Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » Export ALL the Procedural Objects? (Does this do what it really means?)
Export ALL the Procedural Objects?
HanakofuroshiraDate: Tuesday, 02.08.2016, 01:43 | Message # 1
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 42
Status: Offline
So I was exporting a few systems I really liked. It's something I do fairly frequently. Recently, however, an option caught my eye. It's where you go into a planet's wiki, and then in the export menu, you have options to export the specific planet, or export every object you've named, but then there's a more interesting option.

Export all procedural objects...? Umm, okay?

It might just be my cautious side not wanting to go near that option, but my curious side is screaming at me to find out what it does. Does it literally export all procedural objects as a script file or does it do something else?





Fluent in music, math, Solresol, and hopefully someday, astronomy.
 
steeljaw354Date: Tuesday, 02.08.2016, 01:44 | Message # 2
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 862
Status: Offline
Try it, find out
 
HanakofuroshiraDate: Tuesday, 02.08.2016, 01:47 | Message # 3
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 42
Status: Offline
I don't want to break my computer if it literally exports every procedural object haha! I also just noticed that my title is wrong, but I've been working all day.




Fluent in music, math, Solresol, and hopefully someday, astronomy.
 
steeljaw354Date: Tuesday, 02.08.2016, 01:51 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 862
Status: Offline
Well then in that case I suggest you don't
 
AlekDate: Tuesday, 02.08.2016, 06:15 | Message # 5
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 319
Status: Offline
I literally have no clue as to what that does...SpaceEngineer, where are you? wacko




Living among the stars, I find my way. I grow in strength through knowledge of the space I occupy, until I become the ruler of my own interstellar empire of sorts. Though The world was made for the day, I was made for the night, and thus, the universe itself is within my destiny.
 
JackDoleDate: Tuesday, 02.08.2016, 08:11 | Message # 6
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1734
Status: Offline
If you have given procedural objects a name, you can then export them to a database.

For example:
Code

PObject
{
    LocName "Oddwarg"
    Name    "RS 8474-1353-7-1368063-412"
    Parent  "RS 8474-1353-7-1368063-412"
    Pioneer "JackDole"
    Date    "2016.08.02 07:58:23.67"
    Descr   "Found this"
}

PObject
{
    LocName "Oddwarg I"
    Name    "RS 8474-1353-7-1368063-412 1"
    Parent  "RS 8474-1353-7-1368063-412"
    Pioneer "JackDole"
    Date    "2016.08.02 07:59:42.81"
    Descr   "Enter description her"
}

PObject
{
    LocName "Oddgiant"
    Name    "RS 8474-1353-7-1368063-412 5"
    Parent  "RS 8474-1353-7-1368063-412"
    Pioneer "JackDole"
    Date    "2016.08.02 08:01:06.16"
}

PObject
{
    LocName "RS 8474-1353-7-1368063-412 3"
    Name    "RS 8474-1353-7-1368063-412 3"
    Parent  "RS 8474-1353-7-1368063-412"
    Pioneer "JackDole"
    Date    "2016.08.02 08:29:27.98"
    Descr   "This also"
}


Actually all the objects that you 'discovered'.





Don't forget to look here.



Edited by JackDole - Tuesday, 02.08.2016, 08:37
 
HanakofuroshiraDate: Tuesday, 02.08.2016, 15:14 | Message # 7
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 42
Status: Offline
JackDole, I don't want to sound rude, but I think you're talking about the 'Only my discoveries' option. There are four options in the export menu:

Only this object; pretty easy, the object you currently have selected.
Only my discoveries; I know that this only exports all of the objects you have named(discovered) because I do this when I'm ready to go to the newest version.
All real objects; I assume this exports all of the scripted objects put into the same, such as the solar system and cataloged stars.
All procedural objects; I assume this does the scary prospect of exporting literally every procedural object the engine has generated.

Attachments: 5533314.png(416Kb)





Fluent in music, math, Solresol, and hopefully someday, astronomy.
 
JackDoleDate: Tuesday, 02.08.2016, 16:11 | Message # 8
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1734
Status: Offline
Quote Hanakofuroshira ()
All procedural objects; I assume this does the scary prospect of exporting literally every procedural object the engine has generated.

Pretty scary thought!

But actually, I talked about 'All procedural objects'.
Of course, not only your own objects are exported.
Also objects discovered by other players.
If those are in your game.
In fact, these are all the objects that are also in 'user-eng-db.cfg'. Or in the file that matches the user language.





Don't forget to look here.

 
HanakofuroshiraDate: Tuesday, 02.08.2016, 16:53 | Message # 9
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 42
Status: Offline
Ah, so if there were two players who independently discovered objects on the same computer and thus the same save, using the option to export all procedural objects would export all of the objects discovered in general? And that must mean that export my discoveries would only export the objects the current player has discovered, hmm. Am I right? Thanks for the clarification!




Fluent in music, math, Solresol, and hopefully someday, astronomy.
 
JackDoleDate: Tuesday, 02.08.2016, 17:25 | Message # 10
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1734
Status: Offline
Systems & Discoveries Database
In this thread, there is a program to synchronize your database with the databases of other players.
The program, however, is quite old, I do not know if it still works with newer versions of SE.





Don't forget to look here.

 
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » Export ALL the Procedural Objects? (Does this do what it really means?)
Page 1 of 11
Search: