RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 2 of 5«12345»
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » Optimal PC building for SE discussion
Optimal PC building for SE discussion
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 21.06.2015, 20:43 | Message # 16
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
EVGA


EVGA is my go to brand for Nvidia but they still have issues from my experience.

List of all Nvidia GPUs I have owned in the past 15 years
Nvidia 6800 AGP 128MB (Bought in 2006, failed after 2 months due to PSU failure which took out entire system.)
EVGA 8600 GT 256MB (Bought in 2007, failed after 3 years, EVGA replaced but changed warranty to 3 year and auto expired it, card is dead as of August 2014 from unkown causes)
PNY 9600 GT 1GB (Bought in 2008, fan grinding after 6 months, PNY replaced as a courtesy due to computer error but also voided my warranty, card is now dead after failure to boot in 2013 testing)
EVGA 9800 GT 1GB (Bought 2009, has not failed and was still functional as of 2013)
EVGA 760 GTX 4GB (Bought in March 2014, was damaged in accident and had fan failure by June, second RMA card had dead fan and loud capacitor whine, and 3rd card was replaced in September. Current 760 has been functional since September 2014)

List of ATI/AMD GPUs I have owned in the past ~20 years
ATI Rage II 4MB (Purchased in 1996, still functioning in an old Windows 95 machine)
ATI 3D Rage Pro 16MB (Purchased in 1998, still functioning in an old Windows 98 machine)
Radeon 9200 128MB (Purchased 2002, last I checked with the friend I gave it to it is still working)
XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB (Purchased in August 2010, recently gifted it to a friend, still functioning)
XFX Radeon HD 5870 1GB (Purchased April 2011 due to low price of $205, still functioning and in use)
R9 280X (Borrowed and currently not in my possession, card was purchased in 2014 and is still functional)

Quote the_nerervarine ()
(I'm looking at you GTX 960 with your 128 bit interface and the first models of the GTX 970 with only 3.5 gb of Vram)


It's not that they purposefully gimped the cards, its just how they manufacture lower series GPUs.



Quote the_nerervarine ()
The GTX 960 would a monster of a budget card if it had a 256 or 512 bit interface.


This is actually a good point and it wouldn't even cost Nvidia that much to do it. Nvidia is not alone in these regards though, AMD did the same thing with the 5770 compared to the 5870.




We should probably each bench our systems in SpaceEngine. We need a standard test of sorts so that proper system builds and their performance information can be added to the main post of this thread.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
the_nerervarineDate: Monday, 22.06.2015, 04:26 | Message # 17
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
We should probably each bench our systems in SpaceEngine. We need a standard test of sorts so that proper system builds and their performance information can be added to the main post of this thread.


Agree completely. But it would have to based on several different stresses during SE. I think a great benchmark would be the current state of the Gamma and Delta quadrants of the Milky Way (Sorry huge Trek fan) and how smoothly each card performs in this area as there seems to be thousands of nebula in this area and I find it to be very taxing performance wise. I'm sure I'm not the only one. Also how fast LOD's are rendered at a static loader for 9.7.4 (lets say around 15-20) and how smooth the performance is by moving. Let me know what you think friend.





AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 22.06.2015, 09:59 | Message # 18
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
We need a standard test of sorts so that proper system builds and their performance information can be added to the main post of this thread.

SpaceEngineer suggested to me one time landing on a planet, reloading the shaders, and seeing what time was output in the log for generation. We can have a standard location, standard resolution, and standard settings, used for that benchmark. That will be a good test of landscape generation and memory. We can come up with something else for CPU, and something else again as another GPU test.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
pennymobbDate: Friday, 26.06.2015, 13:06 | Message # 19
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
you would be insane to get a 980 over a 390x unless nvidia REALLY drops the price or releases the 8 GB version.
 
the_nerervarineDate: Friday, 26.06.2015, 17:12 | Message # 20
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
Quote pennymobb ()
you would be insane to get a 980 over a 390x unless nvidia REALLY drops the price or releases the 8 GB version.


As an AMD fanboy I have to say you're way off on this one. The 390 and 390x are both re brands of the 290 and 290x with more vram and higher clock speeds. But it's still the Hawaii GPU that AMD has been using with their high end cards since the HD 7900 series.





AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive
 
DiscovererOfWorldsDate: Monday, 29.06.2015, 08:12 | Message # 21
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 120
Status: Offline
I need your help, since my motherboard could not support Space Engine, and then broke, do I have to buy one, but I do not know which one to take, I would like some advice on how to choose one that can support Space Engine




the universe is made to be explored, but no one will ever visit it all
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 29.06.2015, 08:23 | Message # 22
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Post your current PC specs so a proper match can be found. If you plan to build a new PC post your price range.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
DiscovererOfWorldsDate: Monday, 29.06.2015, 12:30 | Message # 23
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 120
Status: Offline
DoctorOfSpace,No, I do not have to build a new computer, I only have to replace the motherboard with a more powerful that can support SE. P.S My motherboard is broken because he could not support SE.




the universe is made to be explored, but no one will ever visit it all
 
DisasterpieceDate: Tuesday, 30.06.2015, 00:48 | Message # 24
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 640
Status: Offline
DiscovererOfWorlds, post your current PC specs so a match can be found. And how did your motherboard break running SE (is that possible, guys?)?




I play teh spase engien
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Tuesday, 30.06.2015, 13:07 | Message # 25
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote Disasterpiece ()
(is that possible, guys?)


Yes. This is not exclusive to SpaceEngine however. If your PC is not up to date or very good and you run stressful programs on it then temperatures will be high, hardware stress will be high, and the PC life expectancy will drastically decrease. Simply having a computer turned on will break it down over time. No matter how good your PC is or how advanced technology gets this is simply the laws of physics in action.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
DiscovererOfWorldsDate: Wednesday, 22.07.2015, 11:14 | Message # 26
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 120
Status: Offline
For the moment i do not have to buy the motherboard, as soon as I post the features of my computer. My computer has not broken as soon as I started for the first time SE, but it broke due to SE for the first two years.




the universe is made to be explored, but no one will ever visit it all

Edited by DiscovererOfWorlds - Wednesday, 22.07.2015, 11:16
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Friday, 16.10.2015, 19:55 | Message # 27
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Bought a 980 Ti SC this week, came in today and I can definitely recommend the GPU if you want something ridiculously powerful to run SE. Even with my bottlenecking due to my low/mid range AMD processor I have no troubles loading terrain at LOD2 above 60fps.

However with a $650+ pricetag(I spent $725) it is not really an option for most people





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
11ryancDate: Saturday, 31.10.2015, 20:48 | Message # 28
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 18
Status: Offline
My XFX R7 240's fried, so I'm running my A8's onboard 8570D APU. It's usable with SE. Around 30-70 fps in close proximity to planets. Depending on how many textures are loaded on surface though, can drop as low as 10 fps in certain cases. Disabling Auroras vastly helped though. I have a 1920 x 1080 display, and I run SE in full screen @ 1280 x 720.
I'm thinking of getting an EVGA GTX 750ti. 2 GB model. A card of these specifications generally enough to well suffice for this program?
Thanks





Intel Core i7 4790k, MSI Z97 PC Mate, EVGA GTX 950, 16GB 1600 MHz, SanDisk SSD Plus 120GB, 2 TB WD Green, 2 TB Seagate Barracuda, Cooler Master Elite 350 Mid Tower
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Windows Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 01.11.2015, 07:38 | Message # 29
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote 11ryanc ()
A card of these specifications generally enough to well suffice for this program?


Good enough to run SE but not a high end card.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
Thomas988Date: Sunday, 01.11.2015, 12:46 | Message # 30
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 125
Status: Offline
I'm thinking about upgrading my PC to run Space Engine faster. However, I'm not sure what is lacking on the computer. What should I improve to increase framerate in Space Engine?

Operating System
Windows 8.1 64-bit

CPU
AMD A8-5500 65 °C
Trinity 32nm Technology

RAM
8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 798MHz (11-11-12-28)

Motherboard
MSI 2AE0 (P0) 36 °C

Graphics
SyncMaster (1680x1050@60Hz)
LCD MONITOR (1024x768@60Hz)
2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GT 630 (PNY) 45 °C

Storage
931GB Western Digital WDC WD10EZEX-60ZF5A0 (SATA) 33 °C

Optical Drives
hp DVD-RAM GH82N

Audio
IDT High Definition Audio CODEC





All you need in life are space games and typhlosions.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » Optimal PC building for SE discussion
Page 2 of 5«12345»
Search: