Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 4 of 6«123456»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Space Journeys » The Cosmic Ocean (Ep2 is out)
The Cosmic Ocean (Ep2 is out)
HardtsDate: Saturday, 19.11.2011, 12:49 | Message # 46
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Denmark
Messages: 112
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
You can record a new episode about some real planet - UPS Andromedae d. It is a gas giant within a goldilocks zone - it may have an Earth-like moon. Good place for real Pandora I can make a script that can add some moons to it - and include it in every new release. So your film will stay relevant till astronomers discover real moons for this planet.


This is a good idea, surely. You are very welcome to make that script smile I can see the potential for such a moon existing there. Did you say Andromedae? How the hell do we discover planets in another galaxy anyway? Hah, don't answer right now - I'm sure it's going to take up an entire page biggrin

Quote (Talisman)
Hardts, let me know what system/planet you want to use for your next episode, I can give some unique facts about it that should be interesting for the viewers.


Allright I appreciate that. Will do as soon as I've settled for one.

Quote (Talisman)
Also, I was thinking about making my own show perhaps, where I do a mock probe flight to a random star/planet and survey they system and make it realistic. For example Day 2: In space initiating boost towards the target, Day 6492: First telescopic images are taken from system, noticed that system has 3 gas giants, and one terrestrial with liquid water. Day 6550, deciding possible landing mission on terrestrial planet, gas giants also have 2 moons with water. etc.

I think I could make it interesting but I don't know.


- This sounds very interresting - and then it's up to you how much time passes between each report (say going from day 22 to suddenly day 71..) to make it interresting. You could use photoshop or equivelant to treat the images to a more realistic look perhaps - I don't know perhaps somethings out of focus, or moisture has formed on the lens - etc. Same could be done with video. Just some random ideas.

Quote (GameOver)
Thanks, and sorry about Altair 8, may it rip... Good work in the next episode.


- Yes, may it RIP apart or get hit by a world sized astroid! Just joking, I can accept it being there, just have to adjust a few screws in my head - I hope more don't come loose..





i5 2500k 3,3 GHz @3,6GHz
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
3HDD (1TB+500GB+320GB)
Gainward Gtx 460 1GB
2 monitors: Samsung 27" P2770, 22" Samsung BW226
+A sh*tload of palmtree's around my computer :)
 
HardtsDate: Tuesday, 13.12.2011, 21:03 | Message # 47
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Denmark
Messages: 112
Status: Offline
Hi everyone.

I would just like to say that the next episode is on it's way.
It has been much delayed, but I am in fact working on it :).

I wouldn't waste your time bumping this thread just for this, but it's just so you know I haven't given up on the series or something. I have been in school and had exams every 3 weeks since early october. Just 2 weeks left, and I can assure you at least, that The Cosmic Ocean EP 2 will come out in 2011. With that statement, I think I haven't said too much biggrin ..





i5 2500k 3,3 GHz @3,6GHz
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
3HDD (1TB+500GB+320GB)
Gainward Gtx 460 1GB
2 monitors: Samsung 27" P2770, 22" Samsung BW226
+A sh*tload of palmtree's around my computer :)
 
ChrisDate: Tuesday, 13.12.2011, 21:43 | Message # 48
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Denmark
Messages: 22
Status: Offline
Looking forward to it.




Core i7 920 @2.67 GHz, AsRock x58 Deluxe, 3x2GB DDR3 1066MHz RAM, GeForce GTX 560 Ti DCII 1024 Mb VRAM, Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
 
HardtsDate: Tuesday, 13.12.2011, 23:00 | Message # 49
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Denmark
Messages: 112
Status: Offline
Quote (Chris)
Looking forward to it.

Cool happy
Yeah I think it's going to be a good episode





i5 2500k 3,3 GHz @3,6GHz
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
3HDD (1TB+500GB+320GB)
Gainward Gtx 460 1GB
2 monitors: Samsung 27" P2770, 22" Samsung BW226
+A sh*tload of palmtree's around my computer :)
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 14.12.2011, 02:10 | Message # 50
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8714
Status: Offline
Quote (Hardts)
Did you say Andromedae? How the hell do we discover planets in another galaxy anyway?

Upsilon Andromedae is in the CONSTELLATION Andromeda, not in the galaxy M31 (also commonly known as Andromeda; more formally it is the Great Spiral Galaxy in Andromeda, often shortened to the Andromeda Galaxy). There are a couple of galaxies that are known by the same name as the constellation they're in (M31 in Andromeda, and M33 in Triangulum) so it can get confusing sometimes if there's not enough context.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Wednesday, 14.12.2011, 02:35 | Message # 51
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
Quote (HarbingerDawn)
Quote (Hardts)Did you say Andromedae? How the hell do we discover planets in another galaxy anyway? Upsilon Andromedae is in the CONSTELLATION Andromeda, not in the galaxy M31 (also commonly known as Andromeda; more formally it is the Great Spiral Galaxy in Andromeda, often shortened to the Andromeda Galaxy). There are a couple of galaxies that are known by the same name as the constellation they're in (M31 in Andromeda, and M33 in Triangulum) so it can get confusing sometimes if there's not enough context.


However, we have detected a few candidates to [url=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extragalactic_planet]extragalactic planets[/rl]. Astronomers discover planets by analysis of light coming from stars. Our telescopes already have great sensitivity, necessary to see single stars at the closer galaxies, such as Andromeda galaxy, so theoretically, we are able to detect planets around these stars.

*





 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 26.12.2011, 15:07 | Message # 52
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4798
Status: Offline
We've finished a short tutorial on how to record seamless video using built-in video capture system. Here's the link.

*





 
HardtsDate: Tuesday, 27.12.2011, 18:58 | Message # 53
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Denmark
Messages: 112
Status: Offline
Quote (SpaceEngineer)
We've finished a short tutorial on how to record seamless video using built-in video capture system. Here's the link.


Excellent, I'll have a look. Btw in relation to that guide, I took your advice and have given up fraps for frame by frame recording using SE's internal recording system. ..Yes it is much better, and very smooth smile





i5 2500k 3,3 GHz @3,6GHz
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
3HDD (1TB+500GB+320GB)
Gainward Gtx 460 1GB
2 monitors: Samsung 27" P2770, 22" Samsung BW226
+A sh*tload of palmtree's around my computer :)
 
HardtsDate: Friday, 30.12.2011, 14:30 | Message # 54
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Denmark
Messages: 112
Status: Offline
Quote (Hardts)
I can assure you at least, that The Cosmic Ocean EP 2 will come out in 2011.


...Yeah.. Not going to happen, I promised too much there. It'll be out when I've had time to finish it.

Happy New Year to all.





i5 2500k 3,3 GHz @3,6GHz
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
3HDD (1TB+500GB+320GB)
Gainward Gtx 460 1GB
2 monitors: Samsung 27" P2770, 22" Samsung BW226
+A sh*tload of palmtree's around my computer :)
 
GameOverDate: Monday, 23.01.2012, 00:24 | Message # 55
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Brazil
Messages: 30
Status: Offline
Hey Hardts, are you still there?

I'd like to watch more episodes, please make more episodes smile





Core 2 Duo E7500 2.93GHz; 2GB RAM; GeForce 9800 GT 512 MB VRAM
 
HardtsDate: Wednesday, 06.06.2012, 01:04 | Message # 56
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Denmark
Messages: 112
Status: Offline
Quote (GameOver)
Hey Hardts, are you still there?

I'd like to watch more episodes, please make more episodes


...Yes, I'm still here - my apologies for the very late reply.
The winter wasn't that easy for me, and that took it's toll on creativity.
I have at no point given up creating the next episode, and have recently been working on it.

Unfortunately I had to abandon about 5 mins of finished material, since I've had a lot of trouble with my editing software.
I've recently switched to a different program, and things are going smooth enough.

All that, means that I've had to start over again, but it isn't necessarily a bad thing.

I dare not even estimate a date for when the next ep is coming out. I work on it when I can, and a short while before it's out I'll post a 'teaser' or something - like I did last time. It could be 2 weeks, or it could be months.

I'm hoping for weeks of course. One of the things I've not really thought about enough much untill recently, is that working on these projects is a priority matter. What I mean by that, is that you really have to choose what to focus your attention on. Specially when you're as easily distracted as me... There are so many things I'd like to do, and any one of them could potentially be a fulltime thing.

I genuinly have too many interrests - and working full-time doesn't add to this predicament in a good way..

I write stories, make music, work on manuscripts for movies, make audiobooks of my stories, the list really does go on and on.. Yes I know some consider it sounding like you're a show off when you recite your 'skills' or whatever - but scratch that. There's nothing as pretentious as false modesty.

Anyway to all interrested, thank you for your patience and for watching. I really do look forwad to show you the next episode at some point a little further on down the road.

Take care





i5 2500k 3,3 GHz @3,6GHz
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
3HDD (1TB+500GB+320GB)
Gainward Gtx 460 1GB
2 monitors: Samsung 27" P2770, 22" Samsung BW226
+A sh*tload of palmtree's around my computer :)
 
TalismanDate: Wednesday, 06.06.2012, 02:11 | Message # 57
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 409
Status: Offline
Quote (Hardts)
I've recently switched to a different program,


Could I ask what program? Windows Movie Maker isn't working so well for me. cool

Anyways, good luck.





 
HardtsDate: Wednesday, 06.06.2012, 08:59 | Message # 58
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Denmark
Messages: 112
Status: Offline
Quote (Talisman)
Could I ask what program? Windows Movie Maker isn't working so well for me.

Anyways, good luck.


I'm using Adobe Premiere Pro. It's much better than Sony Vegas Pro, on a number of levels.
Firstly, it's not flawed from the top down. In Sony Vegas, the big problem amongst others, was that when I'd finished editing some video, I'd have almost a 100% guarantee it wouldn't render for some reason. Whether it was weird flickering in the rendered video, crashes during rendering, memoryleaks (would also qualify as a crash..) or the rendering process simply halting, even with the ETA still ticking down like everything was fine - it didn't work.

I tried with many different formats, framerates, encoding qualities to try and fix these issues, to no avail.
Mind you, we're not just talking a case of incompatible hardware.
I had this issue on my old machine, as well as on my recently upgraded new one.

Another thing, any video eventually coming out of Vegas pro does have slightly washed out colours.

In short, I'd not recommend Sony Vegas Pro 10/11 :o...
Maybe they fixed the issues in some updates by kkow, but who knows..

Premiere Pro is much more stable. I've not had any real issues with it so far, anything I have made in it, could be rendered without any issues. It's not as user friendly, and the program mechanics are slightly less sophisticated.

Some things can be done easily in Vegas Pro, but not in Premiere Pro, and vice versa.
I'd recommend it.





i5 2500k 3,3 GHz @3,6GHz
8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
3HDD (1TB+500GB+320GB)
Gainward Gtx 460 1GB
2 monitors: Samsung 27" P2770, 22" Samsung BW226
+A sh*tload of palmtree's around my computer :)
 
TalismanDate: Wednesday, 06.06.2012, 17:20 | Message # 59
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 409
Status: Offline
Quote (Hardts)
I'd recommend it.


Thanks, I'll check it out. I was going to use Sony Vegas until now.





 
jtmedinaDate: Thursday, 07.06.2012, 00:35 | Message # 60
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Spain
Messages: 100
Status: Offline
I have been using Sony Vegas 10 and never had a problem. In fact I have used it to make all of the Space Engine videos.

Have you tried to update?.
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Space Journeys » The Cosmic Ocean (Ep2 is out)
Page 4 of 6«123456»
Search: