RUS New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » Best Resources for Exploration?
Best Resources for Exploration?
MistroDate: Thursday, 07.02.2013, 23:00 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Are there any useful links shared that aid in exploring this huge universe? When I first bought Flight Simulator, I made a plan to travel the entire world where my last stop on that tour would be back at my home airport. Easy as I already had destinations in mind to visit and planned my tour accordingly. When launching this program, I find myself staring at the countless stars and just clicking on random systems and seeing what's there. I would like to have a more structured experience starting with the known systems closer to our solar system but don't know where to start. I am new to space exploration and I am in the process of learning all the terminology and science. I always loved astronomy but until recently didn't know programs like this existed (this will take my watching of Discovery channel to a new level).

So how do most of you astronauts go about exploring this SE universe? Do you use charts or find data bases? When I here news like the discovery of a carbon based planet likely made partially of diamonds, can I actually go to these discoveries provided they are charted in SE and what is the best way to find them?

Thanks in advance.

DoctorOfSpaceDate: Thursday, 07.02.2013, 23:07 | Message # 2
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Randomly clicking stars or hearing about an exoplanet and then seeing if it is in SE and checking it out. Sometimes I fly ships there and see how long it would take at conventional speeds and FTL speeds.

Quote (Mistro)
can I actually go to these discoveries provided they are charted in SE and what is the best way to find them?