RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Modding of nebulae and planetary terrain
Modding of nebulae and planetary terrain
RodrigoDate: Wednesday, 17.08.2011, 14:18 | Message # 1
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
Brazil
Messages: 285
Status: Online
Hey guys. I´ve been playing around with nebula models, and I think i´ve found some pretty good configurations for planetary and supernova renmants. I wasn´t satisfied with the old models, as they were all similar (round). I learned that planetary nebula can be perfectly round (therefore its name), but most of them aren´t. Supernova remnants are pretty much irregular. So I used irregular nebula model for them. These are the results:

Planetary:

Plan0


Plan1 (unchanged)


Plan2


Supernova remnants

SNR0


SNR1


SNR2


I also changed universe.cfg so there could be more irregular and supernova remnant nebulas (there were too much planetary ones, i guess).

here are the files, if you want to check´em out (remember to backup!)
models.cgf go to \data\models\nebulae folder
universe.cfg go to \config folder

Before using them, delete all Cache files

Good exploration!

Attachments: Models.cfg(14Kb) · universe.cfg(4Kb)


Edited by Rodrigo - Wednesday, 17.08.2011, 16:48
 
RodrigoDate: Wednesday, 17.08.2011, 16:30 | Message # 2
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
Brazil
Messages: 285
Status: Online
I Also changed procedural generation of mountains in desert and terra planets. Now the whole planet have irregular terrain, with a few plains. Check it out!

The file goes to data\shaders folder. Remember to backup!

Attachments: tg_common.glsl(36Kb)


Edited by Rodrigo - Thursday, 18.08.2011, 16:44
 
DukeDate: Wednesday, 17.08.2011, 17:14 | Message # 3
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
Antarctica
Messages: 88
Status: Offline
Can you reupload pictures?
 
RodrigoDate: Wednesday, 17.08.2011, 17:31 | Message # 4
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
Brazil
Messages: 285
Status: Online
What do you mean? can´t you see them?
 
DukeDate: Wednesday, 17.08.2011, 17:37 | Message # 5
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
Antarctica
Messages: 88
Status: Offline
It wrote "Domain Unregistered. To view, register at: bit.ly/imageshack-domain".

Edited by Duke - Wednesday, 17.08.2011, 17:38
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 18.08.2011, 06:26 | Message # 6
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Rodrigo, Nice! Can you show planet screen-shots and make comments in the tg_common.glsl at where you made your changes?

In a future release, I will implement full procedural generation for nebulae, so every nebula will be unique.

*





 
RobbieDate: Thursday, 18.08.2011, 07:27 | Message # 7
Pioneer
Group: Global Moderators
United Kingdom
Messages: 590
Status: Offline
Very good Rodrigo,

I'll try out all your stuff in the engine later.

I would also like to see a -before and after- picture comparison on the procedural planets, it would be nice to see what those difference look like.





Quad Core i7 930 CPU o/c 3.8 GHz - 6GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM - ATI HD 5870 1024Mb - Intel SSD X25-M Gen 2 - Win 7 64-bit
Add Your PC Spec To Your Signature Or Post It Here
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 18.08.2011, 10:05 | Message # 8
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4799
Status: Offline
Make two screenshots from the same viewpoint - with modified and unmodified shader. Then we can use them in an old astronomy device called a "blink-comparator" - for fast switching between two images in a graphics viewer.

Note, that you can recompile shaders and reload planet directly while running the engine, without restarting it - just select the planet and press Ctrl+F5 (ensure you're in debug or edit mode first).

*





 
RodrigoDate: Thursday, 18.08.2011, 17:12 | Message # 9
Explorer
Group: Local Moderators
Brazil
Messages: 285
Status: Online
I changed this value

// Get mountain landscape
noiseOctaves = 3;
float cell = Cell2Noise(point * 2.0 + 0.2 * fBmVec3(point*5.12));
float montes = 1.0 <----------------------------------------

The file above was changed to 1.2. There were some minor changes in other values but I guess only this one matters.

Now i find that 1.2 maybe i too much.... i use now 1.13. I changed the file above to this value now.

1.0


1.1


1.13


1.2


Vova, do you plan to include other features like canyons on next version? I think rivers, canyons and valleys could be implemented using a "reverse" mountain effect . In fact i tried to include a negative value to height of mountains to see if thi would work, but engine stops working...
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Modding of nebulae and planetary terrain
Page 1 of 11
Search: