Русский New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Page 1 of 212»
Forum » SpaceEngine » Space Journeys » Challenge: Tallest mountain
Challenge: Tallest mountain
DIS7RICTDate: Thursday, 23.01.2014, 20:01 | Message # 1
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 114
Status: Offline
The goal of this challenge is to try and find the tallest mountain you can in Space Engine.

Rules:

1. Must use version 0.97.1
2. It cannot be on a named planet. Must have RS/RSC.
3. No using the planet editor either, obviously.
4. No Oceanas

Format:

1. You must post an image showing the view from the top of the mountain, with the planet information shown in-game as well.
2. You must post a second image showing a picture of the mountain and how awesome it is.

Example:

View from the top with info


View of the actual mountain


In this case, the mountain is 24.852 km high as shown under Landscape Height.

Have fun!





PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, 8GB RAM, GTX670 2GB, Win 7 64-bit

There'll be another time...


Edited by DIS7RICT - Saturday, 25.01.2014, 09:00
 
spacerDate: Thursday, 23.01.2014, 20:14 | Message # 2
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Israel
Messages: 1257
Status: Offline
yay biggrin i want challenge like this! i found 40 km in ocean, i will search more later!




"we began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan

-space engine photographer


Edited by spacer - Thursday, 23.01.2014, 20:14
 
Fireinthehole-Date: Thursday, 23.01.2014, 21:07 | Message # 3
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Sweden
Messages: 365
Status: Offline
So the only planets not allowed are the solar system planets?




Love Space Engine!
 
DIS7RICTDate: Thursday, 23.01.2014, 21:48 | Message # 4
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 114
Status: Offline
Quote Fireinthehole ()
So the only planets not allowed are the solar system planets?


No, named planets such as HIP, Gliese etc. Any planet that has a name other than one starting in RS or RSC doesn't count.





PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, 8GB RAM, GTX670 2GB, Win 7 64-bit

There'll be another time...
 
apenpaapDate: Friday, 24.01.2014, 05:39 | Message # 5
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
That is a very strange shape for a mountain that high. Compare it to the super-side Olympus Mons.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
DIS7RICTDate: Friday, 24.01.2014, 08:50 | Message # 6
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 114
Status: Offline
Well Olympus Mons was cause by huge volcanic activity whereas my my old submission and my new submission below were cause from a meteorite impact by the looks of it.

View from the top, with a height of 26.709 km


View of the mountain





PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, 8GB RAM, GTX670 2GB, Win 7 64-bit

There'll be another time...


Edited by DIS7RICT - Friday, 24.01.2014, 11:10
 
Billy_MayesDate: Friday, 24.01.2014, 15:02 | Message # 7
Pioneer
Group: Users
Finland
Messages: 485
Status: Offline
I would add a rule: No edited planets, since you could joust increase the mountain magnitude to create huge mountains.




AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2 GHz Quad-Core - AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB VRAM - 4GB RAM - 1680x1050 75 Hz Samsung screen
 
Donatelo200Date: Saturday, 25.01.2014, 07:10 | Message # 8
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 261
Status: Offline
Um i found a rather odd planet but it has at least one mountain skyrocketing to 34 km. Or spike i'm not sure what to call it. surprised


Attachments: 0631293.jpg(393Kb) · 9891943.jpg(290Kb)





CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)


Edited by Donatelo200 - Saturday, 25.01.2014, 07:11
 
DIS7RICTDate: Saturday, 25.01.2014, 08:23 | Message # 9
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 114
Status: Offline
Wow that is CRAZY! Look at that thing, it's so distorted haha.

Can I have the coordinates to the system, just check your journey log.

EDIT: Hmm, I found it but I can't seem to find the mountain, It is an Oceana with only a few islands. I've checked on the dark side and the day time side and nothing. Where is it specifically?





PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, 8GB RAM, GTX670 2GB, Win 7 64-bit

There'll be another time...


Edited by DIS7RICT - Saturday, 25.01.2014, 08:35
 
LiveLife42Date: Saturday, 25.01.2014, 08:27 | Message # 10
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 272
Status: Offline
Yeah Oceania's are bugged in this version happy
Also found a 45 km spiked mountain biggrin


Attachments: 3989145.jpg(505Kb) · 5866086.jpg(131Kb)





PC: Intel Core i7-3770K o/c 4.6 Ghz Quad Core, 16GB DDR3 o/c 1866 Mhz, EVGA GeForce 980Ti with 6GB VRAM

Edited by LiveLife42 - Saturday, 25.01.2014, 08:36
 
DIS7RICTDate: Saturday, 25.01.2014, 08:45 | Message # 11
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Australia
Messages: 114
Status: Offline
Wow, that one is even crazier. Haha, I'm so visiting that one.

I don't know if I'm blind or what but I can't find that mountain on the planet.





PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, 8GB RAM, GTX670 2GB, Win 7 64-bit

There'll be another time...


Edited by DIS7RICT - Saturday, 25.01.2014, 09:01
 
spacerDate: Saturday, 25.01.2014, 09:51 | Message # 12
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Israel
Messages: 1257
Status: Offline
yes, the hightes mountins are in oceans so lets go just to oceans and try to find the hightes!
i found 38km but i want to find bigger





"we began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan

-space engine photographer
 
Donatelo200Date: Saturday, 25.01.2014, 21:44 | Message # 13
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 261
Status: Offline
On the same planet i found a spire some 70Km high.



Code
Place    "70.782 Km high mountain"
{
  Body    "RS 0-4-1391-1237-25439-7-496061-8 2"
  Parent    "RS 0-4-1391-1237-25439-7-496061-8"
  Pos  (-2.387075182159505e-010, 1.272571352765525e-010, -6.690770875707186e-011)
  Rot  (0.6828572481572397, -0.1986648104249063, -0.6893254497908351, 0.138089449302331)
  Date    "2014.01.25 20:40:25.74"
  Vel  1.0451828e-014
  Mode    2
}

Attachments: 5438951.jpg(299Kb) · 5831671.jpg(267Kb)





CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1080
SSD: Samsung 850 Evo 250GB
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB (2012)
RAM: Unknown 16G-D3-1600-MR 2x8GB
MBD: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition (MS-7922)


Edited by Donatelo200 - Saturday, 25.01.2014, 21:45
 
Tangle10Date: Saturday, 25.01.2014, 22:28 | Message # 14
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 129
Status: Offline
...Huh. I was hoping to apply with a shield volcano, at 16 km over sea level. But obviously that immediately loses.




Tips for finding Earth-Like planets: Look for F, G, or K Class stars. M class habitables will almost always be tidelocked. Oceanias can, of course, also be habitable, they just have tiny amounts of land.
 
spacerDate: Saturday, 25.01.2014, 22:36 | Message # 15
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Israel
Messages: 1257
Status: Offline
omg 70 km...
this mountines are bug or this is need to be like this?





"we began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan

-space engine photographer
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Space Journeys » Challenge: Tallest mountain
Page 1 of 212»
Search: