Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 3 of 7«1234567»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Space Journeys » Show of your custom made system (Show of your system that you have made in Space Engine.)
Show of your custom made system
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Monday, 14.09.2015, 00:16 | Message # 31
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Offline
Thats a pretty neat Dyson ring. You could always try and make a sphere out of it in a 3D editor then import that.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
JackDoleDate: Monday, 14.09.2015, 18:51 | Message # 32
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1735
Status: Online
Thanks, DoctorOfSpace,

I can not deal with a 3D editor. For the creation of the rings I made a batch program (MS-DOS), which creates a catalog file for a lot of asteroids (Radius 465000 km; oblateness 0.9999998). Because of the huge diameter, however, makes spaceengine gas giants of the asteroid.

I add a Zip file with a Dyson ring system.

Attachments: DysonHub.zip(377Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
Destructor1701Date: Tuesday, 15.09.2015, 11:54 | Message # 33
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
Quote DoctorOfSpace ()
Thats a pretty neat Dyson ring. You could always try and make a sphere out of it in a 3D editor then import that.


I've found, from trying to place Rocko's Halo as a ring around Mercury, that spacecraft models don't like sitting at the same coordinates as celestial objects. That might have changed since the recent updates to the collision behaviour.





 
JackDoleDate: Tuesday, 15.09.2015, 16:38 | Message # 34
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1735
Status: Online
Destructor1701,

here is a 'Dyson ring' for mercury biggrin




Attachments: 0008619.jpg(70Kb) · 9166565.jpg(52Kb) · Mercury.zip(2Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Wednesday, 16.09.2015, 01:08 | Message # 35
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Offline
Quote Destructor1701 ()
I've found, from trying to place Rocko's Halo as a ring around Mercury, that spacecraft models don't like sitting at the same coordinates as celestial objects. That might have changed since the recent updates to the collision behaviour.


That's what I figured as well. I tried making a Dyson sphere before and when larger than the star it would be invisible and if slightly smaller, but still larger than planets, it would flicker and artifact.

After testing in patch 5 it is still an issue, perhaps with the recent updates SpaceEngineer is working on this won't be an issue anymore.





Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
JackDoleDate: Wednesday, 16.09.2015, 15:39 | Message # 36
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1735
Status: Online
Destructor1701,

i don't know if you've tested the mercury ring, but there was an error with the rotation speed of that ring. Here is the corrected script.

Attachments: 0145303.zip(2Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
Destructor1701Date: Thursday, 17.09.2015, 01:11 | Message # 37
Pioneer
Group: Users
Ireland
Messages: 531
Status: Offline
Aha, that's neat!

I haven't tested it yet, I'll try it soon. Thanks!





 
JackDoleDate: Thursday, 17.09.2015, 15:07 | Message # 38
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1735
Status: Online
There is also a ring of our solar system and one for Mars

Due to some small changes I've repackaged all the rings.



Attachments: 6225363.jpg(60Kb) · DysonRings.zip(384Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
Thomas988Date: Thursday, 17.09.2015, 15:46 | Message # 39
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 125
Status: Online
Quote JackDole ()
There is also a ring of our solar system and one for Mars

Due to some small changes I've repackaged all the rings.



Why do I have to be at school right now and have to wait many hours to be able to play SE? sad That looks absolutely sick, JackDole!





All you need in life are space games and typhlosions.
 
JackDoleDate: Thursday, 17.09.2015, 21:18 | Message # 40
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1735
Status: Online
A ring for our earth.









Unfortunately this ring shadowed the earth.






If I turn the inclination of the ring by 45 degrees, I get this.




My mathematical skills are not currently good enough to match the orbital angle of the discs.

Added (17.09.2015, 21:18)
---------------------------------------------
Thomas988,

Thank you.

Attachments: 3016456.jpg(95Kb) · 1481633.jpg(92Kb) · 3902509.jpg(100Kb) · 6529359.jpg(48Kb) · 0910217.jpg(50Kb) · 5337539.jpg(72Kb) · EarthRings.zip(6Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
JackDoleDate: Friday, 18.09.2015, 21:57 | Message # 41
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1735
Status: Online
In the Dyson system I have added a moon 'DeGrasse' to the planet 'Albert'.



Attachments: 6360975.jpg(56Kb) · DysonsHub.zip(4Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Saturday, 19.09.2015, 04:24 | Message # 42
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Offline
You could potentially make a halo looking ring using a Terra class. Change the color of ice to a dark grey or black and then set the planet discs to tidally locked. This should make the interior look like a planet and the dark back look like metal when you have the ring set around a star.




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
JackDoleDate: Saturday, 19.09.2015, 17:22 | Message # 43
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1735
Status: Online
DoctorOfSpace,

If I set the planet discs to tidally locked, I get this:



or this:



depending on whether I set the orientation of the discs with Obliquity and EqAscendNode or not.
I think, Space Engine is not realy adapted to render such flat objects.


Nevertheless, it is possible to give the discs a metal back:





but that's a cloud layer. If I disable clouds, it disappears.


Attachments: 4172531.jpg(69Kb) · 9183699.jpg(102Kb) · 9390046.jpg(82Kb) · 0313976.jpg(105Kb) · 0527272.jpg(52Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Saturday, 19.09.2015, 20:49 | Message # 44
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3599
Status: Offline
Disabling clouds may be only "fix" for that, you are breaking the engine after all with impossible parameters. tongue




Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
JackDoleDate: Saturday, 19.09.2015, 22:25 | Message # 45
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1735
Status: Online
Okay, something simpler ...

Black Rose, a system with eleven suns, a black hole and 6 inhabited worlds.
Oh, and a comet cloud.









Attachments: 4037543.jpg(203Kb) · 1466276.jpg(81Kb) · 8330781.jpg(43Kb) · BlackRose.zip(170Kb) · 8622527.jpg(76Kb)





Don't forget to look here.

 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Space Journeys » Show of your custom made system (Show of your system that you have made in Space Engine.)
Page 3 of 7«1234567»
Search: