Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 3 of 4«1234»
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » SpaceEngine Galaxies Questions (Questions about galaxies in SE)
SpaceEngine Galaxies Questions
werdnaforeverDate: Tuesday, 13.11.2012, 01:45 | Message # 31
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 897
Status: Offline
Quote (BloodySoap)

Oh, and before I forget, in a future update, will the volume of the universe in Space Engine be increased from it's current size of about 1000 cubic Gpc to something even greater, perhaps nearing infinity? Of course, only if that is feasible. Thanks!


There was a thread where this topic kind of came up, and SE had a nice post about it...

Quote (SpaceEngineer)
In SpaceEngine, as long as we have a hyperdrive, the entire Universe should be represented. Infinite space is impossible to represent on a PC, but some closed curved space is possible. 4D hypersphere may be made similiar to a planetary surface, which is 6 squares, curved and connected to each other. In the universe's case we should use 8 curved cubes, connected with each other by their faces. It is impossible to imagine, but can be described by formulas or implemented in code. A more easier way is to use topology of a hypertorus - just connect the left side of a cube to the right side, top side to the bottom and front to the back. When the camera crosses the left side it will get teleported to the right side, this gives an impression of a seamless closed space with no boundaries. Another approach is to make a so-called domain structure - giant volumes filled with regular galaxies, 100-200 billion light-years across, separated with 100-1000 trillion light-years of empty "false" vacuum (according to the expanded universe model). The Engine can handle trillions of such domains, like it handle stars in the galaxies now. But the easiest way is just to limit the maximum velocity of movement and make the universe really big, so going to the "edge" will take years in real-time.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 13.11.2012, 18:37 | Message # 32
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Quote (BloodySoap)
in the same way that planets do

There's no "same way", galaxies and planets are generated in very different ways.

Quote (BloodySoap)
Oh, and before I forget, in a future update, will the volume of the universe in Space Engine be increased from it's current size of about 1000 cubic Gpc to something even greater, perhaps nearing infinity? Of course, only if that is feasible. Thanks!

I don't know. I prefer to finish all features on which I am working now as soon as possible and start a beta test to be able to release new version before New Year.





 
smjjamesDate: Wednesday, 14.11.2012, 02:04 | Message # 33
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Okay, you know how when you are approaching an irregular galaxy it says loading stars and yet you don't see them? I'm just wondering what exactly is it loading because I tried to find one of those objects (by taking a screenshot), but the number came up as invalid.

It's not annoying me or anything, it just keeps making me wonder just what it is loading when I can't see the stars. My guess is that it might be loading the octrees or something.





 
SolarisDate: Wednesday, 14.11.2012, 02:23 | Message # 34
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
smjjames, why not have posted in this thread? No need to create a new thread for question about galaxies.
 
smjjamesDate: Wednesday, 14.11.2012, 02:26 | Message # 35
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (Solaris)
smjjames, why not have posted in this thread?


*facepalm* Sorry. smile I just wasn't paying attention I guess. Thanks for the move though.





 
SolarisDate: Wednesday, 14.11.2012, 02:30 | Message # 36
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
No problem smile
Please read this before posting new messages
 
smjjamesDate: Wednesday, 14.11.2012, 02:40 | Message # 37
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
I did try a search though, but I searched for irregular instead of galaxies since I was looking about a specific type.




 
BloodySoapDate: Wednesday, 14.11.2012, 02:57 | Message # 38
Observer
Group: Newbies
Canada
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
I am well aware that galaxies and planets are generated in completely different ways, SpaceEngineer smile . What I meant by saying "in the same way that planets do" is that procedurally generated satellite galaxies should be found around cataloged galaxies much like how procedurally generated planets can be found around cataloged stars. I was talking from a conceptual standpoint, not a technical standpoint when I said that they should generate in the same way that planets do. I do not know whether that makes any sense or not, but I do hope that satellite galaxies will be implemented into the game for the added atmosphere and exploration potential.

Thank you werdnaforever, I am apparently very bad at using the search function. I am having a hard time comprehending that last model that SpaceEngineer suggested, though. Would patches of galaxies hundreds of billions of years across be found randomly throughout a much larger area filled with empty vacuum space, with trillions of light years separating them? I'm probably missing something obvious here, but wouldn't that just defeat the purpose of everything? It would take a great deal of time to travel between these (What I'm assuming to be cubic) patches of galaxies due to the trillions of light years separating them, and it wouldn't look very realistic. Again, I could just be missing something here.
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 18:01 | Message # 39
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Space Engineer, I'm just wondering where you get the data for the size of the catalog galaxies? I know you mentioned elsewhere that you use Hipparcos for the star catalog, but maybe you get the galaxy data from another source.




 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 18:15 | Message # 40
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
I'm just wondering where you get the data for the size of the catalog galaxies?

Source information is at the beginning of the galaxy catalog. Anyway determining galaxy size is simple. Just take the galaxy's distance and its angular size and do some trigonometry.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
smjjamesDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 18:25 | Message # 41
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Oh, okay.

Also, I don't know trigonometry, but I'm sure I can find some sort of calculator (or maybe that wulfram alpha math thing) to help me there.





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 15.11.2012, 18:34 | Message # 42
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8711
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
Also, I don't know trigonometry

Didn't you take it in high school? Sine, cosine, tangent, all that stuff? In any case it's all very simple.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Jboy2468Date: Wednesday, 09.01.2013, 02:37 | Message # 43
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
I'm just wondering how large SE actually is. It's interesting to explore such an enormous universe, but had to imagine how much it generates. It says "millions" and "trillions" on the homepage, but I have a gut feeling that there's more galaxies/stars/planets than that! umnik
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 09.01.2013, 02:48 | Message # 44
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3595
Status: Offline
Should be safe just to stick with what the homepage says. No real specific down to the last planet number exists,

You are welcome to start counting though tongue





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SolarisDate: Wednesday, 09.01.2013, 02:53 | Message # 45
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
France
Messages: 731
Status: Offline
Jboy2468, I've moved your question here, we try to avoid similar thread. Thanks to use the search fonction of the site before creating a new thread.
Look at the OP, you'll have answers smile

(DoctorOfSpace)
You are welcome to start counting though
That's a bad idea. biggrin
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » SpaceEngine Galaxies Questions (Questions about galaxies in SE)
Page 3 of 4«1234»
Search: