RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » Question about the latest space engine version
Question about the latest space engine version
TenebristhedarkenedDate: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 03:26 | Message # 1
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 29
Status: Offline
Is it normal for gas giants to suddenly have so many moons? I found a gas giant with 41 moons.
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 03:33 | Message # 2
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Yes it is normal. Those "moons" are mainly asteroids which are part of the work in progress debris rings.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
apenpaapDate: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 04:47 | Message # 3
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Yeah, it's normal, and more realistic. Look at Jupiter's 67.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 05:19 | Message # 4
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
Those "moons" are mainly asteroids which are part of the work in progress debris rings.

Not true. Most planets don't have these, and anyway the debris ring asteroids are not counted as moons.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 12:55 | Message # 5
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Most planets don't have these,


In SE they do. I regularly find planets with 60, 70, 80, 90, or more.

Quote HarbingerDawn ()
and anyway the debris ring asteroids are not counted as moons.


They show up in the F2 menu which is why I put it in quotations. Technically by the definition of the word "moon" they are.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 13:02 | Message # 6
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
They show up in the F2 menu

No they don't. Moons and dwarf moons do. Debris ring objects are classed as asteroids, not moons, as I already said, and are not included in the planet's moon tally, nor are they shown in the system browser.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 13:15 | Message # 7
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
My mistake then, just seemed like every time I saw debris rings and selected one of the listed asteroids in the F2 menu it was within the ring. After checking it seems there is is a difference.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » Question about the latest space engine version
Page 1 of 11
Search: