Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 3 of 5«12345»
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » How to control ships
How to control ships
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 07.09.2012, 11:14 | Message # 31
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Online
I was just about to make a thread to ask this. I wanted to limit my max speed to .99c and keep the hyperdrive where its at.

Although I have gone through most of the files before looking and it doesn't look like there is a way to do it besides manually not going above those speeds.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB


Edited by DoctorOfSpace - Friday, 07.09.2012, 11:15
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 07.09.2012, 11:34 | Message # 32
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
When using spacecraft I know of no way to do these things. When using the regular free movement mode, you can specify in the config files what different "preset" speeds you can use, which can be cycled using Ctrl-Mousewheel. By default these are powers of 10 in each unit. You could change the 1.0 c to be 0.99 c or something similar, or really to anything you like. But this only applies in free flight mode. In the inertial modes it is often hard tell what your speed is since the framerate can vary and the speed indicator fluctuates rapidly in such cases.

Also, I have moved this to the "How to control ships" thread. I think it would be more appropriate there.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
dahunnDate: Friday, 07.09.2012, 14:54 | Message # 33
Observer
Group: Users
Netherlands
Messages: 17
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
When using spacecraft I know of no way to do these things. When using the regular free movement mode, you can specify in the config files what different "preset" speeds you can use, which can be cycled using Ctrl-Mousewheel. By default these are powers of 10 in each unit. You could change the 1.0 c to be 0.99 c or something similar, or really to anything you like. But this only applies in free flight mode. In the inertial modes it is often hard tell what your speed is since the framerate can vary and the speed indicator fluctuates rapidly in such cases.

Also, I have moved this to the "How to control ships" thread. I think it would be more appropriate there.


thx. i'll try to manipulate the config then. not intrested in seeing my space ship thow. normal view is good enoug.


Edited by dahunn - Friday, 07.09.2012, 19:32
 
XMINEIROCREEPEIROGENERALXDate: Friday, 07.09.2012, 14:54 | Message # 34
Space Tourist
Group: Banned
Portugal
Messages: 38
Status: Offline
How we get to that SpaceShip? Or the SpaceShip mode? tongue




OpenGL 3.0 is the best OpenGL for SE. Trust me. ;)
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 07.09.2012, 14:55 | Message # 35
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
Ctrl-F3 to bring up ships list, with some usable keys on it. "4" switches to control of selected ship, "1" releases control. Mouse wheel changes the thrust.




 
BaleurDate: Sunday, 21.10.2012, 03:13 | Message # 36
Observer
Group: Users
Sweden
Messages: 17
Status: Offline
Well basically, where can i find any documentation what so ever on how this works, and what the keybindings are?

I semi-know the spaceship CAMERA mode, since that's in the 'manual' here on the official website, but what about the actual "jump to spaceship" feature recently added? What are the controls? I never seem to actually see any spaceship in front of the camera, and the controls seem very odd to figure out without clear definitions of how it works.

I see that the mouse wheel still changes the acceleration, and that w a s d seems to accelerate you in, odd directions.. But.. Yeah, lol.
I expected it to be fairly straight forward like in any other game, where you simply get a spaceship in third person, point it and thrust (ofc with newtonian physics). But as it is now i can't figure it out.. Why has this not been added to the manual on the website?

Thanks!
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 21.10.2012, 04:02 | Message # 37
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Baleur, a thread on how to control ships already exists here. Please use the search function before creating a new thread.

As for how to use and control the ships, everything you need to know should be either in this thread or in the SpaceEngine readme file.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
CheDate: Thursday, 08.11.2012, 03:49 | Message # 38
Observer
Group: Newbies
Brazil
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
why not do something like this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjXODz1gxeU&feature=youtu.be

Spaceships controllable
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 08.11.2012, 04:08 | Message # 39
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
Che, I'm not quite sure what you're trying to say. But there were already threads about controlling ships, you should have posted in one of those.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
anonymousgamerDate: Sunday, 11.11.2012, 00:32 | Message # 40
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Is there a way to control a space ship without the camera locked on to it? This way I could do fly bys and things like that.




Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 11.11.2012, 05:20 | Message # 41
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8713
Status: Offline
anonymousgamer, you should have posted your question here instead of making a new thread.

In answer to your question, yes it is quite possible to control your ship without the camera being locked onto it. But there would be no point to this unless you needed to have the ship rotate during the flyby because otherwise you could get the same effect most of the time by just flying the camera past the ship.

If you want the camera to follow another object, just do what you would normally do: click on it and hit Shift-F. Just keep in mind that you would not be able to move the camera in that scenario, only rotate it.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
anonymousgamerDate: Sunday, 11.11.2012, 05:36 | Message # 42
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
But there would be no point to this unless you needed to have the ship rotate during the flyby because otherwise you could get the same effect most of the time by just flying the camera past the ship.


Exactly, I would control the ship as it does a fly by. Maybe, have the ship be still and then accelerate at a ludicrous speed and then add post-process effects to make it look like the ship is going into warp.





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
VinnyDate: Tuesday, 26.02.2013, 21:11 | Message # 43
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 172
Status: Offline
Hi, Guys!

I'm now 0.637 AU away from planet Mars. How do I set up the autopilot to fly spacecraft automatically, say from planet Mars to planet Saturn? Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent
 
TimDate: Tuesday, 26.02.2013, 21:47 | Message # 44
Explorer
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 296
Status: Offline
I don't think this is the point of this topic. You can't create a route and autopilot it. And if you could, then I have the same question; how?
 
VinnyDate: Tuesday, 26.02.2013, 22:08 | Message # 45
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 172
Status: Offline
Hi, Tim!

I don't know, that is what I'm asking about the autopilots, too.

Cheers,
Vincent


Edited by Vinny - Tuesday, 26.02.2013, 22:09
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » How to control ships
Page 3 of 5«12345»
Search: