Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 11
Forum » SpaceEngine » Space Journeys » This must be a bug (this just can't be possible)
This must be a bug
Antza2Date: Wednesday, 18.07.2012, 19:37 | Message # 1
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
Finland
Messages: 1049
Status: Offline
Two almost identical solar systems merged together:
This has to be a bug.

Attachments: 6513618.jpg(259Kb)





Go to antza2.deviantart.com for cool photos!
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 18.07.2012, 19:57 | Message # 2
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Online
Although really cool something tells me that system would be highly unstable and end in some collisions and rogue planets.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
apenpaapDate: Wednesday, 18.07.2012, 21:40 | Message # 3
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Yes, that does look like a bug. I'm guessing what happened is it's a binary, but they're inserted as separate stars in the catalogue, and because their location is almost the same the procedural generation makes very similar systems for them. I've had the same thing happen with Alpha Centauri once while I was messing about trying to get rid of the Avatar planets and get procedural ones instead.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
Antza2Date: Wednesday, 18.07.2012, 21:54 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
Finland
Messages: 1049
Status: Offline
Quote (apenpaap)
Yes, that does look like a bug. I'm guessing what happened is it's a binary, but they're inserted as separate stars in the catalogue, and because their location is almost the same the procedural generation makes very similar systems for them. I've had the same thing happen with Alpha Centauri once while I was messing about trying to get rid of the Avatar planets and get procedural ones instead.

The strange thing is that both of them are triple systems with 1 red dwarf and 2 brown dwarfs. Would the catalogue have two triple systems so close or is that just the procedural generation?





Go to antza2.deviantart.com for cool photos!
 
apenpaapDate: Wednesday, 18.07.2012, 22:11 | Message # 5
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Well, there are only a couple of actual binaries in the catalog, and they're all fairly well-known ones like Alpha Centauri and Sirius. Other binaries are in the catalog as singular stars, but there's a chance singular stars in the catalog will get procedurally generated binary partners (have a look at Rigel if you want to see this in action with something really weird). So my guess is the brown dwarfs aren't real, but got added by the procedural generation.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
Antza2Date: Wednesday, 18.07.2012, 23:10 | Message # 6
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
Finland
Messages: 1049
Status: Offline
Quote (apenpaap)
So my guess is the brown dwarfs aren't real, but got added by the procedural generation.

That is what i suspected. As far as i know there aren't that many brown dwarfs in the catalogue. (i could be wrong.)





Go to antza2.deviantart.com for cool photos!
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Space Journeys » This must be a bug (this just can't be possible)
Page 1 of 11
Search: