Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 3123»
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » Size of universe in space engine
Size of universe in space engine
CrozzfireDate: Monday, 09.12.2013, 00:48 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
Norway
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
I cranked up galaxy magnitude, stars overbright and exposure, and flew to the edge of the universe.

http://i.imgur.com/d2cQmlG.jpg

Measuring from one end to other, it seems like the universe is a 10Gpc cube in space engine right now.
I guess this is because of some mathematical or practical limit to the procedural system?
Is this something that will be changed later?


Edited by Crozzfire - Monday, 09.12.2013, 00:50
 
WatsisnameDate: Monday, 09.12.2013, 07:56 | Message # 2
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 2608
Status: Offline
Hi Crozzfire. Yes, SE procedurally generates galaxies within a 10Gpc cube, centered on Earth. That's about 16 billion light years from the Earth to the nearest points on the edges, so the SE universe is pretty big, comparable in size to the real observable universe!

If I recall right, SpaceEngineer has said that he may try to adopt a closed model, where the edges of the universe meet each other such that you can return to your origin by flying in a straight line. If that's the case then you won't see those edges anymore, and SE will truly be isotropic and homogenous everywhere. smile

P.S. If you haven't done so, please read the forum rules. Welcome to the community!





 
CrozzfireDate: Monday, 09.12.2013, 21:23 | Message # 3
Observer
Group: Newbies
Norway
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
Thanks! I did not realize 10Gpc was that big. Certainly enough, but yeah. A repeating or infinite universe would be better than a hard edge. If he's not going to implement multiverses, that is biggrin
 
Billy_MayesDate: Tuesday, 10.12.2013, 15:12 | Message # 4
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
So, if I calculated this correctly, the volume of the SE universe should be 1000 Gpc, or one octillion parsecs.
biggrin Pretty big





AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen
 
midtskogenDate: Tuesday, 10.12.2013, 16:16 | Message # 5
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 1668
Status: Offline
Cubic parsecs, you mean?

An octillion parsecs is a very long way.





NIL DIFFICILE VOLENTI
 
Billy_MayesDate: Tuesday, 10.12.2013, 16:31 | Message # 6
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
Quote midtskogen ()
Cubic parsecs, you mean?


Oh yes, sorry. I do mean cubic parsecs. smile





AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Tuesday, 10.12.2013, 19:15 | Message # 7
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4796
Status: Offline
With density of 10 galaxies per cubic megaparsec, it have 10 trillion galaxies (1013). Too small, I must make it few billions time bigger in each dimension biggrin




 
Billy_MayesDate: Tuesday, 10.12.2013, 19:49 | Message # 8
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
10 trillion galaxies -- Too small


You don't hear that kind of sentence very often. biggrin





AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen
 
CrozzfireDate: Tuesday, 10.12.2013, 23:04 | Message # 9
Observer
Group: Newbies
Norway
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
I like the way you think, SpaceEngineer! Of course, just 1 galaxy is too much to ever hope exploring. But it's just nice knowing.. tongue
 
HachoumaDate: Saturday, 28.12.2013, 21:17 | Message # 10
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Algeria
Messages: 22
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
Too small

This is the best thing i ever heard a developer say :D
 
VinnyDate: Monday, 30.12.2013, 19:36 | Message # 11
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 172
Status: Offline
Hi, guys!

I think the size of the universe in SE is about 24 GPC (24,000,000,000 parsecs) from one side of the universe to the other!

Cheers,
Vincent
 
Billy_MayesDate: Monday, 30.12.2013, 20:24 | Message # 12
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
Quote Crozzfire ()
the universe is a 10Gpc cube in space


Quote Vinny ()
size of the universe in SE is about 24 GPC


Vinny, I think you measured it wrong, I checked myself and it seems it's 10 GPC long.

Or were you meaning something else?





AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen
 
VinnyDate: Tuesday, 31.12.2013, 02:48 | Message # 13
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 172
Status: Offline
Hi, Billy_Mayes!

Yes, I think you are right, I measured it wrong. So the universe in SE is about 10 GPC (10,000,000,000 parsecs) cube in space. I don't get it, how the universe is measured in cube? Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent
 
Billy_MayesDate: Tuesday, 31.12.2013, 14:02 | Message # 14
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
Quote Vinny ()
I don't get it, how the universe is measured in cube?


The SE universe isn't measured in cube. It is a cube.
A cube's width, height and depth are all equal.

The universes width height and depth are all 10 GPC, which means it is a cube.





AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen
 
VinnyDate: Wednesday, 01.01.2014, 21:42 | Message # 15
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 172
Status: Offline
Hi, Billy_Mayes!

After I fly past 10 GPC (10,000,000,000 parsecs), I ended up flying right back where I started, right? Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent


Edited by Vinny - Wednesday, 01.01.2014, 21:42
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » Size of universe in space engine
Page 1 of 3123»
Search: