Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 10 of 15«12891011121415»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Space Engine ship editor (Prototype spacecraft builder/editor for SE)
Space Engine ship editor
werdnaforeverDate: Wednesday, 02.07.2014, 04:52 | Message # 136
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 897
Status: Offline
I took a new copy of SE, added the textures to the textures/spacecrafts folder, and added files from the new archive. I then exported .sss copies of the ships from the web version into the models/spacecraft folder. SE crashes when I build one of the ships, and to launch it again I have to remove said ships from spacecrafts.cfg. The log just ends with:

Saving script "config/spacecrafts.cfg"

What am I doing incorrectly?
 
SHWDate: Wednesday, 02.07.2014, 18:49 | Message # 137
Astronaut
Group: SE team
Pirate
Messages: 76
Status: Offline
Sounds strange. Have you extracted files from archive into root SE folder?
Could you please attach resulted .sss and original .json?





Your mind is software. Program it.
Your body is a shell. Change it.
Death is a disease. Cure it.
 
werdnaforeverDate: Wednesday, 02.07.2014, 21:11 | Message # 138
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 897
Status: Offline
Quote SHW ()
Sounds strange. Have you extracted files from archive into root SE folder?

Yes
Quote SHW ()
Could you please attach resulted .sss and original .json?

.json:
http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/17-1302-41698-16-1404224231

.sss
https://drive.google.com/file....sharing
https://drive.google.com/file....sharing


Edited by werdnaforever - Wednesday, 02.07.2014, 21:13
 
SHWDate: Thursday, 03.07.2014, 17:42 | Message # 139
Astronaut
Group: SE team
Pirate
Messages: 76
Status: Offline
Ok, found problem. SE does not support scientific notation in matrix, so parser fails.
I've made quick fix for web-version, so you can reexport your ships using it (other versions I'll update this weekend).
But for such big ships it is better to use export to .sm, becuase in this case FPS will be better.
Also, it is possible to fix existing .sss in any text editor, that supports regular expression.
Just replace following:
\d\.\d*e-\d*
with 0





Your mind is software. Program it.
Your body is a shell. Change it.
Death is a disease. Cure it.


Edited by SHW - Thursday, 03.07.2014, 17:54
 
n0b0dyDate: Friday, 04.07.2014, 07:22 | Message # 140
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
I new here, so where to download this ship editor and how to use it? Sorry for stupid question.
 
SHWDate: Friday, 04.07.2014, 16:09 | Message # 141
Astronaut
Group: SE team
Pirate
Messages: 76
Status: Offline
Just read first message in this thread.




Your mind is software. Program it.
Your body is a shell. Change it.
Death is a disease. Cure it.
 
werdnaforeverDate: Friday, 04.07.2014, 20:17 | Message # 142
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 897
Status: Offline
Ships are working now!
 
SHWDate: Saturday, 05.07.2014, 18:30 | Message # 143
Astronaut
Group: SE team
Pirate
Messages: 76
Status: Offline
Updated editor (don't forget to download update archive for SE).
- Added thick rings, proposed by DoctorOfSpace:


- Added setting for shield destorsion to get conic shields:


- Fixed export bug, found by werdnaforever.
- Changed main axis color.





Your mind is software. Program it.
Your body is a shell. Change it.
Death is a disease. Cure it.
 
RockoRocksDate: Saturday, 05.07.2014, 20:10 | Message # 144
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 673
Status: Offline
I have a question about the editor. How does the secondary mainframe work? Nothing shows up when I select it. How do I connect mainframes without stacking them on each other, like sideways or something?

Nevermind, I have just found it out myself.





I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM


Edited by RockoRocks - Saturday, 05.07.2014, 20:11
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Saturday, 05.07.2014, 23:31 | Message # 145
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
I like what you did with the textures on the large rings, looks really good.




One issue I keep having with the latest editor is it crashes on launch a lot
Quote
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: nw.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 52b392c3
Fault Module Name: nw.exe
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 52b392c3
Exception Code: 80000003
Exception Offset: 00333160
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SHWDate: Sunday, 06.07.2014, 08:36 | Message # 146
Astronaut
Group: SE team
Pirate
Messages: 76
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
One issue I keep having with the latest editor is it crashes on launch a lot

Web-version does not crash. Probably it is a problem with node-webkit. Try to download latest version from official site. Also, on my work PC there was a problem with missed d3dcompiler_43.dll, so I've added it into distribution. Try to delete it from editor folder.

BTW, code for web-version and downloadable version is absolutely the same.





Your mind is software. Program it.
Your body is a shell. Change it.
Death is a disease. Cure it.


Edited by SHW - Sunday, 06.07.2014, 08:40
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 11.08.2014, 13:57 | Message # 147
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Quote SHW ()
on my work PC there was a problem with missed d3dcompiler_43.dll, so I've added it into distribution. Try to delete it from editor folder.


Deleting that file fixed the crashing on launch.




Did a couple custom parts as a test for adding more in the future. If anyone wants the files they are all attached to this post.

index.html goes in the default editor folder

modules.js goes in editor\js

Both obj files go in editor\models
linear_nf_engine_reverse.obj
RoundFrame.obj

Backup your original files before overwriting

Should look like this when in the editor

Attachments: index.html(28Kb) · linear_nf_engin.obj(184Kb) · RoundFrame.obj(18Kb) · modules.js(16Kb)





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SHWDate: Monday, 11.08.2014, 16:42 | Message # 148
Astronaut
Group: SE team
Pirate
Messages: 76
Status: Offline
Cool. Actually, it is quite painful to add new items into editor.
I hope it will be more easily in future releases.





Your mind is software. Program it.
Your body is a shell. Change it.
Death is a disease. Cure it.
 
werdnaforeverDate: Tuesday, 12.08.2014, 01:34 | Message # 149
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 897
Status: Offline
The toridial habitat module ought to be made larger or with more apparent shielding. Having a million little windows like that might pose more risk then necessary when your ship has all sorts of radioactive engines or hyperdrives filled with exotic matter.

I think there should be some more options for habitable areas. Smaller zero-G modules or larger (and more heavily shielded) habitable rings are good places to start.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 12.08.2014, 02:16 | Message # 150
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote werdnaforever ()
radioactive engines

Just put your propellent tanks between the two.

Quote werdnaforever ()
hyperdrives filled with exotic matter.

I don't think any reasonable amount of shielding will matter in that case.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Space Engine ship editor (Prototype spacecraft builder/editor for SE)
Page 10 of 15«12891011121415»
Search: