Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 18 of 18«12161718
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » General SE questions (Post your question regarding SpaceEngine here)
General SE questions
Destructor1701Date: Thursday, 25.07.2013, 01:56 | Message # 256
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
Reading the readme would answer both of those questions.

But because I'm a nice guy,

1) Yes, precisely - although the correct term is "procedural", rather than "Randomised" - since the algorithm will produce the same universe on any machine, provided the relevant files are unchanged. SE includes catalogues of almost all known stars and planets, and generates procedural data for unknown planetary systems, stars, galaxies, and other cosmic phenomena.

2) Press Shift-H once to target The Milky Way Galaxy, twice to target Sol, our sun, and three times to target Earth.





 
WatsisnameDate: Thursday, 25.07.2013, 03:57 | Message # 257
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 2606
Status: Offline
Reading the readme is indeed good advice. That's what it was made for! smile

But anyway, yes, the Solar system, ~100,000 stars from Hipparcos database (if my memory serves right), extrasolar planets, and nearby galaxies are all shown in Space Engine, while the rest of the universe is procedurally generated, from galaxy clusters down to planetary surfaces.

To find the Solar system, you can use destructor's method, or use the search system (F3) and type in whatever you want to find (e.g. 'Sol' for Sun, 'Earth', 'Moon', whatever.)





 
apenpaapDate: Thursday, 25.07.2013, 23:09 | Message # 258
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Or, if you want to do it the hard but cool way, learn where to find various giant stars and the asterisms they make from each other's location to find the Sun by eye only. I can do it by going to Deneb from outside of the Milky Way, then proceeding along Rigel, the Orion Nebula, Nihal, Capella, and Sirius. From Sirius to the Sun and from the Sun to Earth.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
spacerDate: Sunday, 25.08.2013, 16:24 | Message # 259
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Israel
Messages: 1257
Status: Offline
I think there are too many planets with life in spaceengine
the Universe is full of life!
why?
Possible lower the number?





"we began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan

-space engine photographer


Edited by spacer - Sunday, 25.08.2013, 16:25
 
Billy_MayesDate: Sunday, 25.08.2013, 17:38 | Message # 260
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
Remember people, post any questions in the FAQ thread.

Should this thread be locked, since it no longer serves a purpose?

As for your question spacer, I don't think there's too much planets with life in SE, but Spaceengineer could have increased the number of them for easier discovery. But this is just guessing, I don't know.





AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen
 
SalvoDate: Sunday, 25.08.2013, 18:46 | Message # 261
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote (spacer)
Possible lower the number?


You can change the "ProbLife" parameter into confing/universe.cfg





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
spacerDate: Thursday, 05.09.2013, 08:29 | Message # 262
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Israel
Messages: 1257
Status: Offline
Quote (Salvo)
You can change the "ProbLife" parameter into confing/universe.cfg


where? i dont found
i found! ty

Added (05.09.2013, 11:29)
---------------------------------------------
why i never saw terra with life with esi 0.90+? dry




"we began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan

-space engine photographer


Edited by spacer - Sunday, 25.08.2013, 18:59
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 05.09.2013, 09:36 | Message # 263
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
I has found one with ESI 0.98. ESI = 1.00 only for Earth. Planet must be equal to Earth by many parameters, and obviously this is extremely unlikely.




 
CesrateDate: Thursday, 05.09.2013, 09:36 | Message # 264
Astronaut
Group: Users
China
Messages: 68
Status: Offline
Hey, I wonder how well could the graphics of SE ever achieve in future?

Something like Eve's?
http://westkarana.com/index.p....evaulon

Will we have super-detailed terrains? And some kinds of amazing light effect? And even better textures? And very realistic nebulas?

-Moved from the Planet Classification Thread, as this wasn't really relevant to it.
-Wats


Edited by Watsisname - Wednesday, 03.09.2014, 13:09
 
WatsisnameDate: Wednesday, 03.09.2014, 13:14 | Message # 265
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 2606
Status: Offline
I think SE's graphics are better than EVE's in many ways already. smile How much better they can/will get in the future is anyone's guess. You can always check out the Work Progress thread and TODO list to see the latest developments and what's planned.

Edit: I knew this thread was old, but I didn't notice until just now that it is also locked. Unless there is a particular need to unlock it, I will keep it as is for now.





 
ThekatmanDate: Wednesday, 25.03.2015, 23:52 | Message # 266
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
I really want to orbit Earth in space engine just because but I don't know how to get a spaceship.
Also it's almost impossible to find a black hole because when I click on a galaxy and center on it, it doesn't actually center on the black hole in the middle of the cluster so yeah.

Also best in game graphics for space engine, to make it all realistic? Sorry if I'm counter productive and I've asked already answered questions in some post, I just registered.


Edited by Thekatman - Wednesday, 25.03.2015, 23:53
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 26.03.2015, 09:33 | Message # 267
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4795
Status: Offline
Quote Thekatman ()
I really want to orbit Earth in space engine just because but I don't know how to get a spaceship.

Press Ctrl-F3.

Quote Thekatman ()
Also it's almost impossible to find a black hole because when I click on a galaxy and center on it, it doesn't actually center on the black hole in the middle of the cluster so yeah.

Select galaxy, press Ctrl-G.
You also can find stellar black holes in the Star searcher (Shift-F3).

Quote Thekatman ()
Also best in game graphics for space engine, to make it all realistic?

It is already at best settings. You may only increase a bit level of detail on planets, if you have a good GPU. Look in the Ctrl-F4 menu.





 
Forum » SpaceEngine » General Discussions » General SE questions (Post your question regarding SpaceEngine here)
Page 18 of 18«12161718
Search: