Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Pluto/Charon Realistic Surface (Code to give realistic surfaces to Pluto and Charon)
Pluto/Charon Realistic Surface
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 09.09.2012, 23:10 | Message # 1
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
A while ago I took some time to match the colors of Pluto and Charon to the best current data about their appearance, as well as modifying the landscape of Pluto to better match the distribution of color/albedo features.



To install, simply open data/catalogs/planets/SolarSys.sc and overwrite the Surface tags for Pluto and Charon with the code below.

Pluto:
Code
    Surface
      {
       SpecularBright  0.1
       SpecularPower   9.5
       Lommel          1.0    // Lommel-Seeliger lighting model
       Exposure        1.5
       Style           0.6122373
       Randomize      (-0.975, -0.469, 0.967)
       colorDistMagn   0.07666663
       colorDistFreq   807.6773
       detailScale     8323.023
       colorConversion true
       drivenDarkening 0
       seaLevel        0.0952381
       snowLevel       1
       tropicLatitude  0.2946567
       icecapLatitude  0.5
       icecapHeight    0.2587016
       climatePole     1
       climateTropic   0.45
       climateEquator  0.4920635
       tropicWidth     0.07
       mainFreq        1.786819
       venusFreq       0.7731556
       venusMagn       0.1729524
       mareFreq        1.658892
       mareDensity     0.1478563
       erosion         0
       montesMagn      0.2505975
       montesFreq      348.1832
       montesFraction  -0.2432566
       dunesMagn       0.05156329
       dunesFreq       495.2216
       dunesFraction   0.3430972
       hillsMagn       0.3412699
       hillsFreq       2240.288
       hillsFraction   -0.05738285
       hills2Fraction  0.08512431
       canyonsMagn     0.03487753
       canyonsFreq     146.1789
       canyonFraction  0.006010503
       craterMagn      0.5579504
       craterFreq      16.72254
       craterDensity   0.8014918
       craterOctaves   10
       craterRayedFactor 0.3151519
       colorSea       (0.129, 0.118, 0.118, 0.500)
       colorShelf     (0.510, 0.490, 0.455, 0.500)
       colorBeach     (0.560, 0.416, 0.294, 0.200)
       colorDesert    (0.741, 0.565, 0.180, 1.000)
       colorLowland   (0.510, 0.490, 0.455, 1.000)
       colorUpland    (0.741, 0.565, 0.180, 1.000)
       colorRock      (0.663, 0.631, 0.569, 1.000)
       colorSnow      (1.000, 1.000, 1.000, 1.000)
       colorLowPlants (0.510, 0.490, 0.455, 1.000)
       colorUpPlants  (0.741, 0.565, 0.180, 1.000)
       BumpHeight      11.00
       BumpOffset      4
       DiffMapAlpha   "Ice"
       SpecularBright  0.1
       SpecularPower   9.5
       DayAmbient      0.07
       Lommel          1
       Exposure        1.5
      }



Charon:
Code
    Surface
      {
       SpecularBright  0.1
       SpecularPower   9.5
       Lommel          1.0    // Lommel-Seeliger lighting model
       Exposure        1.5
       colorSea       (0.255, 0.157, 0.141, 0.500)
       colorShelf     (0.263, 0.231, 0.216, 0.500)
       colorBeach     (0.263, 0.231, 0.216, 0.200)
       colorDesert    (0.631, 0.435, 0.376, 1.000)
       colorLowland   (0.443, 0.341, 0.306, 1.000)
       colorUpland    (0.843, 0.690, 0.647, 1.000)
       colorRock      (0.663, 0.631, 0.569, 1.000)
       colorSnow      (1.000, 1.000, 1.000, 1.000)
       colorLowPlants (0.443, 0.341, 0.306, 1.000)
       colorUpPlants  (0.843, 0.690, 0.647, 1.000)
      }






All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 10.09.2012, 09:17 | Message # 2
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Very nice! Pluto looks very Moon-like!

The code has a little mistake:

Code
cracksOctaves   -1.#IND


This is probably due to bug in the script export code.





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 10.09.2012, 09:24 | Message # 3
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
This is probably due to bug in the script export code.

Ah yes, that parameter almost always comes out like that I think. I left it in because it made no difference to my surface that I wanted.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 10.09.2012, 09:36 | Message # 4
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Also you may delete clouds parameters (twistZones etc) - they are not used for Pluto, but make script more long.




 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 11.09.2012, 01:48 | Message # 5
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Also you may delete clouds parameters (twistZones etc) - they are not used for Pluto, but make script more long.

Thanks I changed it. Though when I did, it made Charon look different somehow, and it looks better now biggrin I'll update the screenshots!

For those who are interested, compare with the best current maps of Pluto and Charon





And my screenshots appear if you do a Google image search for "Charon surface" biggrin





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Wednesday, 24.07.2013, 17:21
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 11.09.2012, 23:45 | Message # 6
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
These images are not in true color.




 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 12.09.2012, 00:21 | Message # 7
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
I would tend to agree with you on that point; I just wanted to replicate the appearance from the maps as best as I could. But according to Marc Buie, one of the authors of the maps, they are true color. But I'm sure you're right and that they really do not look exactly like that. I've been to his website and seen some of the methods he used to make the maps, and they look like they would be more likely to produce approximated colors rather than natural colors. More likely the colors are more subtle and reddish, especially for Pluto.

Quote (Marc Buie)
These Hubble pictures represent a true-color appearance of what you would see if you were near Pluto

Source: http://www.universetoday.com/54114....hanging

EDIT: Another map constructed before the Hubble map shown above produced similar colors: http://www.boulder.swri.edu/recent/pluto_map.html

Perhaps it really is true color?





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Wednesday, 12.09.2012, 00:44
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 12.09.2012, 01:21 | Message # 8
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
EDIT: Another map constructed before the Hubble map shown above produced similar colors

The article title says "A Two-color Map of Pluto". It's taken with two color filters and whose can't be "true" color.

I think in reality Pluto is more reddish, like here:



Many other trans-neptunian objects shows a red color, so why Pluto must be yellow? The only really yellow body in Solar system is Io. But its color is made by sulfur ejected by volcanos, while Pluto is a icy body and may have only cryovolcanos.

Anyway, soon (in 2015) we will have a true Pluto texture smile





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 12.09.2012, 01:29 | Message # 9
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
The article title says "A Two-color Map of Pluto"

I saw that too. I just thought that it was interesting that it produced the same result as the more recent map.

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
I think in reality Pluto is more reddish, like here

That makes the most sense to me as well, as I mentioned above, and generally fits better with what we know about Pluto's overall color, and the color of other Kuiper Belt objects, including Triton (the only one we have close images of).

Pluto has gone through major surface changes in the last 20 years, maybe it will even have lost some of its color as the atmosphere starts to freeze by the time New Horizons arrives.

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
Anyway, soon (in 2015) we will have a true Pluto texture

I know, very exciting!





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Wednesday, 12.09.2012, 01:31
 
GazebostormDate: Saturday, 18.07.2015, 10:52 | Message # 10
Observer
Group: Newbies
New Zealand
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Are you going to update the mod with the new images from New Horizons?
That would be great biggrin
 
spacerDate: Saturday, 18.07.2015, 11:51 | Message # 11
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Israel
Messages: 1257
Status: Offline
Eventually they probably will.
just be Patient





"we began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan

-space engine photographer
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 18.07.2015, 12:49 | Message # 12
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote Gazebostorm ()
Are you going to update the mod with the new images from New Horizons?

The version of Pluto in SE by default now is already better than this. This shouldn't be used anymore.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
genialityofevilDate: Saturday, 18.07.2015, 23:45 | Message # 13
Observer
Group: Newbies
United Kingdom
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
I doubt there aren't enough detailed images yet to make a proper map anyway. Even the Elite Dangerous developers aren't putting in a new texture for a while.
 
redfish71Date: Friday, 14.08.2015, 13:56 | Message # 14
Observer
Group: Newbies
Netherlands
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Here you can find the most up to date map

http://astronomynow.com/2015/07/29/new-global-map-of-pluto/

What I would like to see fixed soon is the size in SE. Pluto is really bigger than Eris so please adjust the planet size.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Pluto/Charon Realistic Surface (Code to give realistic surfaces to Pluto and Charon)
Page 1 of 11
Search: