Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 212»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » HD Mass Effect flare for Auto-Exposure
HD Mass Effect flare for Auto-Exposure
anonymousgamerDate: Thursday, 20.09.2012, 03:14 | Message # 1
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Introducing, another lens flare, so original!

So, yeah. I made this lens flare from scratch. Details follow:

FEATURES

Custom flares and flare ghosts!
Slightly stylized on Mass Effect!
HD Ghosts for no more pixelatedness!
No more on screen dust!
No more pixelated rainbows!
Blue, blue everywhere!
Also, red with red and orange stars!
Designed for Auto Exposure, so the flares actually look good in it!
Somewhat still looks good without Auto Exposure!
Not as annoyingly flashy as my last flare!
Simple installation!
Other stuff, OMG!

SCREENSHOTS MAAAN













AND FOR THOSE OF YOU WONDERING WHAT IT LOOKS LIKE WITH EXPOSURE OFF



INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS, FOLLOW THEM!

Unzip the SpaceEngine 0.96.zip file (in the attachments section), then open it, and copy the Data file from here to your main SpaceEngine directory. If it asks to overwrite/merge, say yes. Then, enjoy!

FOOTNOTES

Screenshots taken with bloom at 0.8, and Diffraction Spikes at Normal.
None of the screenshots taken in an atmosphere because my atmosphere shaders are broken because of my editing failure.

Attachments: 6654497.jpg(63Kb) · 1831020.jpg(98Kb) · 4126982.jpg(62Kb) · 8021595.jpg(42Kb) · 0929404.jpg(100Kb) · 0529579.jpg(74Kb) · 8778206.jpg(208Kb) · SpaceEngine_0.9.zip(252Kb)





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen


Edited by anonymousgamer - Friday, 21.09.2012, 01:37
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 20.09.2012, 03:38 | Message # 2
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
anonymousgamer, I just installed the flare, and I must say that it is simply brilliant, the HD ghosts are just what the doctor ordered. I think it looks at least as good with auto-exposure off as it does with it on. Outstanding job, easily the best flare yet made for SE (no offense to the creators of all the other great flares out there!), this one will set the bar for other mod developers to shoot for in the future.

Great work man.

EDIT: I would also like to add that you did a very good job in giving it a Mass Effect feel. Very convincing, while still maintaining its own separate identity. Again, very nice work.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Thursday, 20.09.2012, 03:51
 
n3xtDate: Thursday, 20.09.2012, 11:52 | Message # 3
Explorer
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 184
Status: Offline
Simply amaaazing <3

But where do I download this? surprised

You've explained how to install it though but I don't see any download adds... o.O?

But it looks veeery nice :DDD

Oh nevermind got it xD

Oh wait I got it so far but what about my main Space Engine directory? Is that just my Space Engine 0.9.2. ENG file?

Sorry I ask this but I want to make sure it works properly without annihiliating my SE xD

Can't waaaiit crazy yahoo

Yaay I got it! Thanks HarbingerDawn ^^


Edited by n3xt - Thursday, 20.09.2012, 14:01
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 20.09.2012, 13:26 | Message # 4
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
n3xt, he gives download instructions in his post, just pay attention to those and you'll be fine. It installs just like every other lens flare mod he's ever released. Even if you can't figure out the instructions, just look at the logic by which the archive is structured and it should be clear where everything goes.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SalvoDate: Thursday, 20.09.2012, 15:22 | Message # 5
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
I edited lens flares, to make it like mass effect smile




Attachments: 3125168.png(12Kb) · lens_flare.cfg(5Kb) · 9973713.jpg(96Kb)





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Thursday, 20.09.2012, 15:24
 
anonymousgamerDate: Thursday, 20.09.2012, 16:25 | Message # 6
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Quote (Salvo)
I edited lens flares, to make it like mass effect


The reason I didn't do this before is because the way I cheated with the ghosts to make it work with Auto Exposure and to make it look better. Also, it would mean I would have to sacrifice one of the other ghosts to add that effect. If you want, you can send me your texture files, and I could remove the rainbow artifact and combine your texture with my mod, so it looks like the screenshots I posted with your special texture, and release it as a variant that also has the vertical ovals seen in your screenshot of Mass Effect. Basically, a true Mass Effect flare.





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen


Edited by anonymousgamer - Thursday, 20.09.2012, 16:30
 
SalvoDate: Thursday, 20.09.2012, 19:29 | Message # 7
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
anonymousgamer that's a good idea! The texture is into attachments biggrin
Mass Effect is a great game anyway smile





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
anonymousgamerDate: Thursday, 20.09.2012, 22:26 | Message # 8
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
How about that for perfect replica?


Attachments: 1784765.jpg(61Kb)





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen


Edited by anonymousgamer - Friday, 21.09.2012, 00:20
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 20.09.2012, 22:57 | Message # 9
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (anonymousgamer)
How about that for perfect replica?

Perfect replica is perfect smile





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
n3xtDate: Friday, 21.09.2012, 09:26 | Message # 10
Explorer
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 184
Status: Offline
Amazing flare anonymousgamer!

But I have one thing I would like to see.

If you could lighten the appearing light of the stars?

They look a little to deeply colorful (mainly late A to early/late K).

Your old lens flares for example a K0 V star looked slightly yellowish-orange in space while practically yellowish-white down on a blue atmospheric planet (both thin and thick atmospheres).

Anyway it is said the Sun does appear as a white star in space. Would just like to see the real colors like your old flares.

But... it's really a great flare now and I totally enjoy it! Thank you biggrin
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 21.09.2012, 12:50 | Message # 11
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (n3xt)
Anyway it is said the Sun does appear as a white star in space. Would just like to see the real colors like your old flares.

The Sun does not appear white in SpaceEngine so it obviously won't appear white with anonymousgamer's lens flare. Anyway, try reducing bloom to a lower value (like 0.300), that might help with the appearance of the flare color.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
n3xtDate: Friday, 21.09.2012, 15:05 | Message # 12
Explorer
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 184
Status: Offline
(HarbingerDawn)
Quote
The Sun does not appear white in SpaceEngine so it obviously won't appear white with anonymousgamer's lens flare. Anyway, try reducing bloom to a lower value (like 0.300), that might help with the appearance of the flare color.


Indeed it doesn't and I know that but in reality it does and that would be awesome with the horizontal bluish flares :DDD

And you're right about the bloom, I already mess with that like half a year ago or more.

Anyway I usually turn on real Sun brightness and max bloom for late K and M-type stars.

Then bloom on 0.4 - 0.8 for F and G-type stars.

Then real Sun brightness off and bloom back on max for O and B-type stars. biggrin

And A-type stars are always a bit confusing. It just depends on their distances and/or their early or late spectral type class.


Edited by n3xt - Friday, 21.09.2012, 15:18
 
anonymousgamerDate: Friday, 21.09.2012, 16:20 | Message # 13
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
n3xt, find any image editing program, open the 2 lens flare files in it, and then turn the saturation all the way down. That will effectively make the image black and white and then only the color of the star will affect the flare color.

Also my atmospheric shaders are broken due to stupid tinkering so I don't know what it looks like in an atmosphere.





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen


Edited by anonymousgamer - Friday, 21.09.2012, 16:23
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 21.09.2012, 16:38 | Message # 14
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (anonymousgamer)
Also my atmospheric shaders are broken due to stupid tinkering so I don't know what it looks like in an atmosphere.

It looks great. Also, can't you just extract the shaders from a fresh download, overwrite your current ones, and delete the cache folder?





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
anonymousgamerDate: Friday, 21.09.2012, 18:42 | Message # 15
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Also, can't you just extract the shaders from a fresh download, overwrite your current ones, and delete the cache folder?


I'm not sure if the files have been updated in 0.96.2. I have the zip for 0.96, so if they haven't changed in the updated I'll just take those files, reinstall those files, and post some screenies inside an atmosphere.





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » HD Mass Effect flare for Auto-Exposure
Page 1 of 212»
Search: