) Now the problem. You say to insert the script into spacecrafts.sc but I haven't this file (searched in any folder but nothing) so I tried to create one but still nothing.

Where am I wrong?

Attachments: 7066641.jpg(244Kb)





Asus P7P55D, I7-860, Corsair 8Gb ram (4x2Gb), 2x WD 500Gb + Barracuda 1,5Tb, old but gold Radeon HD5870, Thermaltake 750w modular, Windows 7 64bit, Motu Audio Express, Asus 24" @1080p + LG 17", Logitech Z4 + G110 + G500, Sennheiser HD-25 II

Edited by Preliator - Friday, 16.05.2014, 18:31
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 17.05.2014, 21:54 | Message # 123
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote Preliator ()
I choose C, the last one.

Don't choose that if you're importing into SE, only use it for porting to external software, like the description says. For porting to SE you should either just export the .sss file, or you should export the .sm file (the .sm gives better performance at the cost of increased memory usage). Only the .sss file can be used by SE immediately. If you choose the .sm, you need to create a .sss file and .cfg file for your spacecraft as described in the spacecraft mod tutorial. The specific contents of the .cfg file you need to have were posted by SHW: https://www.googledrive.com/host....ult.cfg





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
BetelgeuzeDate: Monday, 19.05.2014, 07:08 | Message # 124
Space Pilot
Group: Banned
Belgium
Messages: 118
Status: Offline
Nice!!! I making rocket ships! form KSP or earth!
 
fancymoviesDate: Saturday, 14.06.2014, 15:41 | Message # 125
Observer
Group: Newbies
Austria
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Hope, this is the right thread for that:
I´m unable to open any downloaded sm-file.
Why?

If I try, I only get this: "Cannot parse file: Syntax Error: Unexpected token S

The generic .json are openable, but...

I can export any object out of the editor, but I get only the .obj without textures or similar.
Are they not ported at all, or..?

Thanx!
 
SHWDate: Monday, 16.06.2014, 07:20 | Message # 126
Astronaut
Group: SE team
Pirate
Messages: 76
Status: Offline
Quote fancymovies ()
I´m unable to open any downloaded sm-file. Why?

Because .sm - is just a raw model. .json is like a spacecraft scheme, how to build it from existing components. So, you cannot load .sm in editor.
Quote fancymovies ()
I can export any object out of the editor, but I get only the .obj without textures or similar. Are they not ported at all, or..?

All texures are in SE already: <SE path>/textures/spacecrafts/modules/
You can get them and assign manually in any third-party 3D editor.





Your mind is software. Program it.
Your body is a shell. Change it.
Death is a disease. Cure it.
 
SHWDate: Tuesday, 24.06.2014, 08:28 | Message # 127
Astronaut
Group: SE team
Pirate
Messages: 76
Status: Offline
Added ring-shaped Hyper-drive to the editor, like in NASA concept:

and in "Star Trek":

It is available in 6 sizes:

Smallest spacecraft with hyperdrive now could look something like this:

To make model available in SE, you need to download archive and unpack it into the SE root folder.
Also, fixed problem with placing different modules into the same coordinates.





Your mind is software. Program it.
Your body is a shell. Change it.
Death is a disease. Cure it.


Edited by SHW - Tuesday, 24.06.2014, 08:30
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Tuesday, 24.06.2014, 17:03 | Message # 128
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
I did some editing to the meshes on the different rings, so far only the first 3 work correctly due to size.

If you want realistic rings they should be more like this


The largest ring with these edits is massive







Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SHWDate: Thursday, 26.06.2014, 17:02 | Message # 129
Astronaut
Group: SE team
Pirate
Messages: 76
Status: Offline
Thanks for explanation, why it should be thick. I think, that thin ring looks better, but I'll try to make thick version too.




Your mind is software. Program it.
Your body is a shell. Change it.
Death is a disease. Cure it.
 
FaceDeerDate: Friday, 27.06.2014, 03:36 | Message # 130
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 117
Status: Offline
Ooh, spiffy. I'd always thought that the triple-axis ring thing probably wasn't what a hyperdrive would "really" look like, neat to see continuing steps toward realism. smile I can imagine those utterly gigantic rings being used by some sort of "carrier" starship that smaller planetships could dock inside and ride from system to system.

Do I need to add any new files to Space Engine's addon folder to support these new parts? A quick test ship I whipped up crashed the game when I tried spawning it, but it's been long enough since I've fiddled with adding ships that I could easily have overlooked a needed step somewhere along the line.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 27.06.2014, 03:56 | Message # 131
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote FaceDeer ()
Do I need to add any new files to Space Engine's addon folder to support these new parts?

Just the ones that he linked in his post.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
FaceDeerDate: Friday, 27.06.2014, 04:36 | Message # 132
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 117
Status: Offline
Oh, bah. Too distracted by pretty pictures to read the last line of the post. smile

Having done a bit more cobbling with these parts now it occurs to me that it might be very useful to add some additional curved one-sided radiator arrays with curvatures designed to fit around the outside of these rings. Since they're guaranteed to be the "outermost" part of the ship their outer surfaces would make for ideal heat-dumping regions.
 
SHWDate: Saturday, 28.06.2014, 10:39 | Message # 133
Astronaut
Group: SE team
Pirate
Messages: 76
Status: Offline
Quote FaceDeer ()
Since they're guaranteed to be the "outermost" part of the ship

I think, rings must be "outhermost" part of the ship to make hyperdrive workable.





Your mind is software. Program it.
Your body is a shell. Change it.
Death is a disease. Cure it.
 
werdnaforeverDate: Saturday, 28.06.2014, 10:44 | Message # 134
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 897
Status: Offline
Quote SHW ()
Added ring-shaped Hyper-drive to the editor, like in NASA concept:

These are amazing. AMAZING cool
I've already made a ship

Added (28.06.2014, 09:44)
---------------------------------------------
What about the CFG files?

 
RockoRocksDate: Saturday, 28.06.2014, 10:50 | Message # 135
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 673
Status: Offline
Quote werdnaforever ()
What about the CFG files?

They are included in the archive download provided by SHW:
here





I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Space Engine ship editor (Prototype spacecraft builder/editor for SE)
Page 9 of 15«1278910111415»
Search: