RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 3 of 3«123
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » Size of universe in space engine
Size of universe in space engine
Tac1017Date: Wednesday, 28.10.2015, 20:00 | Message # 31
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 167
Status: Offline
Then if our procedural universe is too small, what about a series of generated universes, or a multiverse? this would be interesting to see in a future version!




The Terra Hunter of the Milky Way!

(By the way, I was born in 2001, NOT 1972 XD)
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 29.10.2015, 04:36 | Message # 32
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Tac1017, the SE universe will be closed on itself in the future. This means that if you fly in one direction you will come back to where you started.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
SalvoDate: Thursday, 29.10.2015, 10:09 | Message # 33
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
the SE universe will be closed on itself in the future.

So it means you can literally fly forever... That's... just mind-blowing.

Anyway, I think that this software should be sent (together with a computer) on space like on Voyager missions. Maybe more than one time. cool

Yeah, I'm not joking. We were born pretty soon in the universe's history, and we can still see some galaxies without any significant red-shift effect. We can work pretty well with CMB (I think in future the radiation will be so dim that it will be very hard to capture), we can observe some stars or phenomena that will happen less often in the future universe.

Except Andromeda approach (for the civilities that will born in the next 4 billion years) they'll have much less to see. So why don't we show them what is the Universe today? Videos and photos are cool, but being able to explore the universe is another story.

Of course SE would have some drawings and some "universally understandable" instructions, and that's probably the hardest thing to do, but even the most interesting one at some point. wink





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 29.10.2015, 10:41 | Message # 34
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote Salvo ()
So it means you can literally fly forever... That's... just mind-blowing.


SpaceEngineer and I were discussing this yesterday actually.

Quote SpaceEngineer

torus topology will be easier to implement, just repeat universe in each xyz coordinate. the repeatable part of the universe may be extremely big, 2^63 pc





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » Size of universe in space engine
Page 3 of 3«123
Search: