[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » Custom descriptions
Custom descriptions
SkiminoHarmonDate: Thursday, 23.01.2014, 08:52 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Hello! I am brand new to this game. I can not stop playing it. I'm completely hooked. I have named many things. My question is can I also make a custom description for the planets, suns, etc I find? If so, how? Thx!

DeathStarDate: Thursday, 23.01.2014, 10:18 | Message # 2
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Since SE currently does not have a built-in text editor, you can't edit an objects description directly in the game. You can add descriptions by editing the game's scripts, however.

Go into locale and find the eng-db.cfg and eng-db.bak files. Open one of them up in notepad/notepad++/whatever you prefer.

Now, go down to the bottom of the text and start typing:

RObject
{
LocName [insert the actual location name of the place in-game(example, RS 5-435-234)]
Name [How do you want this place to be called]
Parent [What's it orbiting around? If it is a moon, type its parent planet name. If it is a planet, type the name of the star/star barycenter it orbits. If it is a star, nebula or galaxy, skip this whole 'parent' part. If it is a cluster, type the name of the galaxy it is in.]
Pioneer [Who discovered the object. The name is up to you]
Date [Date of discovery. Again, it is up to you]
Descr "[Type your description here]"
}

When done, copy the stuff you did and paste it into the other text file as well.

Edited by DeathStar - Thursday, 23.01.2014, 10:20

HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 23.01.2014, 12:13 | Message # 3
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Quote DeathStar ()
Now, go down to the bottom of the text and start typing:

No. I don't mean to sound unkind, but almost everything you wrote there is either wrong or unnecessary.