Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 57 of 423«125556575859422423»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Space Journeys » Image Dump (Post your SpaceEngine screenshots here)
Image Dump
PhoenixDate: Saturday, 17.11.2012, 17:07 | Message # 841
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 242
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
How fast does it load at LOD 2 on a 680?


That depends a lot on the FOV, stars, etc. Anywhere from 3 to 10 seconds up to 20 seconds to render the fine details in a complex scene. I also run a core i7 extreme cpu (Sandybridge E), overclocked, and 16 gigs of memory. Hugin may take about 10 seconds to create the panoramas. I'm impressed with SE and look forward to the enhancements.
 
PhoenixDate: Saturday, 17.11.2012, 21:50 | Message # 842
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 242
Status: Offline
 
smjjamesDate: Saturday, 17.11.2012, 21:56 | Message # 843
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (Phoenix)
That depends a lot on the FOV, stars, etc. Anywhere from 3 to 10 seconds up to 20 seconds to render the fine details in a complex scene. I also run a core i7 extreme cpu (Sandybridge E), overclocked, and 16 gigs of memory. Hugin may take about 10 seconds to create the panoramas. I'm impressed with SE and look forward to the enhancements.


O.O Is that with LOD 2 on?

Still though, since LOD 2 loads really slowly for me and the change is small, it's not really worth it for me to use LOD 2 very much.





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 17.11.2012, 22:11 | Message # 844
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
the change is small

How is the change small? The difference between LOD 1 and LOD 2 is huge, much bigger than the difference between LOD 0 and LOD 1. But it does take a long time to load, especially if you don't have high end hardware, so I would agree that it's usually not worth bothering with.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
WatsisnameDate: Saturday, 17.11.2012, 22:13 | Message # 845
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 2610
Status: Offline
Beautiful blue terra with life with rings I came across recently. smile






 
smjjamesDate: Saturday, 17.11.2012, 22:16 | Message # 846
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Quote (smjjames)
the change is small

How is the change small? The difference between LOD 1 and LOD 2 is huge, much bigger than the difference between LOD 0 and LOD 1. But it does take a long time to load, especially if you don't have high end hardware, so I would agree that it's usually not worth bothering with.


It just looks like not a real huge difference to be worth bothering with the long load times, or it might be that I'm comparing the difference with more distant terrain. With asteroids, it loads quickly since there isn't as much to load and if I don't move the camera on a planetary (or moon) surface, it's okay.





 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Saturday, 17.11.2012, 23:58 | Message # 847
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Online
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
How is the change small? The difference between LOD 1 and LOD 2 is huge, much bigger than the difference between LOD 0 and LOD 1. But it does take a long time to load, especially if you don't have high end hardware, so I would agree that it's usually not worth bothering with.


I usually play on LOD2 or LOD1 if I want it to load faster. Depending on the planet LOD2 can load in under 10 seconds which makes it worth it.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
smjjamesDate: Sunday, 18.11.2012, 00:10 | Message # 848
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
How is the change small? The difference between LOD 1 and LOD 2 is huge, much bigger than the difference between LOD 0 and LOD 1. But it does take a long time to load, especially if you don't have high end hardware, so I would agree that it's usually not worth bothering with.

I usually play on LOD2 or LOD1 if I want it to load faster. Depending on the planet LOD2 can load in under 10 seconds which makes it worth it.


Don't you mean LOD 0 there?

What I'm talking about is the time for it to fully load the terrain.

Anyways, heres a few shots to stay on topic.





A nebula that I thought looked like a crab or something from that particular angle.

Attachments: 8310579.jpg(94Kb) · 4470292.jpg(121Kb) · 6079261.jpg(360Kb)





 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 18.11.2012, 00:15 | Message # 849
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Online
Quote (smjjames)
Don't you mean LOD 0 there?


I really mean LOD2, it is what I use mostly.

Also nice images that last image of the Nebula looks really nice.

Random screen I took the other day. Would've been nicer if I had done some sort of panorama but I am far too lazy to do that





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB


Edited by DoctorOfSpace - Sunday, 18.11.2012, 00:43
 
WatsisnameDate: Sunday, 18.11.2012, 02:46 | Message # 850
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 2610
Status: Offline
Now for something dark and slightly abstract. A snapshot from the surface of a shadowy world lit only by the feeble infrared glow of a brown dwarf. Black rings cross the dull band of the galaxy, dim and reddened by the dense atmosphere.






 
PhoenixDate: Sunday, 18.11.2012, 13:33 | Message # 851
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 242
Status: Offline
Quote (Watsisname)
Now for something dark and slightly abstract. A snapshot from the surface of a shadowy world lit only by the feeble infrared glow of a brown dwarf. Black rings cross the dull band of the galaxy, dim and reddened by the dense atmosphere.


excellent!
 
SalvoDate: Sunday, 18.11.2012, 16:49 | Message # 852
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote (DoctorOfSpace)
Random screen I took the other day. Would've been nicer if I had done some sort of panorama but I am far too lazy to do that

This is simply awesome blink
With LOD 2 you can make photos of exagerated epicness surprised





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
PhoenixDate: Sunday, 18.11.2012, 17:42 | Message # 853
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 242
Status: Offline
Not in Kansas anymore
 
smjjamesDate: Sunday, 18.11.2012, 18:18 | Message # 854
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 913
Status: Offline
Quote (Phoenix)
Not in Kansas anymore


I know it's in space engine, but at the same time, is that really in space engine??? I've never seen tilted and jagged rocks like that before. Unless that's from FOV distortion.





 
HarbingerDawnDate: Sunday, 18.11.2012, 18:45 | Message # 855
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (smjjames)
I know it's in space engine, but at the same time, is that really in space engine??? I've never seen tilted and jagged rocks like that before. Unless that's from FOV distortion.

It's distortion. SpaceEngine is not currently capable of generating such features; all slopes in SE are less than 90°.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Space Journeys » Image Dump (Post your SpaceEngine screenshots here)
Page 57 of 423«125556575859422423»
Search: