RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » Jupiter animated clouds?
Jupiter animated clouds?
simonecinque1992Date: Saturday, 30.07.2016, 22:07 | Message # 1
Pioneer
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 470
Status: Offline
When I was exploring the forum I found this:
http://en.spaceengine.org/blog/animated_model_of_jupiter/2013-04-07-14
It looks so cool but it isn't implemented yet, why?
(It's really old so old forum users may have saw it)





My Mods and Addons

Packard Bell
Windows 10 Pro
Intel® Celeron® CPU 1000M @ 1.80GHz 1.80 GHz
4 GB
64 bit Operative System
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Saturday, 30.07.2016, 22:56 | Message # 2
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
It actually was implemented at one point but was removed.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
PlutonianEmpireDate: Saturday, 30.07.2016, 23:06 | Message # 3
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 475
Status: Offline
The multiple cloud layers that were used in 0.971?




Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )
 
steeljaw354Date: Sunday, 31.07.2016, 01:39 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 862
Status: Offline
Why was it removed?
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 31.07.2016, 01:51 | Message # 5
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
It took up a lot of space, made the download size of the program larger, and barely added anything to the program that users would notice.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
steeljaw354Date: Sunday, 31.07.2016, 02:03 | Message # 6
World Builder
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 862
Status: Offline
Acknowledged, makes sense, I wouldn't get anything out of it
 
simonecinque1992Date: Monday, 01.08.2016, 13:06 | Message # 7
Pioneer
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 470
Status: Offline
So.. is there an addon about it?




My Mods and Addons

Packard Bell
Windows 10 Pro
Intel® Celeron® CPU 1000M @ 1.80GHz 1.80 GHz
4 GB
64 bit Operative System
 
KimPakJiWantsToLeavePDRKDate: Monday, 29.08.2016, 00:54 | Message # 8
Observer
Group: Newbies
Korea (North)
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
Pretty awesome, bad thing that it got removed
 
SalvoDate: Monday, 29.08.2016, 09:50 | Message # 9
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote simonecinque1992 ()
So.. is there an addon about it?


I wonder if it's included in official addons.

I never tried to download any of them because of my slow internet connection. (I've downloaded the last version SE many days later its release)





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)


Edited by Salvo - Monday, 29.08.2016, 09:53
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 29.08.2016, 15:29 | Message # 10
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote Aerospacefag ()
but I don't remember if it was removed at some point.


It wasn't. It's just cloud layers that move at different velocities.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
JackDoleDate: Tuesday, 30.08.2016, 09:07 | Message # 11
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
It is also possible with this version.

http://imgur.com/EiidPmc



One must make only a custom Jupiter script and get the clouds textures. From an old SE version (0.970 or 0.971)





Don't forget to look here.

 
fongjhDate: Sunday, 18.09.2016, 07:37 | Message # 12
Observer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 10
Status: Offline
I extracted the Jupiter cloud textures and script from 0.971 and I can see why it would be hard for users to notice the clouds moving. If you sped up time until the cloud movement was noticeable, you'd be too distracted by Jupiter flicking between day and night to appreciate the clouds. So I decided to cheat -- I sped up the cloud velocities by 1000x, and now if you accelerate time to 10x or 30x it starts looking pretty good. The 26 MB pak file is available from this Mega link.
 
arbelrocksDate: Tuesday, 04.10.2016, 01:30 | Message # 13
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 24
Status: Offline
This needs to be made an addon.
 
JackDoleDate: Tuesday, 04.10.2016, 11:54 | Message # 14
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1737
Status: Offline
Here are two scripts to animate the clouds of Jupiter.
One with normal clouds speed, the other with 10,000 times the acceleration.

TO USE IT:
Put one of the attached files in addons\catalogs\planets'.

Get somewhere the 'Clouds' textures.
They were in SE 0.97 and SE 0.971.

In SE 0.971 there are two texture folders: 'textures\planets\Jupiter' and 'textures\planets_hires\Jupiter'.

In SE 0.97 is only one: 'textures\planets\Jupiter'
Copy the whole 'Jupiter' folder (normal or hires) to 'addons\textures\planets'
Done.

The old versions can be downloaded here:
SE 0.970
SE 0.971
For 0.971 there are an installer version and a .zip version. Download the .zip version. Then, the folder can be extracted without installing the program.

Attachments: JupAnimClouds.sc(6Kb) · JupAnim10000.sc(6Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » Jupiter animated clouds?
Page 1 of 11
Search: